We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half view to the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Half view to the sea”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Sheraton Montevideo boasts view to the sea , to be honest they should claim full view to the parking lot and the buildings in front of the hotel and half view to the sea in between the buildings .
As a few of the Sheraton hotels in South America , it would be time to give this one a lift ; especially the decoration and bathrooms are becoming quite outdated .
I still do not understand how this level of hotel insist on charging for using wi fi in the room , it gives a poor idea of their adapting to new reality .
The restaurant food does not deserve any specific mention and the restaurant view is directly on the parking lot , not really charming .
In the end I would not recommend this hotel for holidays , and I would say it is just ok for business traveling .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, regarding your experience during your last stay at the Sheraton Montevideo Hotel.
Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our clients, and we have noticed that some services in the Hotel have not been according to your satisfaction. Please be informed that we are working in all details in order to continue improving our services. I hope to see you in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    446
    133
    30
    15
See reviews for
218
296
48
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
231 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed 10 days in the hotel and found it comfortable, with a nice service and premium location just next to the Punta Carretas mall. Overall if the rooms are nice, they are a bit old and used. The bathrooms and the decoration really need to be renovated. It seems that the bathroom wasnt upgraded since over 10 years, at least! This is not what you would expect from a modern 5 star hotel.
The room service is nice but has nothing special, and the selection of minibar food and drinks clearly isnt great.
Finally, the gym on the 26th floor is great, with lots of modern equipment, and a beautiful view on the river. Must try. On the other hand the pool on the same floor is small, old and the temperature in the pool area, over 30° is almost like in a sauna. Not nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the river view. On the other side you will only see the roof of the mall and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we will share them with our associates. We are renovating our rooms. We are working in all of the items that you mention so we can improve our service and I hope you choose us for your next stay in Montevideo so you can see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had to wait long time when checking in.. I had to do reservation over internet since it was over 50 dollars less expensive….the personal insisted they couldn't give a better rate, even i am a starwood prefered guest, it is hard to believe that you get treated the same like someone else that just walks in and wants a room. Why am i starwood prefered guest if the rate is higher ? The management of Starwood has probably no idea how their system works, since when they travel they roll out the red carpet for them and they get the president suite. At least the reseptionist excused himself, he could aswell not understand the
system. Had to wait long time till i got the room after i booked over ebookers, starwood internet site was down, what you expect else ! so the whole commission goes to ebookers, which site was not down, and it is still cheaper as booking at the reception…
Shopping center is around the corner. The hotel is too far out of the center of the town.. Internet has to be payd. We changed afterwards to the four Points by Sheraton which is definetly better and less expensive, we got there an upgrade to a suite for the same rate like a standard double room here!

Room Tip: dont take cityview…. better pay more for seaview !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrieerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We appreciate your valuable comments and we will look after each issue you mentioned.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.
We are very sorry to learn about the matter and regret not having full filled your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The question is if three rounds of drinks with three people is equivalent to a nights stay in the hotel, what does that say about the hotel? $13 for a shot of average blended whiskey, $25 for a shot of a single malt is something I have an experienced yet. It is enough to drive anyone to drink, but you couldn't afford it here. Other postings have noted the scrimping on Internet, high price of minibar etc and that coupled with the tired look of the hotel should be sending alarm bells ringing with the management. It's not enough just to live off the Sheraton brand. There are number of other hotels in this great city, and I believe that they are building a Hilton on the seafront which should give this place a serious run for its money. Staff were very friendly, but I noted a bit of inconsistency in assigning rooms. The person next to me was given a choice of city view a River view and a choice of a queen or a king size bed. and I was not. My room consisted of two twin beds, which were quite small by modern hotel standards. I usually expect the hotel to highlight this to me. Maybe it was because I had a corporate rate, did not have breakfast included in the price of my room, that they gave me one of their lesser rooms. Again, what does that say about the management when staff assigned corporate clients this type of rooms? I will be looking elsewhere the next time I visit Montevideo.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are very sorry to learn about the matter and regret not having fullfilled your expectations.
The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers to avoid these events from happening again.
We are sorry your experience was not even close to our service standards.
We thank you for your time and comments. They provide us a worthy feedback to continue improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed with my wife and a friend for one night as a part of our trip home. Our friend was a last minute guest, but the receptionist had no problem with her staying in our room. They only charged us 40 US$ for the bed. The staff was friendly and serviceminded and the hotel looks nice.
We got a free upgrade even though none of us holds any status with Sheraton and stayed on the club floor. The lounge was nice, but small. I did not have breakfeast because of a bad hangover, but my wife said it was good and she is really picky :).
The concierge helped us find a restaurant and seemed very knowledgeable about the city. The hotel is a little bit away from the city centre, but I would definetely recommend this hotel. They also have a direct entrance to a very nice mall which is great.
All in all we had a great stay here and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend an extra dollar on the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Initially disappointed because the Sheraton isn't in the centre of town but a 10 minutes taxi ride away we soon realised that you need a taxi or hired car to get around anyway. The only one in the town centre was the Radisson, so if you want to be in the town centre don't stay here. Further out is the Sofitel which looked great and more luxurious: despite the distance if you rent a car it makes no difference. But we warmed to the hotel where the staff were friendly. We stayed on the club floor, where the breakfast was excellent. There is a charge for wifi even in the club lounge which always annoys me as it is very petty and should be included as most cheaper hotels do. The gym was above average. Conveniently there are 2 car hire operators over the street and we were lucky to rent a car at one of them. Helpful tip: book your car hire in advance as they sell out over the busy periods and without one you are stuck or dependent on constant taxis. The room overlooked the river and was a decent size.

Room Tip: Club floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The Sheraton is not in the CBD of Montevideo, but it's location is good nonetheless. Rooms are very representative of the Sheraton brand - large, comfortable and well presented. Beds are good and the rooms well equipped. One side of the hotel is designated at river view, but the other side affords views over the city itself and its harbour (if your room is high enough). Restaurant is good, particularly at breakfast, but service can be slow. Room service is efficient. The hotel is part of a complex that occupies the site of a former prison, many of the architectural features of which remaining the adjoining shopping centre, which is probably the best mall I no Montevideo. The surrounding area seems safe and all things considered this is a good, albeit quite expensive, choice in Montevideo.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for writing a review about us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time here. Hoping to see you in another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.1 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#7 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oliva Hotel Montevideo
Oliva Hotel Montevideo
#11 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
#15 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Address: Victor Solino 349, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing