We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach”
Review of Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Got a last minute booking at what seemed a very reasonable price for a 4-star hotel. On arrival, soon realised it was 3-star at best! Highlight of the stay was the arrival of a large cockroach in the bathroom - asking for someone to remove it, a lady arrived with a bottle of spray which didn't spray and proceeded to squash the cockroach, with one of our shoes!!
She (actually!) did say it was unusual to find a cockroach in a room, as they were usually found in the cafeteria!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Csda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was the prettiest hotel we stayed in in South America.

The lobby is pleasant and inviting, the room was large and attractive with dark wood details, and of course the bathroom was also nice. I appreciated being able to take a nice long, hot bath! It was all very charming.

The front desk staff were very helpful with getting us taxis and recommending city tours.

It's maybe 100 yards from the beach, in the quiet, residential neighbourhood of Pocitos. It's a quick taxi ride along the attractive beachside road to get to the downtown and the Ciudad Vieja. We walked around trying to find a nice place to eat, and ended up finding a hidden gem: this amazing chovito place just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank echox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed at the Ermitage with a group of about 90. It was a pleasant stay.
Staff was efficient & friendly. Our room was very nice, it was upgraded.
Liked being near the river & a variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARNCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at the Ermitage for 2 nights in May 2011 at the end of our trip to Uruguay. We booked through Reservas.com as this was cheaper than booking directly through the hotel.

The hotel is located in Pocitos just behind a park on the Rambla in a very busy section of the coast (in comparison to Carrasco - see also my review of the Pedro Figari).

We had a room on the 4th floor with a view out to the Rambla. In the room there was a tv, fridge, etc. Bathroom was nice and had a tub.
Friendly staff.
Breakfast was included in the rate and was very good.
Free internet near reception.

Hotel within walking distance to a few restaurants and about half an hour to Punta Carretas shopping mall and a bit longer to Parque Rodo where we went to the markets on Sunday morning. Markets were good but the water in the little lake where the paddle boats were, was scummy and smelly.

If wanting a place to stay that is close to the airport I recommend the Carrasco area instead where it is closer and the road seems to be less busy.

Overall, the Ermitage is a nice place to stay, but for us we would have preferred a quieter area, so we would probably not stay here again. We chose this hotel as we had thought of going to a meeting that was in the area plus as we are considering living in Uruguay we thought it better to experience a couple of different areas in Montevideo.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed there in June, 2011 and I have nothing to complain about.
The service was great and people working there were very kind and helpful in calling cabs or giving tips about Montevideo.
My room was simple but clean. Oh, and the mattress was perfect! :)
I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

An EXCELLENT choice in a quieter Rresidential area out of the fray of Downtown Montevideo ,which is ten minutes ride from the hotel. Bus # DM1 from the airport stops a few blocks away N.- West of hotel . and takes 40 minutes .Taxis frrom airport is around 500 Pesos US$25). Location to river walk, beach, and banks, close to nice restaurants, located opposite a taxi stand and bus stop was a plus. The reception staff were friendly , efficient and spoke good English. Rooms were spacious and even recieved an up grade with balcony and sea view at no extra cost. Buffet-breakfast was excellent .... 2 free internet computers and wireless available in the lobby. . Room,s are cute and clean, good AC, and a well-arranged tile/marble bathroom. I would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarielaMontevideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Good solid hotel. Good sized clean rooms. Pocitos is a great area - many restaurants, shopping and a beach. The staff were very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and getting futbol tickets. Nice breakfast buffet. Had to leave early in the morning and they opened the buffet early so we could eat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Punta Trouville Hotel
Punta Trouville Hotel
#49 of 87 in Montevideo
660 reviews
0 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#18 of 87 in Montevideo
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#26 of 87 in Montevideo
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
1,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
870 reviews
1.2 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#14 of 87 in Montevideo
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage Hotel

Address: Juan Benito Blanco 783, Montevideo 11304, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ermitage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing