We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed with my wife and a friend for one night as a part of our trip home. Our friend was a last minute guest, but the receptionist had no problem with her staying in our room. They only charged us 40 US$ for the bed. The staff was friendly and serviceminded and the hotel looks nice.
We got a free upgrade even though none of us holds any status with Sheraton and stayed on the club floor. The lounge was nice, but small. I did not have breakfeast because of a bad hangover, but my wife said it was good and she is really picky :).
The concierge helped us find a restaurant and seemed very knowledgeable about the city. The hotel is a little bit away from the city centre, but I would definetely recommend this hotel. They also have a direct entrance to a very nice mall which is great.
All in all we had a great stay here and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend an extra dollar on the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    446
    134
    31
    15
See reviews for
218
298
48
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Initially disappointed because the Sheraton isn't in the centre of town but a 10 minutes taxi ride away we soon realised that you need a taxi or hired car to get around anyway. The only one in the town centre was the Radisson, so if you want to be in the town centre don't stay here. Further out is the Sofitel which looked great and more luxurious: despite the distance if you rent a car it makes no difference. But we warmed to the hotel where the staff were friendly. We stayed on the club floor, where the breakfast was excellent. There is a charge for wifi even in the club lounge which always annoys me as it is very petty and should be included as most cheaper hotels do. The gym was above average. Conveniently there are 2 car hire operators over the street and we were lucky to rent a car at one of them. Helpful tip: book your car hire in advance as they sell out over the busy periods and without one you are stuck or dependent on constant taxis. The room overlooked the river and was a decent size.

Room Tip: Club floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The Sheraton is not in the CBD of Montevideo, but it's location is good nonetheless. Rooms are very representative of the Sheraton brand - large, comfortable and well presented. Beds are good and the rooms well equipped. One side of the hotel is designated at river view, but the other side affords views over the city itself and its harbour (if your room is high enough). Restaurant is good, particularly at breakfast, but service can be slow. Room service is efficient. The hotel is part of a complex that occupies the site of a former prison, many of the architectural features of which remaining the adjoining shopping centre, which is probably the best mall I no Montevideo. The surrounding area seems safe and all things considered this is a good, albeit quite expensive, choice in Montevideo.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for writing a review about us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time here. Hoping to see you in another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent 4 nights during the new year break at this hotel. it was a great choice with a lot of pros and a few cons.

Pros:

- Location (near the "sea", the city and excellent restaurants).
- Attached to a shopping mall.
- Room (clean, good size, huge bed, perfect if you have kids).
- Polite staff.
- Very good breakfast (albeit I read bad comments about the breakfast, I indeed liked, it was a good selection of food, fruits and juice and I did not have problems in finding a free table).
- Pool (the pool/gym floor is brilliant).

Cons:

- The concierge service.
- US$ 15 for using the wifi. C'mon, it is 2014!!!
- US$ 6 for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiagoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We are working in all of the items that you mention so we can improve our service and I hope you choose us for your next stay in Montevideo so you can see the changes.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The air conditioning did not work, a dirty room, a very small breakfast room. But the worst is: if you needed a taxi, they would force you to take a "remise" ( a hotel's private taxi ). At New year's Eve, they would charge U$ 40 to run 6 miles! After a very hard talk, a regular taxi appeared and I payed U$12. Where is the 5 stars service? I recommend Sofitel Carrasco. It is a much better 5 stars!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FlavioRodrigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We were surprised by your comments about the taxi service, and I will share it with the Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
By global standards it is certainly not 5*, at best 4*.
The rooms are fine. But beware, mini-bar is overpriced. (Bottle of water is US$5.50). They also charge for internet, which I find unreasonable.
The restaurant is very dull. The breakfast buffet is almost depressing.
The location is very good. It is In a safe area by the sea. You can walk around comfortably.
Though not close to the Old City, it is very easy to get there by taxi or bus. Just take the bus that says Ciudad Vieja for about US$1.
Tbe adjacent shopping mall is a plus.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank anyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We are very sorry to learn about the matter and regret not having fullfilled your expectations.
The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers to avoid these events from happening again.
We are sorry your experience was not even close to our service standards.
We thank you for your time and comments. They provide us a worthy feedback to continue improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

this is the hotel I'm staying at every time when I'm in Montevideo. it's pretty convenient if you're traveling for business. it's not a holiday hotel in my opinion as the services and possibilities are rather limited.
there is a convenient connection with a shopping mall and there are some good restaurants and bars around though.
rooms are OK but need to be refurbished (as does the hotel). it's all there but it's not very modern. the bar is really small and the breakfast place is also busy with a medium good selection of food.

Room Tip: get a room with a view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. We work very hard to sustain our standards all over Uruguay and over the world.
We try to keep the promise we make to our guests and we are happy that it did satisfy you. We hope to see you back in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
337 reviews
Own Montevideo
#7 of 87 in Montevideo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Address: Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing