We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel needs rooms and facility upgrades, everything still very old fashioned. I stayed few nights for business, overly expensive for what is has. Best part was the million dollar breakfast view (25th floor).
Good staff and service

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    473
    203
    66
    36
See reviews for
221
384
66
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Levels of service and quality of rooms leave a lot to be desired. Staff are generally uninterested. This hotel is used a lot by groups arriving / leaving by cruise ship and this is reflected in the way the hotel deals with people. Check your bill on check-out very carefully. There are much better hotels in much better locations in Montevideo, the Sheraton will be my first choice in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulliverct41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service. Furthermore, we apologize for the condition of the guest rooms as well. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed at Radisson Novotel for three days during a conference.
The hotel is conveniently located in Plaza Independencia, the heart of downtown Montevideo. The area has got some very good restaurants and is not very far from Mercado del Puerto - a place every visitor must go!
The room is OK - magnificent view as I was on the 20th floor. It is a bit worn down, with old-fashion style furniture. The bathroom is one of those old ones with the shower on top of the bathtub - for how much longer will we have to tolerate these plastic curtains in so-called 5 star hotels? Everything was clean and tidy, and the room was serviced daily to a very good standard.
Free wifi is VERY BAD. Don't expect to rely on it to download any work material if you need to.
The restaurant on the 25th offers awesome views of the city. The breakfast itself is very modest, with not too many options. And don't expect the waiters to pay much attention to you. I was not serviced at all during the first two mornings - not even when the waiter realised I had no cutlery.
A decent hotel, a bit too pricey for what it offers, but an OK experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated and our room was fairly spacious but for an executive room was rather scruffy and there is no coffee or tea making facilities. We did have problems with internet access initially which they did eventually fix after a couple of hours. The bathroom in particular needed a complete make over. Could not have a bath as the shower bath combination taps could not be moved from the shower setting and the plug would not move either. The shower was a pin you against the wall type which I found rather unpleasant. The decor is very outdated as is the rest of the hotel although it was clean throughout. The lifts are a little scary, juddering sometimes and doors not shutting very well. Breakfast was rather basic but the views from the restaurant are good. Try to avoid busy times as you will have to queue. Overall the hotel is OK for a short stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is located close to businesses and restaurants in Montevideo. It is also walking distance to the Rambla. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Very clean although the room decor is a bit outdated in my opinion.

The views from the restaurant, on the last floor, are very pretty. However, I have never encounter a slower service in all of my travelings! If you don't go for the buffet, expect to have a 3 hour meal. I went there for breakfast, and the buffet was fine. I went twice for dinner. Both nights there were maybe 5 tables only that were having dinner in the whole restaurant. The service was extremely slow. The food took about an hour and a half to arrive at the table both times I was there. Shame on me for going there twice!

If you skip the restaurant, the hotel is a great find.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Raddison hotel Montevideo on Independence Plaza is old and tired and rather unattractive on the outside, but very well located. The elevators to the rooms are at the back of the lobby. The ones at the front of the lobby are misleading as they go to an office tower. The hotel is an easy walk to the old town, and there is both a large supermarket and pharmacy nearby. From the top floor it has a wonderful view of river and port. The bed was comfortable but the windows rattle at night because of wind off the river, and the thermostat was set too high to allow for a good night's sleep. While I lay there awake it was nice to have some English channels on the TV and free wifi (though the signal was so-so). There was a nice pool and exercise facility on 6th floor, and a lovely breakfast was served on the 25th floor. The people were lovely and very gracious, but frankly you stay here for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great location on central plaza in the Old Town. Service was attentive and excellent throughout. This included calling out the hotel Doctor, who came to our room within 30 mins and was covered on the hotel insurance.

Our room was clean, but very old fashioned and all the decor in the hotel feels quite tired. The casino is a particularly sad place with dirty old carpet and lots of locals mindlessly staring at the slots.

A good business option, but don't go here for a romantic stay or family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Montev... V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your e-mail response with your feedback about your experience at the Radisson Montevideo Hotel.

Our guests´ comments are critical to us. When positive, we feel rewarded in our efforts and our employees grow and gain confidence through positive reinforcement. When something goes wrong, your honest feedback helps us to promptly correct any deviation in our service standards.

Let me tell you Radisson Montevideo is chosen by families and lovers and We never disapointed them.

Once again thanks for taking your valuable time on letting us know our areas of improvement.

We look forward to hosting you again in the very near future and thank you very much for your support to Radisson Montevideo Hotel.

Sincerely,
Roxana Morganti
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Montevideo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#10 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel

Property: Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Independencia 759, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#13 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Montevideo
Montevideo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing