We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit run down, but good front desk.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ViewPort Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Oslo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A bit run down, but good front desk.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just stayed there for 3 nights. Overall impression is that its run down. The doors to the rooms have no sound insulation, so you hear everything out in the coridoor, and i presume vise versa. The toilett was clogged, it took a day to fix. The water disspeared for halph a day. The elevator is old and shaky. Beds is ok. Cleanlyness is ok. TV was ok, but keept on freezing, so it had to be restarted. But for price it was not to bad. The Naibourhood is close to the senter but sems a bit dodgy. Breakfast is ok but simple. No pool or fitnes senter that i found. Only a roof terrasse without anything. Would i stay here again. No i would not.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    146
    125
    52
    44
See reviews for
81
203
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had an excellent stay at this hostel.

Price was very good and the room was waay more than I expected. Brand new, good toilets, good beds and furniture. Also breakfest was good. nothing to complain about the place

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evaldo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed a total of four nights at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip to Uruguay. Overall it was a fine experience and we would certainly stay there again if we found a as good a deal as we did, £55 (US$90) for two nights. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros
- breakfast included
- pretty good location (plus close to Buquebus port and direct bus from the airport)
- a bus from the airport took us directly to the
- quite friendly and helpful receptionists
- there was a spacious safe in the room
- we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel in between checking out and heading to the airport
- comfortable bed
- small fridge in the room

Cons
- breakfast was very basic and we did not eat any of it apart from a few fresh fruit, but at least it gave us access to mugs and spoons so we could eat our own milk and cereals
- the bed sheet on our double bed was not large enough to be tucked under the mattress and was just floating around and forming lumps in the corners of the bed (consider asking for single beds)
- our room was tiny, but I think that most rooms are bigger

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasserburg am Inn, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We (4 adults) stayed two days in Montevideo and been looking for a place close to the town centre. The choice was the ViewPort Hotel with two standard rooms.

How to get there:
We arrived by bus in the main bus station of Montevideo. It is to far away from the hotel especially if you have lots of luggage with you so we took a taxi which you easily get at the bus station. Most of the taxis in this region are very small cars often with a quite reduced space in the trunk because of the gas tank the put in to drive with gas instead of petrol.
Think about this if your are more than 2 people and if you travel with big luggage.
The ride to the hotel by taxi is around 10 minutes. There is for sure also a bus but we didn't look for it.

The hotel:
The lobby is not big and the only area the basement. You can reach your room by elevator or stairs. We've been in the 3rd floor so we used the stairs quite often.
The breakfast room is on the 1st floor. More about it later. The lobby and the open areas of the hotel are clean and been renovated in the past. If you look closer you see that the renovation wasn't done with lots of passion or craftsmanship.
There is a terrace on the top floor with a view down to the harbour and the buildings in the neighbourhood. Nice for a cold beer in the evening but here again you see that everything in the hotel is bit old, sometimes damaged, repaired and repaired again. Like often in places like these it looks better in the dark :-)

The rooms:
Our rooms been directly next to each other. Both doors and windows are not really isolated against noise or temperature. But this is a phenomenon we found in nearly all hotels in Argentina and Uruguay. So it could be noisy if people talk loud on the floor or in the room next to you and if weather is cold the air condition in the room has plenty to do to keep a pleasant temperature.
The rooms been quite small the bathroom also. Like all the other things in the hotel only new paint doesn't solve everything. If you renovate do it proper or better do it not.

Breakfast:
To be honest no pleasure. You get all you need. That is not the problem but it is extremely loud in the room. Every time when someone leaves the table you have this scratchy sound from the chairs on the floor. When you like the sound of fingernails on a blackboard you'll like it there.
They obviously do not have plates there so you have to put everything you want to eat on a bottom plate which should be normally use for your coffee cup. Looks funny with lots of these small plates on the table.
During our stay we had a not speaking, not smiling and very unfriendly looking waitress.

Service:
Except the nice women for breakfast the people in the lobby were very friendly and help where ever they can. Leaving luggage there after checking out if your departure is in the evening is no problem at all.

What to do:
Well the current fashion there is not worth to be discussed. So shopping made not much sense for us but this as always is a matter of your personal taste. We walked around the city. There are beautiful buildings to see. Some in a very sad condition. There was a very nice market during our stay (keep an eye on your pockets and bags there)
There are two famous markets where you can have dinner and go for a nice piece of meat. The one at the harbour is more touristic. The other on closer to the hotel was for us the far better choice. Food was excellent and people where dancing Tango in the centre. Really nice place
During the day visit the Rambla. Take care that you have a sunblocker with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koblberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is an old hotel. Yes it was renovated, but it was a make up renovation. And it was poorely done, so the hotel still looks a bit old and run down, athough looking nice.
The elevator was a nightmare - it had that grill door that we had to close before closing the door - and no one would remind to do it, so an annoying buzz would sound all the time.
We also had issues with people slaming doors. it would make a big, big noise.
And we didn't find it that clean.
Breakfast was good, despite the artificial orange juice.
Location is not bad, although there's a bus stop right in front of the entrance.
Front desk was really confusing and it took us forever to check in.
Overall Id say it's not that bad. We got a room for US$ 60.
I'd say there are better options, but it's ok if you can't find one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannlaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is the perfect 3 star hotel. It has the very basics that you would want from a 3 star at a very reasonable price. The hotel is either brand new or has recently been completely renovated. The beds, tv's, safes, sinks, showers, etc...are all sparkling new. The hotel staff is also professional and friendly and most speak pretty good English...especially the short blonde guy at the reception. It's close to bus stops and taxis frequently roam around the area. It's about 1/2 a block from the French Embassy as well. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 out of 5 rating is because they hadn't finished all the renovations/construction work on the building while I was there. Workers were still installing floor tile at the entrance and working on some of things throughout the building.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atleticofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viewport H, Manager at ViewPort Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review.

It is a pleasure to know your experience with us.

We will be glad to receive you back in our hotel.

Your faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

This place isn't flashy and doesn't look finished (while we ere there they were doing construction). But the rooms are clean and modern. They are also very flexible with your stay, we had our plane cancelled and they were more then happy to adjust our booking at no extra cost.

A good tip for this place is to head to the roof to get some sun. For some reason no one is ever up there and it provides a niece view of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viewport H, Manager at ViewPort Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments from your recent stay with us.

we are really interested in improve our service, so that your review helps us to do it.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.7 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#59 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alvear
Alvear
#53 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Urban Express
Hotel Urban Express
#73 of 86 in Montevideo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#62 of 86 in Montevideo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#58 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ViewPort Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViewPort Hotel Montevideo

Property: ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
Address: Av. Uruguay 825, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ViewPort Hotel Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in the heart of Montevideo Only fifteen minutes from major shopping malls of the city, and from the port of Montevideo, near the traditional theaters and museums, like the wonderful Montevideo promenade, one of the main boulevards of the city. You will receive the best care you deserve, both pleasure trip as if it has come on business. In the afternoons complimentary afternoon tea is offered. Services• Breakfast• TV Room• Business Center• Luggage• Air conditioning• WI-FI free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ViewPort Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing