We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable cakes and extremely friendly service!”

Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones
Ranked #1 of 42 Coffee & Tea in Montevideo
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Deli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A space where proposals drawn with exquisite delight in handmade products of the highest quality. For when you have the desire for a dessert or cake made ​​to your liking and diseno.Abierto Monday to Saturday from 15:00 to 21:00
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this adorable coffee shop today. In fact, we JUST returned from our trip, and I knew I had to write a review immediately. We struggled a little finding this shop, as we don't know much about the Pocitos neighborhood, but we managed to find it in the end.

Three of us, my mother, my sister and myself, entered the coffee shop, and was immediately greeted by the one and only, Inés. She introduced herself, said she spoke a little English, and made small chat with my mother. While she was talking to my mother, my sister and myself were dying over how cute everything was. It was almost as if we were a part of a fairy-tale story.

We went with one of the set options, instead of ordering individual goods. Included were two hot beverages (we ordered hot cocoa and a cappuccino), a slice of cake (we went with cheesecake), two cookies or scones (we chose a choco-chip cookie and a scone), some toast (4 in total, along with peach marmalade and butter), two orange juices, and two cupcakes (we ordered apple crumble and a cookie & creme looking one). Inés was kind enough to explain what each baked good was, and helped us choose our options.

Everything was prettily stacked in a tea-stand -- perfect for pictures! I felt like I was in heaven, because I have a sweet tooth, and I looove pastries (so much for my low-carb diet! I can always start again tomorrow). Although I didn't drink the hot beverage, my sister said that the hot cocoa was pretty good. We are connoisseurs of hot cocoas (every country we go to, we drink hot cocoas. So far, cocoas from Paris and Caracas are on top of the list).

It was the three of us that went, and we were completely stuffed. We even had left-overs (a cookie and a piece of toast)! The total cost was 360 pesos (Uruguayan), which is about 15.5 USD, which I think is an incredibly decent price. Some coffee shop prices can get ridiculously high, but this one isn't one of them.

I am already excited to return -- I would like to try a different type of cupcake this time, and a Whoopie! I do, however, regret one thing. I wish I had tried a different type of cupcake, instead of sticking to my usual Oreo flavor (there was a gorgeous Dulce de Leche one -- or a raspberry muffin). But that's just a personal thing, hahaha.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AnastasiaDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kikistrilo, Propietario at Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014
Google Translation

Wow!!! que linda critica! Muchas gracias!! Nos gustó mucho recibirlas e intercambiar una conversación con ustedes. Nos sentimos muy alagadas por tan lindas palabras y poder haberlas hecho sentir tan bien en su estadía en nuestro local. Meta cumplida... que se sientan como en casa!! GRACIAS!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We discovered Dona Ines by accident and what a delight! The four of us had afternoon tea and torte, myself the lovely pear tart with pastry cream in a wonderful short pastry case. My colleagues had the apple cake which was very generous in portion and served warm. I'm still trying to find memorable food in this city and this was a wonderful start. Well done!!

Thank Jeanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doña I, Propietario at Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias!!! Nos alegra haber dejado esa sensación en ustedes. Gracias por tan halagadoras palabras! Esperamos hayan tenido una buena estadía en nuestra ciudad! Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Super small place, but OH SO CUTE. Love everything about it, a great place to have awesome tea. I strongly recommend it.

Thank ScarlettDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doña I, Propietario at Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014
Google Translation

Muy lindo comentario. Agradecemos tu opinión y esperamos recibirte pronto!! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you are a fan of beautifully crafted cakes, cookies and cupcakes then you have to check out this charming little hole in the wall. Friendly staff, a lovely decor, and cakes that will make you forget your woes. Every time i go to Montevideo i make a little pitt stop here to satisfy my sweet tooth, not to say that this town isn't without it's delicious treats, but this place always satisfies and then some. Two thumbs up!
p.s. Best coffee i've had in Montevideo too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kevinbava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doña I, Propietario at Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013
Google Translation

Wauuu!! que lindo comentario!! Nos sentimos muy orgullosas de recibir comentarios de este tipo, tanto que nos hace sonrojar!! Muchas gracias!! Para nosotras es un placer recibirte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I use to go all the time with friends.
Hardcore fans of sweet things should go, bah MUST go there!
The girls in charge are AMAZING, and the cupcakes are delicious!
Chocolate & Dulce de leche are high quiality stuff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nachito P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doña I, Propietario at Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

We appreciate your comments and visits! Always appreciate your support and advice! Our attention is simply the result of your good vibes! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Dona Ines Dulces Tentaciones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing