We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superó mis expectativas”
Review of Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2011

An EXCELLENT choice in a quieter Rresidential area out of the fray of Downtown Montevideo ,which is ten minutes ride from the hotel. Bus # DM1 from the airport stops a few blocks away N.- West of hotel . and takes 40 minutes .Taxis frrom airport is around 500 Pesos US$25). Location to river walk, beach, and banks, close to nice restaurants, located opposite a taxi stand and bus stop was a plus. The reception staff were friendly , efficient and spoke good English. Rooms were spacious and even recieved an up grade with balcony and sea view at no extra cost. Buffet-breakfast was excellent .... 2 free internet computers and wireless available in the lobby. . Room,s are cute and clean, good AC, and a well-arranged tile/marble bathroom. I would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarielaMontevideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

Good solid hotel. Good sized clean rooms. Pocitos is a great area - many restaurants, shopping and a beach. The staff were very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and getting futbol tickets. Nice breakfast buffet. Had to leave early in the morning and they opened the buffet early so we could eat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This hotel was an excellent find. The place is updated, clean, with a friendly staff and perfect location. My family and I stayed here for 4 days. We had a very nice 2 bedroom hotel room with a balcony overlooking the water. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes (or a $5 taxi) from downtown and 1 block from a sandy beach. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Location is exceedingly safe. As is all of Montevideo. We booked by emailing the hotel directly. Breakfast is included. I could not imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald_City_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel is in a great part of town, has a very friendly/helpful staff, and was a great deal for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I have stayed at the Ermitage a few times now. It is one of two I choose when in MVD. While the rooms are not large by US standards, they are clean, well appointed, and the beds comfortable. Plenty of hot water as well.

The best part of the Ermitage is the 1 block walk to Pocitos Beach and the Rambla. The 2nd best part is the neighborhood feel around it, with plenty of small shops and expecially grocery/fruit stands.

Be sure to ask for a ocean-facing room with balcony for the best rooms in the hotel. Make sure yo are up a few floors.

So what is the downside to staying here? You are nowhere near the business district. Other than that, it's great!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drumsnbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This is an older hotel that is being kept in very good condition. The reception staff were very helpful, working patiently with our limited Spanish. The first room we were given was a smoking room. Although there were no similarly sized non-smoking rooms available, they were able to move us into a larger non-smoking room at no extra charge. The rooms were very clean, with a fridge and great air conditioning. The bathrooms are not large by North American standards, although I found them to be comfortable compared to European bathrooms. Ours had a full bath/shower combination, along with a blow dryer and toiletry items. Wireless internet access is also available in the rooms and, while it was a bit slow, I had no problem downloading email and maps, etc. The beds were more firm than we prefer, but we had no trouble getting to sleep.

Breakfast is included with the room, which is a standard European style buffet with pastries/breads, cheese, ham, juice, fruit, coffee and tea. I saw a container to the side that appeared to contain eggs, although we didn't try them. We thought the breakfast was good and met our needs well.

The hotel is located in a wonderful area, just a block or so from the beach. There are many restaurants and shops in the area. We had dinner one night on the beach, another night at a neighborhood place. Both were very good. There are also several markets in the area. We were able to buy the makings for a light meal with wine at one of them that we took back and enjoyed on the balcony of our room. The only parking available during our stay was on the street, however, we never had a problem finding a space within a block or so of the hotel.

All in all, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekkercws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The choice of this hotel was essentially based on other reviews of TripAdvisor travellers. I can only reconfirm that everything was fine and the price paid was really reasonable for a hotel in the centre of a capital city, facing a beach. Hotel staff is pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is good. To make up for the lack of lunch and dinner service, there is the possibility to ask for sandwiches and warm/cold drinks to the cafeteria staff. Wi-fi connection to the internet is provided free of charge, and it worked fine. There are two PCs in the lobby for public use. The room assigned was on the back so presumably a little quiter than rooms facing the sea (and the main road); spotless clean. The old town is easily reachable by bus; the trip of about 20' is pleasant and costs 17 pesos = less than 1 EURO. From the airport, a taxi fare costs about 500-700 pesos, about 25-35 EURO and the ride takes about 20'. What we liked most was the nice location and the real value; what we feel should be improved is a separation between smokers' and non-smokers' rooms, because at the moment there is no distinction. Very recommendable for a relaxed vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniela29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#17 of 87 in Montevideo
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
1,167 reviews
3.1 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
#22 of 87 in Montevideo
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punta Trouville Hotel
Punta Trouville Hotel
#48 of 87 in Montevideo
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage Hotel

Address: Juan Benito Blanco 783, Montevideo 11304, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: £41 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ermitage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing