We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and in great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This four star hotel is well kept, has friendly staff, excellent breakfast is included in room rate and is only one block from one of the best shopping malls of Montevideo - Punta Carretas. The staff is always ready go give hints on where to go and how to get to places. We've been staying there since 2006 and haven't regretted any of our 7 stays.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    346
    62
    8
    4
See reviews for
153
249
25
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This hotel is not a huge hotel.
Is very wll located. The rooms a nice.
The breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredbb_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bauru, SP
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

One of the best hotels I ever stayed. Very near of a good shopping mall and some restaurants. The room is very large and confortable.
The only problem I experienced was with the wi-fi connection, forcing me to use other network to connect.
The view in the top of the building at night is outstanding.
Very recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

It's a little hotel located between the golf fields and the Punta Carretas shopping mall, in the very center of the beautiful and upscale Punta Carretas neighborhood. There is nothing bad I can say about this hotel, actually. The room is spacious, although they could have arranged the furniture so that the two single beds didn't lie so close. The bathroom is good and clean, towels seem to be new and bigger than the ones we find in brazilian hotels. The rates are reasonable and the staff is extremely kind, helpful and attentive. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the delicacies are exquisite and every day there's something new to taste (try the alfajores, they're really good). However, the fruits don't seem to be fresh, I think some of them are canned. If you rent a car, be aware that the underground garage is tiny and you may not find a place to park your car there. But the service is free, so you can't complain about it. The photos on their website did match the reality. I loved this hotel and, when I return to Montevideo, I'm definitely staying there again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Nice and clean hotel. Just a walking distance to the main shopping of Montevideo. Free parking and helpful staff. A good choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cquad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAZIL
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We liked very much this hotel. Its far from the center, but it was we actually what was great. Its near the Carracso Shopping, at the corner has great place to eat "empanadas" Porto Vanilla, very very cheap and delicious, and near the great restaurant La Perdiz. The people of the hotel was very helpful and nice. The pool is small but wonderful, very hot, and the music over there was "estupendus". Goog breakfast, clean bathroom. We came from the center by bus, that stoped almost in front of the shopping Carreras, near the hotel, number 121. The center is good only in the day, in these days. I recomend these one.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEILA147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This hotel was very clean and modern, staff was very friendly, great little lobby bar and good breakfast. An excellent value for the price, well located. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyGOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#7 of 86 in Montevideo
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#20 of 86 in Montevideo
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Montevideo Hotel

Property: Tryp Montevideo Hotel
Address: Dr.Hector Miranda 2361 | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11308, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#14 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Montevideo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the residential and commercial centre of Punta Carretas, either for pleasure or business tourism, Tryp Montevideo is strategically close to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
Sol Melia Montevideo
Montevideo Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing