We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Structure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Location and Structure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent 4 nights during the new year break at this hotel. it was a great choice with a lot of pros and a few cons.

Pros:

- Location (near the "sea", the city and excellent restaurants).
- Attached to a shopping mall.
- Room (clean, good size, huge bed, perfect if you have kids).
- Polite staff.
- Very good breakfast (albeit I read bad comments about the breakfast, I indeed liked, it was a good selection of food, fruits and juice and I did not have problems in finding a free table).
- Pool (the pool/gym floor is brilliant).

Cons:

- The concierge service.
- US$ 15 for using the wifi. C'mon, it is 2014!!!
- US$ 6 for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiagoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We are working in all of the items that you mention so we can improve our service and I hope you choose us for your next stay in Montevideo so you can see the changes.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    445
    132
    30
    15
See reviews for
214
293
46
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The air conditioning did not work, a dirty room, a very small breakfast room. But the worst is: if you needed a taxi, they would force you to take a "remise" ( a hotel's private taxi ). At New year's Eve, they would charge U$ 40 to run 6 miles! After a very hard talk, a regular taxi appeared and I payed U$12. Where is the 5 stars service? I recommend Sofitel Carrasco. It is a much better 5 stars!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FlavioRodrigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We were surprised by your comments about the taxi service, and I will share it with the Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
By global standards it is certainly not 5*, at best 4*.
The rooms are fine. But beware, mini-bar is overpriced. (Bottle of water is US$5.50). They also charge for internet, which I find unreasonable.
The restaurant is very dull. The breakfast buffet is almost depressing.
The location is very good. It is In a safe area by the sea. You can walk around comfortably.
Though not close to the Old City, it is very easy to get there by taxi or bus. Just take the bus that says Ciudad Vieja for about US$1.
Tbe adjacent shopping mall is a plus.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank anyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We are very sorry to learn about the matter and regret not having fullfilled your expectations.
The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers to avoid these events from happening again.
We are sorry your experience was not even close to our service standards.
We thank you for your time and comments. They provide us a worthy feedback to continue improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

this is the hotel I'm staying at every time when I'm in Montevideo. it's pretty convenient if you're traveling for business. it's not a holiday hotel in my opinion as the services and possibilities are rather limited.
there is a convenient connection with a shopping mall and there are some good restaurants and bars around though.
rooms are OK but need to be refurbished (as does the hotel). it's all there but it's not very modern. the bar is really small and the breakfast place is also busy with a medium good selection of food.

Room Tip: get a room with a view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton on a business trip in December. It is a newer hotel with a great location near the water. Staff was very friendly. I never had the opportunity to try out the wifi, so cannot comment regarding it's consistency. The breakfast buffet was very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had to make reservation on short notice, and Sheraton had only Club Floor rooms available. It was more than I usually spend for a hotel, but for business reasons had to stay at the Sheraton so I booked the room. If you don't mind the price, it is very nice. The rooms were large and comfortable. Had a sea view with a beautiful sunrise. Wifi worked great (free for Gold members, $15/day for others). Breakfast in the Club was delicious, especially the bottled peaches and the local yogurt. Service outstanding. We had a group of 7 and took a hotel van to the airport for $72 vs. what would have been more than $100 via taxi. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here 2 times. Reception was very helpful and the staff were friendly. No problems with the wifi during my stay(Aug-Sep 2013). The hotel is connected to the mall via a secured door which you can access using your room card. It was very convenient for me to visit and buy things from the mall even during the night. I would recommend it absolutely....

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristotle218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.1 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oliva Hotel Montevideo
Oliva Hotel Montevideo
#14 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
#17 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Address: Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing