We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Montevideo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Sheraton is not in the CBD of Montevideo, but it's location is good nonetheless. Rooms are very representative of the Sheraton brand - large, comfortable and well presented. Beds are good and the rooms well equipped. One side of the hotel is designated at river view, but the other side affords views over the city itself and its harbour (if your room is high enough). Restaurant is good, particularly at breakfast, but service can be slow. Room service is efficient. The hotel is part of a complex that occupies the site of a former prison, many of the architectural features of which remaining the adjoining shopping centre, which is probably the best mall I no Montevideo. The surrounding area seems safe and all things considered this is a good, albeit quite expensive, choice in Montevideo.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for writing a review about us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time here. Hoping to see you in another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent 4 nights during the new year break at this hotel. it was a great choice with a lot of pros and a few cons.

Pros:

- Location (near the "sea", the city and excellent restaurants).
- Attached to a shopping mall.
- Room (clean, good size, huge bed, perfect if you have kids).
- Polite staff.
- Very good breakfast (albeit I read bad comments about the breakfast, I indeed liked, it was a good selection of food, fruits and juice and I did not have problems in finding a free table).
- Pool (the pool/gym floor is brilliant).

Cons:

- The concierge service.
- US$ 15 for using the wifi. C'mon, it is 2014!!!
- US$ 6 for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiagoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We are working in all of the items that you mention so we can improve our service and I hope you choose us for your next stay in Montevideo so you can see the changes.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The air conditioning did not work, a dirty room, a very small breakfast room. But the worst is: if you needed a taxi, they would force you to take a "remise" ( a hotel's private taxi ). At New year's Eve, they would charge U$ 40 to run 6 miles! After a very hard talk, a regular taxi appeared and I payed U$12. Where is the 5 stars service? I recommend Sofitel Carrasco. It is a much better 5 stars!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FlavioRodrigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We were surprised by your comments about the taxi service, and I will share it with the Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
By global standards it is certainly not 5*, at best 4*.
The rooms are fine. But beware, mini-bar is overpriced. (Bottle of water is US$5.50). They also charge for internet, which I find unreasonable.
The restaurant is very dull. The breakfast buffet is almost depressing.
The location is very good. It is In a safe area by the sea. You can walk around comfortably.
Though not close to the Old City, it is very easy to get there by taxi or bus. Just take the bus that says Ciudad Vieja for about US$1.
Tbe adjacent shopping mall is a plus.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank anyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are very sorry to learn about the matter and regret not having fullfilled your expectations.
The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers to avoid these events from happening again.
We are sorry your experience was not even close to our service standards.
We thank you for your time and comments. They provide us a worthy feedback to continue improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

this is the hotel I'm staying at every time when I'm in Montevideo. it's pretty convenient if you're traveling for business. it's not a holiday hotel in my opinion as the services and possibilities are rather limited.
there is a convenient connection with a shopping mall and there are some good restaurants and bars around though.
rooms are OK but need to be refurbished (as does the hotel). it's all there but it's not very modern. the bar is really small and the breakfast place is also busy with a medium good selection of food.

Room Tip: get a room with a view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton on a business trip in December. It is a newer hotel with a great location near the water. Staff was very friendly. I never had the opportunity to try out the wifi, so cannot comment regarding it's consistency. The breakfast buffet was very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had to make reservation on short notice, and Sheraton had only Club Floor rooms available. It was more than I usually spend for a hotel, but for business reasons had to stay at the Sheraton so I booked the room. If you don't mind the price, it is very nice. The rooms were large and comfortable. Had a sea view with a beautiful sunrise. Wifi worked great (free for Gold members, $15/day for others). Breakfast in the Club was delicious, especially the bottled peaches and the local yogurt. Service outstanding. We had a group of 7 and took a hotel van to the airport for $72 vs. what would have been more than $100 via taxi. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
418 reviews
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Address: Calle Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: £106 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, Sheraton Montevideo Hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, our hotle in Montevideo, Uruguay sits surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing