We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here 2 times. Reception was very helpful and the staff were friendly. No problems with the wifi during my stay(Aug-Sep 2013). The hotel is connected to the mall via a secured door which you can access using your room card. It was very convenient for me to visit and buy things from the mall even during the night. I would recommend it absolutely....

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristotle218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    450
    135
    31
    15
See reviews for
223
302
49
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

no 'preference line' for SPG members ... it means, 30 minutes or + for check in ...
the club flooor is great, and the attendents very good. Taxi service with the Concierge
is easy and chip, charging your room, what is a good idea ...

Room Tip: river view is the best ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosvb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate that you took your time to comment about us. We hope to see you again, in your next visit to Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

All the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the reception desk.
Had a problem with my room booking (NOT the fault of the hotel), but was treated to coffee and biscuits while I waited for it to be resolved.
If you are a non-smoker, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room, otherwise it may smell of ciagettes or cigars...
They have a Pool & Fitness Center, with its fully equipped gym, sauna, massage parlor, and beauty care services. Also - you could warm up in a Jacuzzi, or stretch out on the sundeck.
I had to leave the hotel at 05:00. but they did put on a requested 'continental' breakfast in the lounge bar.
Internet was much better when connected to ethernet, as Wi-Fi was erratic - but worked fine when it did..
There's also a huge shopping mall right next door, with a Cambio/exchange, as well as a large range of shops to suit all tastes..
The riverfront was within a few minutes walking distance, with a jogging tack for all the 'fitness freaks..'
Would happily stay there again..

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in 01 to 10, as this will give you views of the River Plate...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravity-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates, We really appreciate that you took your time to comment about us. We try to keep the standards of service highly and are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you in your next time in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed there many times, but the wifi is still missing!
Either wise it is a decent place to stay with kind people and excellent club service.
The adjunct mall is a plus for business travelers that are looking for convenience shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. We apologize for the inconvenience with the internet connection. The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers. We hope to see you again, in your next visit to Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have been visiting this property since it opened more than a decade ago. It is still a very good business hotel in Montevideo, even though the the buzz has lowered quite significantly in the last years. I was upgraded to a Club Floor room with river view due to my Platinum status. Club rooms are nicely, but somewhat sparsely, appointed, but the basics, bed, work space and bathroom are all good. Shower has plenty of hot water and pressure. The Club lounge on the 23rd floor serves a nice breakfast and evening drinks (wine only). It fills up quite fast when the hotel is full. The adjacent shopping mall (Punta Carretas) needs to be revitalized, but one must of course not forget that the hard economic times have taken their toll on the local commerce. The hotel is centrally located to most business areas, without being in the run down central area around Plaza del Independencia.

Room Tip: Get a river view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldflyerBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are working in all of the items that you mention so we can improve our service and I hope you choose us for your next stay in Montevideo so you can see the changes. The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and staff were all very friendly. Great service from all. The only thing preventing 5 stars was the poor wireless internet (resets or kicks you off about every 5 min). Location is very convenient. Shopping mall is connected to the hotel which is great for gifts, things to do, or things that you forgot.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. My apologizes for the inconvenient with the internet. I can assure you that we are working to make that doesn’t again. We hope to see you again in you next visit to Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The buffet breakfast was adequate, but hardly five stars. All the basics were covered -- basically, and no more. While the buffet opens at 0630, the egg station does not get started until 0715 or so, and there are only three ingredients available for an omelet: chopped tomato, deli ham morsels, and local yellow cheese. Not even onion or bell pepper.

The john in the room was fine (the HOT water arrives as fast as I have ever seen in a hotel), with very fluffy towels. My room had a tub-shower and I had to take great care with the curtain or I got water all over the floor. You are warned!

My room (view of the Platte River) was a nice size (more than 30 square meters), nice desk and chair, internet cable on the desk, flat screen TV with BBC World Service (Bravo!). Very important for me was that everything worked with traditional switches where you'd expect them to be, no fancy, incomprehensible touchpads set into the wall somewhere.

To wash a man's shirt was about US$10; add another $10 for a pair of undershorts and sox.

Good gym and and spa -- a post-long-flight-in-coach-massage was $63, plus 10% tip.

They have a great service: a card to hang on the door refusing maid service as a "green choice". For every day of declined service, you get either a voucher for five dollars off participating food and bev outlets or 500 SPC Starpoints awarded at checkout (max three consecutive nights). Since I prefer to keep the maids out anyway, this was great. (I took the Starpoints.)

One has direct access to the adjacent shopping mall.

Be advised -- the hotel dining room does not open until 1930 for dinner, but then again, the neighborhood restos don't serve a proper dinner until 2030 or so. The menu is not bad; the wait staff were always attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about us. We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We appreciate your valuable comments and we will look after each issue you mentioned. We hope to see you back in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 86 in Montevideo
526 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
My Suites
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Address: Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing