We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Montevideo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Amazing Hotel. The crew was extremelly friendly, the rooms as big, the shower is amazing, the breakfast was very good too. The hotel is located in one of the best places of Montevideo and only a few steps from Punta Carretas mall. It was surely one of the best choices of our trip.

Room Tip: They have "non smoke floors".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidantas2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    333
    59
    8
    4
See reviews for
147
239
24
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

There are many places you can stay in Montevideo.

This is a place to stay where you can afford it, where you can expect professional staff, a nice bed and the Standards of an International Hotel chain.

The Location is perfect (Close to a nice Shopping arcade) and surrounded with many Shops and Restaurants.

I love the streets of Montevideo with all those beautiful old trees and Tryp Montevideo is in the middle of everything.

We cannot say anything about the Quality of the Restaurants in Tryp because we always went outside for lunch and dinner but everything else was good Quality and not expensive at all.

The pool area Needs some refurbishment but the Overall experience was nice. Good value and not expensive!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Germany
Level Contributor
168 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The room was conveniently sized and had all amenities you can expect in a hotel of this category. The breakfast was o.k. for Latin American standards but did not meet international ones. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel is situated in a residential area within walking distance to a large, upscale shopping center and the sea front as well as a number of restaurants. Downtown and the bus terminal for long distance routes can be reached by bus from the shopping center with a 1/2-hour ride. Connecting buses to the airport leave from the bus terminal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

It's close to Punta Carretas and also to the Rambla, you can stay there with all the commodities needed for a short or long stay.
Sheraton must be worried! it's almost the double on daily rates regarding Tryp.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better view to the Rambla Silent A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Hotel Tryp is located conveniently in the Punta Carretas neighborhood of Montevideo. It has easy walking access to a local weekend market and the larger Punta Carretas shopping center (if that's your thing). Our room had a view of the ocean and a large, nearby golf course which was pleasant.

In general, the room was small but well apportioned and I felt an ok value for the money. My major complaint was that the shower was installed so that the floor was angled away from the drain. In other words, the shower never drained and consistently carried an inch or so of water in it. Not very nice (and the reason I bumped the hotel down from a 4 to a 3). Obviously the hotel staff could do nothing about a construction error like that.

Otherwise, the hotel was a nice enough place to stay. It's on a quiet street with a number of really pleasant neighborhood parillas in the vicinity. The hotel has contacts with outside agencies who can provide tours or, in our case, bicycle rentals for the day. All very conveniently and cleanly handled with the hotel simply adding it to your bill (a very nice touch because the bike rental places didn't take credit cards).

Breakfast was nice enough although I was unimpressed with the coffee.

It's a good place to stay and I would go back again. Be forewarned that it is relatively long distance from the port and cuidad vieja if you're planning on going there. There is easy access to several beaches (6-7 blocks away) and the hotel was happy to provide beach towels.

Room Tip: It's nicer if you have a room overlooking the golf course so that you also get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

What a nice hotel. 20 steps from a lovely green golf course in one direction and 20 steps from a good mall and supermarket.

Very modern, clean and comfortable. Our quiet room was large and the bed comfy. The breakfast was good quality and the staff very helpful. We were given a voucher for a welcome drink when we arrived which was a nice touch.

A bit out of the city but we caught the bus only meters away from the hotel to the pleasant walking street in the middle of the city.

Very close to the beach which made several good walks. We appreciated the free wifi in our room.

The only niggle was that there was no English TV channel.

We would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I liked this place and actually enjoyed that it was a little out of the center of town. We had a rental car so it was easy to find parking on the street at night (there's also a garage for a fee at the hotel) and we were close to a big fancy mall (by the Sheraton) that had nice movie theaters and shops. so if we felt like taking a break from our tourist duties, it was easy to walk over and do the mall crawl and movie watch. The room was clean. The water pressure in the shower was good but drainage slow. The staff was super friendly. My one negative is that the coffee they served as part of the inclusive breakfast was the worst I've ever had-they must just heat water and add some sort of brown powder to it.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#10 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
#21 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Montevideo Hotel

Property: Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Address: Dr.Hector Miranda 2361 | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11308, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#14 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Montevideo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the residential and commercial centre of Punta Carretas, either for pleasure or business tourism, Tryp Montevideo is strategically close to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
Sol Melia Montevideo
Montevideo Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing