We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic in a nice neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Basic in a nice neighbourhood”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Mercure brand offers a 3-star experience worldwide and the Punta Carretas is no different. A room on the smallish side, with free wi-fi and a relatively good choice of TV channels. The amenities could be better, though.
Location is the best feature of this hotel if you're the kind of traveler who avoids the crowded city centres (it is a U$ 7 dollars taxi ride to the old city). It is by the waterfront on the posh neighbourhoods of Montevideo - Punta Carretas and Pocitos, where you can walk on the ramblas at any time of the day.
The only problem I had was with the transfer to the hotel. The guy arrived late and it almost compromised my flight.
I booked an amazing U$ 58 dollars/night rate about 45 days prior to my arrival.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macktheknifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Director de Recepción at Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:
Le agradecemos por los comentarios realizados, que nos ayudan a mejorar. Estamos trabajando para encontrar un servicio de excelencia. Esperamos recibirlo para su próxima visita a Montevideo. Saludos. Sebastián Rodríguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    268
    58
    7
    7
See reviews for
107
265
38
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff did not acknowledge our presence for about 7 minutes, although we were the only people there.
The blond guy behind the desk was so rude we decided to cancel our reservation and find a place that wants our business.

There is NO parking. So if you are driving a car, good luck finding a place nearby to leave your vehicle.

We went to the Axsur Design hotel and were warmly welcomed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in old town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wooster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Gerente at Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Realmente siento mucho que se haya llevado esa impresión de nuestro hotel. Tengo que decir que al ser un hotel boutique, nuestra recepción es pequeña y acogedora por lo cual me extraña la demora en atenderlo. Nuestro recepcionista es uno de los más valorados por nuestros clientes. Un gentleman. Lamentablemente no estuve aqui para ver que sucedió pero voy a mirar las cámaras de seguridad, ya que nuestros huéspedes son nuestra prioridad y deben ser siempre correctamente atendidos. Como le dije anteriormente lamentamos mucho lo ocurrido.
Por otra parte, nuestro parking es según disponiblidad y hay que hacer la reserva previamente. Tenemos garage pero la disponilidad depende de la ocupación del hotel. Esperamos que si vuelve a Montevideo pueda venir nuavemente y llevarse una grata experiencia. Me pongo a su dispocisión ante cualquier consulta. Daniela Leite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our room was very clean and comfortable. Loved that we had a clear view to the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of free parking in the immediate area and just a block away from a major shopping mall with theatres. Great place we found by chance of driving by. We arrive just after peak time so value was excellent!

Room Tip: Beach View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamFromCanadaEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Director de Recepción at Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for your coment. We hope to see you again next time you come to Montevideo. Best Regards. Sebastian Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanside, ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Brand new and very convenient. small room but all amenities provided. Great bed and linens. Breakfast fine. I´d say its rather plain but very clean and good value. I prefer My Suites wine bar but this hotel was more than fine for what I needed--great bed and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rena21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Director de Recepción at Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for share your coments. We hope to see you next time you come to Montevideo. Regards. Sebastian Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is shiny new, opened at january 2014. Rooms are clean, well decorated. Staff is kind and always there to help. Location is great, specially if you have a car. Great for a walk at the Rambla or at Punta Carretas Shopping Center. Good restaurants are two steps away.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Rambla Gandhi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MathiasModena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Director de Recepción at Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for your coments. We hope to see you next time you visit Montevideo.
Regards, Sebastian Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#7 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas

Property: Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
Address: Rambla Mahatma Gandhi 371, Montevideo 11301, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing