We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Hotel my experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
After Hotel Montevideo
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“After Hotel my experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked this hotel because it was not too expensive and was relatively close to the city.
The food was good, no complaints. The room was cosy, we had a flickering light in the bathroom but apart from that the bed was comfy, the air con worked and the hotel was quiet.
It was easy to walk round the corner to a shopping centre or to catch a 5min taxi ride into the city.
All in all it was a good experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChocolateOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Miss,

Hope you are well.

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We have received your comments on what concerns of our cozy rooms and our location.

We effort every day to make your stay unique.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope have you again as guest in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    479
    112
    21
    11
See reviews for
143
431
48
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Whilst the standard of the room and food served was adequate, the lack of English speaking staff proved to be a problem. When leaving I asked for a taxi to the port - they put me in a taxi to the airport with a non English speaking driver. I tried to explain but it was not till we got all the way to the airport that he realised and took me back to the hotel. Another taxi was called which took me to the port to pick up my cruise ship and I paid him in cash when we got there. I left the first taxi driver arguing with hotel staff. Having settled my account in cash, I was upset to find some 2 weeks later they had charged my credit card with $55 to pay for this unwanted trip to the airport. Unsuccessfully I have tried to contact the hotel by email and they have never responded. The hotel was booked via Qantas Hotels so I contacted them and after lengthy communication with the hotel I have still not received a refund for their error. It appears they have free rein to charge whatever they like. Travellers beware !

Room Tip: I had a room at the back and a dog barked incessantly nearby all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ms. Felicity,

Hope you are well.

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We have received your comments on what concerns about the problem that you had with the taxi driver.

Please let me inform you that we perfomed the return to your credit card the same day, January 27th. It is strange that is not acredited yet.

I will make the claim again, but I will need your credit card information again, so I will give you my email so you can contact me. asosa@afterhotel.com.uy


Thanks again for your comments and I look forward to your response.

Cordially,

Alejandro Sosa
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a nice boutique hotel in a decent area of Montevideo, rooms are cozy and the staff are friendly. The rooms on the back side of the hotel can be a bit noisy, there is a dog that lives in a house behind the hotel that barks a lot. I know this is not the hotels fault, but it does wake you up.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Miss Debbie,

Hope you are well.

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We have received your comments on what concerns of our cozy rooms and principally our friendly staff. We effort every day to make your stay unique.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope have you again as guest in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Its a small boutique style hotel, the location is convenient - close to the World Trade Center and the Montevideo Shopping Center, its a safe area, about 50 meters away from La Rambla.

The breakfast is ok but I wish there was a little more variety, its a very basic buffet breakfast.

The rooms are small but for a business traveler that shouldn't be an issue. My main issue were the mattresses, extremely hard, ended up with backache and didn't really sleep in the 3 days I was there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seemant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr.

On behalf of our entire Hotel Staff and myself I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments about our good breakfast.

Also we want apologize for your bad experience with our matress, your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration.

I look forward to having you satayed at our hotel again.

Warm regards,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great for a short stay, very small rooms but nice and clean. Reasonable rates, super kind and helpful staff.
Breakfast is ok and with a nice variety of choices. However, we tried the night menu and it was probably the worst meal I've had in a long long time. My friend ordered the pork, the dryest worst cooked pork in history with an inedible side of something that looked like beet pure but was cold. My fish was filled with salt and grease, I ordered it with salad and they literally threw two leaves of lettuce a piece of tomato and a piece of onion in the plate.
The Morado Restaurant looked so pretentious and chic one would have expected a decent meal prepared with love and finesse. But NO!!
It has a lovely roof terrace and the whole place is nicely decorated, however, the materials used, seem to be 'cutting corners' (like the low grade carpet in the dining area). One cannot expect for the charming look to last.

Best location in town.

Room Tip: Rooms by the courtyard are noisy. Get as big a room as you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isota1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Miss.,

Hope you are well.

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We have received your comments on what concerns of our kind and hlelpful staff, as well as our good brakfast and instalations.

Addittionally, I want to extend my apologies regarding the bad experience that you had in our restaurant. We are working in this issue to improve this service.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope have you again as guest in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Small boutique hotel in a dicey neighborhood.
Rooms are sub-par with ultra modern (cheap) furnishings. Although clean, the smell of mildew was prevalent due to the leak in the tub of my room (it flooded the carpet).
The staff seemed young and inexperienced, but were kind.
Free breakfast from 10-11 am.
Be careful in that area; it doesn't seem safe.
Ok internet, poor satellite connection.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerCookie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Miss,

Hope you are well.

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We have received your comments on what concerns with the smell in your room and we have worked in this issue.

In relation with the time of the breakfast, please let me inform you that our time is from 7am till 11am.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope have you again as guest in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a small, boutique like hotel with a big heart. The After hotel staff makes up for anything you might lack. It has all the necessary amenities for a very pleasant stay. The breakfast is complimentary and very nice. If you don't see anything in the table that you would like to have, ask. They are extremely accommodating.
So the gym is small and inadequate. Yes indeed it is. However, with your room rate you have access to one of the best gyms in the city a short walk away at the mall for 14 USD. Believe me it is worth it. If you're more of of an outdoorsy person, they have a huge boardwalk a block away that you can run, skate or bike. And speaking of bikes, you can rent one from the hotel as well and have it the whole day. I rented one and saw downtown Montevideo by way of bike.
The hotel is also close to many wonderful restaurants and also close to bus access to go to one as well.
Quaint. Nice. Prompt.
It describes the hotel and it describes the staff.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mr.,

Hope you are well.

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We have received your comments on what concerns of our city, the good services of the hotel and principally our staff. We effort every day to make your stay unique.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope have you again as guest in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#13 of 87 in Montevideo
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
829 reviews
3.7 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
4.1 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Hotel Montevideo

Property: After Hotel Montevideo
Address: Arturo Prat 3755, Montevideo 11327, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — After Hotel Montevideo 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After Hotel is located next to the Yacht Club, World Trade Center Montevideo, Montevideo Shopping Mall and Montevideo Free Zone. The area has recently been named as the new "City" of Uruguay's capital city. Situated in a vibrant area full of night clubs and restaurants. After Hotel offers 92 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms feature city or beach views. LCD televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Montevideo hotel provides complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and direct-dial phones. Housekeeping is offered daily and wake-up calls can be requested. After Hotel features an international restaurant "Morado", and a coffee and cocktail bar called "20 pasos Cafe" (Spanish for 20 steps to the coffee and drinks) where our guests can enjoy nice cocktails and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your After Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing