We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Te best experience in Uruguay. Why pay for a hotel when you have the best value here”
Review of Dolce Vita Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolce Vita Hostel
Duluth, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Te best experience in Uruguay. Why pay for a hotel when you have the best value here”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The stuff was always ready to help and ready for Anything we asked. We stayed there a few extra days and they even have us a brake since was not planed. We have some issues with visas and more an they ware always always ready to extend a hand. It was truly one of the best experiences in Uruguay. We felt at home the whole time and the value was AMAZING!!! Must use when traveling to Uruguay - I give them 10 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    39
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
15
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Located in a nice neighborhood of Montevideo, I found the Dolce Vita Hostel a good and convenient place to stay. It's situated in a good distance from both Ciudad Vieja and the beach, Saturday there's a farmer's market round the corner and the Sunday flea market also is within walking distance. The dorms are spacious, and the comfy bunk beds have built-in lockers. If it's full it could probably do with more showers, but since we stayed there in low-season that never was a problem for us. Despite having a lot of shared space, in my opinion it lacks a proper common area for socializing. Although as far as I know this is now being remidied by making more use of the rooftop, which is a rather cool spot to hang out on a warm evening, The staff is super friendly and there's lots of information on things to see and do in Montevideo. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citizen428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plauen, Deutschland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The two former "Italian" owners are awesome. They help you with everything and they are very welcoming and nice. The hostel itself is also a good place. Its half way between the old historical center and the Bus Station. Its easy to go to the beach from there and the whole city center is really not very fare.
I can really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallogerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 days, and it was a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is good, and the rooms are warm. The hostel has a great layout. Depending on what you're looking for, the location may not be the best-- it doesn't seem to be in the touristy neighborhoods, but rather is equidistant from several locations. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.7 mi away
Buenas Vibras Hostel
Buenas Vibras Hostel
#3 of 75 in Montevideo
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
MedioMundo Hostel
MedioMundo Hostel
#6 of 75 in Montevideo
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Tatucera Montevideo Hostel
La Tatucera Montevideo Hostel
#13 of 75 in Montevideo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Tower Hotel
Crystal Tower Hotel
#1 of 35 in Montevideo
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rentline
Rentline
#25 of 75 in Montevideo
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aca Me Quedo Hostel
Aca Me Quedo Hostel
#42 of 75 in Montevideo
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Vita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Vita Hostel

Property: Dolce Vita Hostel
Address: Soriano 1536, Montevideo 11216, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dolce Vita Hostel, a place to discover! Here wait for you Andrés (Tano)and Emilia, that in 2011 decided to start a new experience and opened the Dolce Vita Hostel. In our staff you will also meet Luciana, a musician and fashion designer, Sebo, a great painter and chef and Santiago, a great comunicator! We love talking about the particularities of Uruguay, its open-minded people, the culture, diversity and landscapes...Just ask us! We also organize social activities like shared dinners, with our famous typical italian pizza, live music in the terrace or in our big living room in winter (candombe, jazz, blues, funk, rock, reggae, etc...) mixed with multi-cultural events of Montevideo.Not least, we offer from massage – therapy up to horse-riding full day, and of course the classical hostel activities: city tours, bike rent, car rent , wine taste tours, etc…And where is all this? In Dolce Vita! in the center of downtown in the safe and typical neighbourhood of Palermo, at 10 minutes by walk from Ciudad Vieja and the city coast (La Rambla). Here you can choose between 5 spacious shared rooms and 1 private double room. The price includes wifi connection, common PCs, free breakfast, a fully equipped kitchen, lockers under the beds for each guest, tv with satellite, a free pool table and a typical “parrilla” BBQ on the terrace. For a better staying the bathrooms are divided between men and women.We are looking for travelers who want to exchange experiences, are you one of them? Please Note:Cancellation Policy: 48 hours.Check in time: 13 hCheck out time: 10 hDebit / Credit Cards Accepted (Visa o MasterCard). Breakfast Included. Taxes Included. Argentinian pesos acceptedPlease write us what time and where will you arrive. We are pleased to help you to find the better transportation solution! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dolce Vita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing