We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel!”
Review of Ukelele Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ukelele Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
“Best hostel!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few days ago. We booked a 8 bed dorm, but when we arrived they asked if we would like to stay in the 6 bed dorm for the same price as it was quiet. The hostel is beautiful, has a pool and just an overall amazing building. Staff were great, they even provided us with breakfast at 6am as we had to leave early! This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbyd101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    81
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
44
70
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you visit Montevideo, stay here! The staff were great, in a decent location, it was super clean with very good showers, and in general the hostel had a lot of character. One of the best hostels I'v stayed in anywhere!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at Ukele for a night only but were really surprised what we got for the 15 USD we payed. Not only was the hostel located in a really nice building, the facilities were clean, but they also had the best breakfast in a hostel I had so far. Comparing it to regular prices, a breakfast of this size/quality would have been 2/3 of the price already.

Since it is a town hostel, visited by a lot of young people you should take the possibility into account that it can get noisier at night (we stayed from Sunday till Monday, so it was pretty quiet after 12)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Firstly, Ukulele made a very good impression. Beautiful old building, nice pool.

BUT:

A) The lockers are open on the rear which you cannot see at all. Means they are not safe and a thieve stole more than 300US$ without breaking anything. And we were told (in written!) to put all the valuables in there. At least the hostel owner refunded our stay but, he did not take responsibilities for the unsafe lockers. Our lock was safe so that this robberies could happen is the hostels fault. It happened to other people in the hostel as well.

B) The 12 bed dorm is very noise and it is hard to sleep before 1 or 2 am until everybody went to bed. Guests arriving late we're brought to the dorm with a lot of noise by the staff and they switched on lights, too. I am sleeping with earplugs but it was very hard to find sleep over there... and we stayed for 3 nights with changing guests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I hated Ukelele which is such a shame as the building is a beautiful old mansion. Unfortunately the staff were really unhelpful and pretty much unfriendly. They didn't have a map or give any helpful advice or take the time to say hello. The location wasn't very nice either and was near the area everyone is warned not to go. I don't usually notice the cleanliness of hostels but I felt Ukelele was a bit grubby and both the living room and dorms smelt bad and the main bathroom ran out of toilet roll. My boyfriend and I were so disappointed with it we checked out after one night and had to pay for the next night as a fee for cancelling at short notice which I suppose is fair enough and I was willing to pay just to leave. This place has won awards but to be honest I have no idea how.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tansyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillo, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We considered ourselves very lucky to have chosen this hostel; what a great place. The hostel is in a beautiful old building with a large staircase leading to the upstairs rooms. It had a great vibe; a very nice lounge room with a piano and a welcome fire; very nice, friendly staff, and in a good location.

Breakfast was very good, with cereal, toast, fruit, coffee/tea on offer in a large kitchen.

There was a bit of a wait for the toilet/bathroom at times, but that's part and parcel of staying at hostels.

Our room had twin bunk beds, but no safety rails or ladders (!) to the top bunks. The two top mattresses placed on the floor made a bed for myself and my wife, and the kids slept on the bottom bunks. This made for very little floor space in the room, but we are used to doing this.

The outdoor area with pool should prove to be a great place to relax in summer.

All in all, I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A great building, comfortable patio area - but I have to say, no. It's loud. Incredibly loud. Not entirely the fault of the management, the way the rooms are set out you are going to hear every footfall and every conversation. At the same time, there were quite a few folks staying who appeared to be "longer term" and were rather buddy-buddy with the staff, their comfort (and their drunken shouting and loud music) took priority over other guests. Extremely unprofessional. I have never written a negative review on TripAdvisor before, this should indicate the depth of annoyance and disappoint I felt at the Ukelele. The experience seriously marred an otherwise excellent trip to Montevideo. Go someplace else!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#35 of 86 in Montevideo
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 86 in Montevideo
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 86 in Montevideo
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Downtown Montevideo
0.2 mi away
Caballo Loco Hostel
Caballo Loco Hostel
#1 of 75 in Montevideo
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ukelele Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ukelele Hostel

Property: Ukelele Hostel
Address: Maldonado 1183, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ukelele awaits you in the best location of Montevideo. Our classic style house built in the 20's, is worth itself, with very spacious rooms, large common rooms and a huge swimming pool. (we are the only hostel in Mdeo that has one!!) We are downtown in the Km 0 of the city, next to Barrio Sur (where candombe was born), and in ten minutes you can reach Ciudad Vieja (old town) walking! Only 300 mts separate us from the Rambla (seaside), one of the best places of Montevideo.Ukelele is the perfect place to have a nice stay in Montevideo. We have large common rooms, with all kind of services to make your journey the best you can have, for the less price.You can enjoy a nice bath on our swimming pool, have some cold beers on the bar with people from all over the world, play the piano, guitar or Ukelele!! Or just relax and watch a nice movie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ukelele Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing