We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same , not expensive option”
Review of Hotel Tres Cruces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tres Cruces
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We had already stayed at this hotel before, when we visit Uruguay on the winter of 2010.
This time we stayed three nights and were lucky to stay in a room (604) better than the last. Located on a high floor and with a pretty good view of the city and the Rio de la Plata.
The bathroom was of good size and seemed be refurbished a short time ago. Channels in English and Portuguese on TV and at the bedside a clock radio. Good air conditioning.
At the reception 01 computer connected to internet and free wi fi in the room.
The breakfast is weak with few options. Not even the media luna sandwich (Uruguayan famous sandwich) had good flavor.
The strong point is in the hotel location near the bus terminal and easy access to the rest of the city and also to/from Carrasco Airport. The taxi to the old town costs around $ 6 and takes about 15 minutes.
Good option for two nights , with cost of US$ 60.00 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leo Zeno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

Great Price but not worth the problems ! The service was terrible from the start, the service at front desk, the attitude and bad character awful. We were a entire family booking 5 rooms, imagine, and they were rude and not very educated when it came to customer service. We were there for a wedding, and visiting Uruguay after 10 years of being away. None of our messages were past on, and family members that came to the hotel to ask for us were made to wait out side the hotel! Very rude, very rude service! The lady's of the front desk were great, but the front desk male attendant had no customer service what so ever. I would prefer to pay a few dollars more and stay some were they know how to treat there valued customers!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ann19781998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We spend a weekend in this hotel and we like it. It is next door to the bus station and you can get from the Carrasco International Airport to the hotel by bus (US 1.25).Just step down at Tres Cruces Bus Terminal and walk 100 meters.Also it is very easy to park around the hotel .
Very special staff when we arrive . They provide a lot of information about places to eat and also what to do on next day (Sunday).
Free map at reception and also two computers to use (free) .
Good breakfast.
The room was big enogh and with international cable services (CNN, Record , ESPN).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo Zeno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

i stayed for 4 days it was cheap bud no good at all , no service , ugly room and ugly bathroom no good location either the only nice thing is the staff ..i was born in montevideo and i live in new york i travel a lot this was the poorest hotel i ever stayed.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
3  Thank Artigasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

It's a relaxed area, ideal if you have a car. Parking is for free and from there you can access everywhere quite fast. The rooms aren't nice and the carpet is stained all over. However it has an excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValterNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I traveled with my partner and a 2yr old child as we were traveling to different parts of Urugauy it was a good location as it was so close to the bus depot it only took us 30 mins to walk down to the old city and 20mins to the pocitos beach for us this was good we are returnig this year with three children and we will stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sol4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

This was a nice hotel. We stayed in a Suite which was huge, especially for the £50 per night price tag.

It is literally next door to the bus station, about 2 miles walk into town and 3 to the Mercado Del Puerto. As the bus station is next door you could get the bus for 25p or call a taxi for £2.50.

It's close to the obelisk, the cross and the football stadium and museum.

It's a far way from the beaches, which are lovely in Montevideo. But the hotel is nice, with nice helpful staff in a fairly nice part of the city. It's also very gay friendly.

It was obvious that at peak times, the hotel is understaffed. This meant staff were limited in the amount of help they would or could offer. For instance, in the morning at check out time, invariably there was only one person on the desk. Another example of this was that the jacuzzi in our room didn't work because the button was jammed. I'd asked for help on 3 occasions to fix this but in the end I fixed myself, breaking my toothbrush in the process.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Montevideo
Days Inn Montevideo
#54 of 87 in Montevideo
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercosur Universitas
Mercosur Universitas
#44 of 87 in Montevideo
133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#50 of 87 in Montevideo
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#66 of 87 in Montevideo
78 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
697 reviews
1.8 mi away
London Palace Hotel
London Palace Hotel
#51 of 87 in Montevideo
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tres Cruces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tres Cruces

Address: Miguelete 2356 | esq. Acevedo Díaz, Montevideo 11801, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: £35 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tres Cruces 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tres Cruces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Cruces Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing