We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel in good neighbourhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Intercity Montevideo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Intercity Montevideo
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in good neighbourhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Full disclosure. I was in Montevideo and for language training and staying with a host family in the old town. I needed some personal space so booked two nights at the Intercity Premium for a bit of a respite. I got a great last minute deal on Booking.com. The first thing I noticed about the area surrounding the hotel was the wide avenues and green space. The hotel is clearly in a safer part of town. It is also very close to Puntas Caretas Shopping, the largest shopping mall in the city. You can walk there in about 10 minutes from the hotel. Room 306 was large, with a comfortable King Sized bed, a desk, two side chairs and a television. There were black out curtains for thise sensitive to light -- a bonus for those of us who enjoy a crypt like room to sleep in. The bathroom was modern, with a walk in shower and rain shower head with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. There was a hairdryer with plenty of products supplied by the hotel. There was also a room safe to protect your valuables and a mini bar. A higher room would have had a better view but I was pleased with the space. Front desk staff were friendly, spoke English well and remembered me...a nice bonus. The only small criticism is the size and layout of the Breakfast restaurant. Not really large enough for all the guests, but a good selection of foods and very light and airy. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TravellerfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    541
    107
    14
    14
See reviews for
223
531
38
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Intercity Premium was my choice when I first visited Montevideo in June, 2013, with my husband, for a couple of reasons: it is brand-new and well-located. Location is excellent, there are good restaurants nearby ('El Tigre' is excellent, don't miss their special fries with bacon and gorgonzola), a supermarket (Disco) within walking distance and it is located near Boulevard G. Artigas, where you can take buses to every place in town. Neighborhood is quiet, residential and safe, even at night. Breakfast is decent: juice, coffee, milk, fruit salad, yogurt, cake and bread (sometimes medialunas), although it could be better for the price you pay for the room. Room is big, cozy and tidy. Its decor is quite pleasant and if you get one of the master suites on the very top floor you'll have a spectacular view of the city - totally worth it! However, lack of cleanliness in the bathroom disappointed me a little, especially in such an expensive room. Overall, it was hygienic and usable but the bathroom could be cleaner than it was (especially tap, sink and shower). The infrastructure of the room was perfect, wonderful bed (large, clean and really comfortable) and everything worked well: TV, AC, wi-fi, shower, bathroom floor heating. Service is good, front desk attendants are quite helpful and some of them speak 3 languages: Spanish, English and Portuguese. To sum up, I'd recommend this hotel for being new, for its location and for its wonderful view.

Room Tip: make sure you book the suites on the top floor - the view is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg_hanami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed there with my boyfriend for a couple of nights in last june, we really liked it and had two nice nights in this hotel. The bed was very comfy and the shower had a nice temperature. We only found two or three issues there, first we didn't have any control of the temperature of our room (we believed the air com was broken, but we forgot to ask); second the wifi was not very good, it was really slow, which made it difficult when we needed to search for a map; third the breakfast was quite simple and brazilian, with no local food, which was a bit disapointing.
I do recomend you to stay there if you looking for a very practical place, with easy access to malls, restaurants and touristic places, it wasn't complicated to take the bus from there, neither to get a cab.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on vacation with my mom. It was nice that we could get a room with 2 twin beds and the price was ABSOLUTELY right. I was pleased with the room, which was very new and clean and had a water view from the 14th floor. The beds were comfortable, the linens fluffy, the towels fresh. There is a safe and a telephone in the room. I visited the fitness center and they have some middling equipment up there, good enough for a run, I suppose. The breakfast was fine: eggs, bacon, fruit, a wide variety of breads and spreads, juices, and some pretty awful coffee, unfortunately. But overall the morning meal is quite satisfactory.

The hotel is also quite well-located, in the center of a rather ritzy neighborhood in Montevideo, flanked by the main drag and the Rambla, which you can walk to easily. The clientele on the weekend that I stayed seemed to be primarily Brazilians there to shop at the big mall that is close to the hotel. We took cabs to the city center for about USD $6, which was just fine. They would get us a cab whenever we wanted and the taxis arrived in about five minutes. Apparently the center of the city is not so safe to stay in, so I was happy to have this option in a safer neighborhood.

Cons:
• One main drawback of the room is that besides a wardrobe to hang your things in there is NOWHERE to put your things when you unpack! No drawers, shelves, nothing. ???!
• Check your bill carefully! I was overcharged by USD $80. I pointed out the problem and it was rectified immediately, but caveat emptor!
• my main truck with this hotel is that the restaurant that they operate for lunch and dinner is literally one of the worst rip-offs with the worst SERVICE I have ever seen. Oh my gosh. The lunch meal is a "deal" at USD $20, a drink is USD $15, the prices are all listed in dollars, and you would thing you were in NYC at those prices! We went around the corner to one of the fanciest restaurants in Montevideo (Francis) and had a wonderful meal for about what we would have spent in the awful restaurant. But we did have a drink in the restaurant one night, and the bill was exorbitant and the woman waiting on us did not want to let us sit by the window despite the fact that the dining room was COMPLETELY EMPTY. She behaved as though waiting on us for one drink was some enormous hassle.... perhaps we just had a bad experience with the server, but actually we tried to sit near a window at lunchtime during checkin and were told the same thing about the restaurant. Anyway, they need to lower their exorbitant prices and train their waitstaff ASAP.
• someone was smoking on our floor, which was non-smoking, and the smoke filtered through the vents into our room. Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel, but of the rude person smoking on a non-smoking floor.

Room Tip: if you don't smoke, get a room on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed this hotel this week.Yesterday afternoon the staff asked us to check out and leave the hotel.It was big surprise for us.The day before yesterday we confirmed with receiption we will extend our days.Hotel told us all rooms are full tonight,we have to leave.When we discussed this issue with hotel,we found some other guests were asked to move to other hotel,too.But these guests booked room in advance.we don't know what reason is.
Finally we gave in and move to Sheraton hotel nearby.Price is USD115 without breakfast and wifi by Intercity's help.
It was really big unsatification for us.
Regarding hotel wifi,bed,otherr stuff,it is OK.Wi-fi signal is weak in some rooms.
Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: reserve room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is overall very good.
Room is excellent, very new furniture. Location is good. It is walking distance to the rambla, some parks and Punta Carretas shopping mall. Very nice restaurants around also.

Price is good compared to similar hotels in the area.

Reception is very small and very humble, so is the restaurant/breakfast area. Although being very clean it is tight and over simply decorated.

Breakfast itself is good. Some good options and tasty.

The big lowlight about this hotel is internet. It is free but .... First of all the password process adopted by the hotel is complex with no reason. They use a password that allows only two appliances to access internet. If you travel as a couple and you have phones and notebooks.. forget about it. You need to explain yourself in the reception on why you need more passwords. Kind of, internet is free but don't ask for passwords.. worst part is the speed. Not sure if I have seen internet as slow over the last 10 years. It seemed like a dial up connection.

It is a really good hotel but nowadays a reliable internet connection is a must. I would definetely recommend this hotel for someone that has no intention to use internet during the stay. If you need to connect yourself, just look for another option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NapsRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel has a great location, near Punta Carretas Shopping, and a lot of good restaurants in the neighborhood.
The room was very clean, spacious with plenty of light.
The breakfast is good and the staff is very kind.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoraidagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
2.1 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#7 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.6 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#13 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intercity Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercity Montevideo

Property: Intercity Montevideo
Address: Rua Ibiray esq. Echeverria, 2398 | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Intercity Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fancy neighborhood of Punta Carretas, and with free smart services such as breakfast and Internet, the new and modern InterCity Premium Montevideo hotel offers an excellent stay in outstanding rooms with panoramic windows and beautiful views of the city. Spacious and luxurious rooms with beds that are a dream come true and will make you want to stay forever. Sumptuous bathrooms covered in porcelain tiles, with warm floor and shower with massage control. All rooms have free wireless Internet access. The hotel is located in the well-known and elegant neighborhood of Punta Carretas in Montevideo, the best option to stay at as it is a neighborhood combining the quietness of residential areas with restaurants, shops and offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Intercity Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing