We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Modern Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton on a business trip in December. It is a newer hotel with a great location near the water. Staff was very friendly. I never had the opportunity to try out the wifi, so cannot comment regarding it's consistency. The breakfast buffet was very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    443
    129
    30
    15
See reviews for
211
289
45
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
161 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had to make reservation on short notice, and Sheraton had only Club Floor rooms available. It was more than I usually spend for a hotel, but for business reasons had to stay at the Sheraton so I booked the room. If you don't mind the price, it is very nice. The rooms were large and comfortable. Had a sea view with a beautiful sunrise. Wifi worked great (free for Gold members, $15/day for others). Breakfast in the Club was delicious, especially the bottled peaches and the local yogurt. Service outstanding. We had a group of 7 and took a hotel van to the airport for $72 vs. what would have been more than $100 via taxi. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here 2 times. Reception was very helpful and the staff were friendly. No problems with the wifi during my stay(Aug-Sep 2013). The hotel is connected to the mall via a secured door which you can access using your room card. It was very convenient for me to visit and buy things from the mall even during the night. I would recommend it absolutely....

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristotle218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

no 'preference line' for SPG members ... it means, 30 minutes or + for check in ...
the club flooor is great, and the attendents very good. Taxi service with the Concierge
is easy and chip, charging your room, what is a good idea ...

Room Tip: river view is the best ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosvb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate that you took your time to comment about us. We hope to see you again, in your next visit to Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

All the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the reception desk.
Had a problem with my room booking (NOT the fault of the hotel), but was treated to coffee and biscuits while I waited for it to be resolved.
If you are a non-smoker, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room, otherwise it may smell of ciagettes or cigars...
They have a Pool & Fitness Center, with its fully equipped gym, sauna, massage parlor, and beauty care services. Also - you could warm up in a Jacuzzi, or stretch out on the sundeck.
I had to leave the hotel at 05:00. but they did put on a requested 'continental' breakfast in the lounge bar.
Internet was much better when connected to ethernet, as Wi-Fi was erratic - but worked fine when it did..
There's also a huge shopping mall right next door, with a Cambio/exchange, as well as a large range of shops to suit all tastes..
The riverfront was within a few minutes walking distance, with a jogging tack for all the 'fitness freaks..'
Would happily stay there again..

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in 01 to 10, as this will give you views of the River Plate...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravity-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates, We really appreciate that you took your time to comment about us. We try to keep the standards of service highly and are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you in your next time in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed there many times, but the wifi is still missing!
Either wise it is a decent place to stay with kind people and excellent club service.
The adjunct mall is a plus for business travelers that are looking for convenience shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank openhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. We apologize for the inconvenience with the internet connection. The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers. We hope to see you again, in your next visit to Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have been visiting this property since it opened more than a decade ago. It is still a very good business hotel in Montevideo, even though the the buzz has lowered quite significantly in the last years. I was upgraded to a Club Floor room with river view due to my Platinum status. Club rooms are nicely, but somewhat sparsely, appointed, but the basics, bed, work space and bathroom are all good. Shower has plenty of hot water and pressure. The Club lounge on the 23rd floor serves a nice breakfast and evening drinks (wine only). It fills up quite fast when the hotel is full. The adjacent shopping mall (Punta Carretas) needs to be revitalized, but one must of course not forget that the hard economic times have taken their toll on the local commerce. The hotel is centrally located to most business areas, without being in the run down central area around Plaza del Independencia.

Room Tip: Get a river view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldflyerBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are working in all of the items that you mention so we can improve our service and I hope you choose us for your next stay in Montevideo so you can see the changes. The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Own Montevideo
#8 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Address: Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing