We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. It is utterly charming. Helpful staff. Lovely rooms and breakfast fit for a king. The only unfortunate part is you need to take a taxi ride to downtown, rather than a walk. The wonderful part is to be situated on the Rambas affording great river views.
Close to a beautiful shopping center with loads of shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: No tip necessary all rooms will be lovely. Note can be windy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Bill S,
Thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
There are newer reviews for Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel. We have a corner suite with beautiful views of the ocean. The hotel is situated on the rambla which is a walkway adjacent to the ocean. You can rent bicycles for free for the first hour and ride on the rambla. Hotel breakfast was ok but it is the same food all the time which gets boring. There is some construction next door so you hear banging at 9am until 4 pm but we were not in the room to hear it. Staff was very friendly and bilingual . Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Gary M,
Thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Cala di Volpe hotel is on the Rambla in the Punta Carretas section of Montevideo. I thought staying in this section provided the perfect combination of being able to get into downtown Montevideo quickly and easily and also to walk out the door and spend time at the beach or walking the Rambla. The (standard) room was sufficiently large, had a view of the Rambla and water. WiFi did not work well in the rooms during our stay. We mostly took public transportation to downtown (bus stop 2 blocks from hotel at the front of the shopping mall), used a taxi one night after a late performance (which was easy to get and inexpensive), and easily drove into town and parked in a garage on our last day. I found the hotel restaurant to be very expensive for food or drink but there are a few very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast was very substantial with eggs made to order in addition to a full buffet with many choices. Except for one staff person at the front desk I found the staff to be somewhat patronizing. They had the appropriate smile on their face and seemed to be listening but there was something about the attitude that just wasn't what it should be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear booptrave,
thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My mother and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. For the price we paid (180 USD/n) we where expecting more.

When we first checked into our room the safe was broken and the front door would not completely shut or lock. The problem was fixed after about an hour though. The staff was adequate, but didn't really go out of their way to be friendly or helpful. The breakfast buffet was good and a nice variety.

This is a decent hotel, just not as luxurious as it's made out to be on the website. We thought it was a very poor value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamLynSik30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear JamLynSik30,
thanks for your comments.
we work every day to maintain and improve service.
the hope on your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at Cala di Volpi lots of times in business trips. It is a confortable hotel with a nice crew. It is located in a beautiful part of the Rambla, but it is a little bit far from restaurantes and atractions, if you looking for walking distance things. Good restaurant and breakfeast.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Caro RogerCruz,
Obrigado por suas palabras.
Lo esperamos en su proxima visita.
Atenciosamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Due to our constantly changing travel plans, we wound up staying in three different room types over our stay (Standard, Corner Suite, and Superior), and all were wonderful. All had a view of the Rambla/ocean. The Corner Suite view is especially nice; that suite also comes with lovely amenities (slippers, robes, etc) that the other two room types don't have. So it's worth the extra money, but you'll also be very comfortable in their Standard room.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating; easily switching to English when our limited Spanish failed. The breakfast was the most impressive one we had during our travel through Uruguay and Buenos Aires--lots of options and very substantial.
The location was perfect for us (we had a rental car, so were able to drive into Ciudad Vieja easily). Wonderful to be able to walk out the front door and be right on the Rambla.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat; plan to when we return to Uruguay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskanOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

AlaskanOnTheRoad
Thanks for your comments. yes, the Corner Suite view is wonderfol
The hope on your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a fine hotel in a great location. The staff is very friendly and the food is great! We had a great view of the Rambla. The locals use the Rambla day and night. It goes 16.2 miles. Great for walking or running. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the Rambla.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Johnny685,
thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
366 reviews
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
1,222 reviews
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#7 of 87 in Montevideo
789 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel

Address: Rambla Mahatma Gandhi y Parva Domus | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#10 Family Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: £63 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its impressive infrastructure, with oversized windows overlooking the sea, Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel has the elegance and style of the world's best hotels and exquisite touches of art, color and romance to your decor. To this add the best equipment with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Di Volpe Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing