We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of AXSUR Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AXSUR Design Hotel
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel. The location is one block to the beach and one block to the walking street of old town.
The neighborhood seems sketchy at first, but it grows on you quickly.

The room. Loved the tall shower and jacuzzi tub. The bed was firm and it was queen/king size.
The kitchenette area had refrigerator, but no coffee/tea maker.
Hip place with a decent breakfast.

Santiago checked us in- he was friendly and welcoming.

I will be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo l, Gerente at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
ear, Thanks for your comments about our hotel.

the hope in your next visit to Montevideo

best regards

Hotel Axsur Design Montevideo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    143
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
197
20
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions, it is well located if you are needing to be close to the old city. Rooms are good, restaurant is average, service is average. Not a great choice for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: Best during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo l, Manager at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimado,
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios y recomendarnos. Referente a la zona los finde de semana, es verdad que es muy tranquilo, pero cabe destacar que contamos con Teatro, Cines, restaurantes y Pubs en la zona. Nuestro personal siempre esta disponible para informar sobre a donde poder ir ...

Los esperamos en su proxima visita a Montevideo

Saludos cordiales

Hotel Axsur Design Montevideo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a nicely decorated, spacious room with a large terrace and really enjoyed our stay there. But what makes this hotel special is the personalized service of the employees. We really appreciated the talks we had with the employees. Much better than the impersonal treatment we mostly encounter in big hotels!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo l, Departamento Recepcion at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Estimated thank you by his comments, which you comment is true, we to the being a small hotel can give the luxury of offering a super service personalized to the guest unlike the hotels of big dimenciones. From vya thank you very much for his comments and them we wait in his near trip to Montevideo

Hotel Axsur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

As part of a holiday in Argentina, we did an overnight trip to Montevideo. This hotel is an easy (10min) walk from the harbour. We arrived late morning and our room wasn't ready, but reception were happy to store bags and recommend somewhere for us to go for lunch in the meantime. Check-in process was simple and efficient. Free wifi.
We had a room on the top floor with a water-view and large balcony. This is a very modern boutique hotel but not really a design hotel - so if you are used to large artworks and funky design this may not be for you, its more minimalist - basically very little furniture and blank white walls in the rooms. Bedroom and bathroom are very basic, which is fine for a night, but you may feel cramped and stifled in a longer stay.
Easy walk to the old town, Teatro Solis and the water. Breakfast was a highlight - great choice and friendly service.
As we walked around we didn't see a lot of other hotels, so this would be a good reliable choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo l, Departamento Recepcion at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Estimated Travelling, very nice for his comments, as you well say they came in the morning late, to informative way we comment to them that the Check in is to the 15.00. Cordial regards and we wait for them in his near demurrage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We loved staying here. It has very spacious rooms that you feel like your staying in a apartmant. The employees are all very helpfull and friendly. They have a spa in each bathroom that is clean and tidy. The breakfast is one of the best I've had in Uruguay,it's a small space to eat but still enough room to be comfortable. It's small hotel and it's hidden behind NH Columbia and has water views. Near all the bars and shops too. We are happy customers

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with water view and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muza102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo l, Departamento Recepcion at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimada, gracias por sus comentarios, como bien dice somos una pequeña joya escondida en ciudad vieja, siempre lista para que los viajeros la descubra y se sientan como en casa, gracias a nuestro exquisito y personalizado servicio.

Saludos y los esperamos nuevamente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

One block away from the Rambla, in Ciudad Vieja (the oldest part of the city), the AXSUR is right where you want to be. You can walk to: Peatonal Sarandi, a pedestrian walkway that will take you to restaurants, stores, and art galleries and museums; Plaza Independencia; Teatro Solis; and Avenida 18 de Julio. This small boutique hotel (only 6 floors) has all of the accoutrements, and the front desk staff is multilingual. My room had a deck which looked upon the Río de la Plata (a broad estuary) that opens into the South Atlantic Ocean. Now when you walk the streets, some will look and feel sketchy with A LOT of graffiti everywhere. However, I never felt unsafe, as there are people walking everywhere, or in the myriad plazas. The AXSUR has a small restaurant and bar with a good selection of options, and a very nice complementary breakfast. The best part was coming back to the hotel after a long day doing the tourist thing, and watching the sunset on the deck with a drink or two. Now, can I get the same room upon my return???

Room Tip: Get a room with a Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BklynUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo l, Owner at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear guest,
We are really glad to hear you spent such a wonderful time in our hotel and city. We would like to thank your for your positive comments and we will be looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

When we arrived in the area of the AXSUR at about 4pm in the afternoon, my wife was feeling a bit nervous as the streets were empty, graffiti and trash in the streets surrounding the hotel and there was just a bit of a gray feeling outside the hotel... but we pressed on and were happily greeted when we entered the AXSUR. It's a fairly new hotel so many taxi drivers did not know of it - so having the name and address was important... Very contempory / modern - and we found most ( not all ) the staff to be very helpful and pleasant and willing to either struggle with our Spanish - or - speak in English with us... There's not much in the immediate area of the hotel - although a short walk lands you in the middle of the Ciudad Viejo ( old city ) where you can wander the streets or jump on a city tour bus - we did both -
We were disappointed with the city - garbage seemed to be strewn on many of the streets - graffiti was common - even on some monuments - and unlike Punta del Este - we had several encounters with rude inhabitants... But - although we didn't love the city - we did feel that the AXSUR was our safe and comfortable haven. Nice breakfast too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryandisabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo l, Manager at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Harry and Andy,
We are sad to hear you didn't find the city that attractive but really grateful for your positive comments about our hotel's style, staff and breakfast.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.4 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#13 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AXSUR Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AXSUR Design Hotel

Property: AXSUR Design Hotel
Address: Misiones 1260, Montevideo 11006, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AXSUR Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your AXSUR Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing