We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to stay in Montevideo”
Review of Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a good place to stay in Montevideo”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have travelled to Punta del Este with my son, but decided to stay one night in Montevideo, this hotel was recommended by my brother as a good place to stay, just a few blocks from the sea. we hade a nice view over the sea. Although rooms are quite small and the furniture are and looks old, it is very well located Breakfast was very good, buffet style. Staff nice and helpfull, they recommended us a good restaurant for dinner just a few blocks away. They have to improve wi fi coverage in rooms.

They have an underground parking and price is more then correct for Uruguay.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    410
    106
    11
    6
See reviews for
189
337
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel is located in Pocitos, a safe and enjoyable area. The structure is ok, with good breakfast and comfortable rooms (standard but a bit tired). The staff was helpful and gave us good advices on restaurants, services and tourism in Montevideo. Average WIFI in the rooms, but ok in common areas, with two computers.
I would reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindale, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is in a great locations, but it is little be old, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are small, It has many good restaurants, and Molls, The ares is very safe, you can see the River La Plata, the breakfast is good

Room Tip: Some rooms smell like humidity
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viviana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The location was important for me, and this was excellent.
This is an older, a bit tired hotel. Rooms are old, and as for comfort, bordering on marginal.
The breakfast dining area is a bit institutional, large, many tables, for Latin America, a below average buffet.
If you want to spend time in your hotel, I'd probably not recommend.
Very friendly staff, and taking walks is very pleasant.
A little pricey for the quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Having stayed in the hotel 15 years ago i decided to try it again based on the fancy photos of the reception etc. However the rooms and dining room / breakfast have not changed in the time since i last stayed there. A shame really but at the end of the day $80 for plenty of hot water, clean crisp bedsheets and a basic breakfast in the centre of a capital city isn't such a bad deal.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lift shaft and probably better to opt for one with the river view rather th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel has a great location in Pocitos in Montevideo. An area that is home now to many new and charming boutique hotels. Unfortunately The Ermitage hasn't kept up.

The Good- Excellent water pressure and nicely hot water in the tub shower.
The Bad- the tub stopper doesn't hold in the water so the good tub is useless. That and the fixed glass shower enclosure means you have to step into the tub to tun on the water, and if it was left on the shower and not the tub spout you are going to get very wet turning it on.

The Good- Room has a large mini fridge with some drinks. It can easily hold things you buy outside.
The Bad- fridge was very noisy and woke us repeatedly during the night as it cycled. It is not in a cabinet or closet to muffle the sound.

The Good- room has newer split a/c system with remote controls. These are quite common down here.
The Bad- unit was undersized and at the highest setting could not heat the room.
It was also noisy so if the fridge was quiet the A/c wasn't.

Service- mostly bad. Called down to the front desk at about 10 or 10:30 to ask for more pillows and blankets. Pillows are small and the one blanket thin (unlike other hotels in the area there were no spares in the closet. Was told they did not have access to the pillows or blankets but I could get them in the morning. Obviously they not realize the purpose of the hotel is too sleep?

The Good- Hotel has a garage which is additional
The Bad- they charge more than double what the hotel I stayed in last week (just down the street) charged.

Breakfast
The Good- actually quite good. Eggs and mini sausages, very good JD fresh selection of breads, rolls and pastry. Good coffee. Not a huge selection of things but all things provided were good.
The Bad- big sign on every table about how you must consume the breakfast in he salon. After the terrible nights sleep wanted to bring my wife some coffee and breakfast in bed but wasn't allowed.

General rundown condition of the hotel, the cheesy bedspread ( you know those things that rarely get washed and studies have shown to be totally germ infested and covered in bodily fluids?) chipped paint, furniture etc. shows this place is just not cared about by the owner or the staff.

I had been wanting to try The Ermitage for it's location, got it at a good price but will not come back for any money at this point. 4 stars is joke. Barely 2 stars.. Very sad as this place could be quite nice...

Room Tip: Ask for extra blankets and pillows early or when you reserve. Get a water view room as that is all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank US_Expat91364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

In October 2012 I wrote positive a review of this hotel . Now I must rectify . The Front Desk Manager - Manuel Fernandez , if I remember rightly --is the rudest and most unpleasant employee I have met in many years . He virtually insulted my wife during a interchange of opinion on a early check in . The Hotel was nearly empty and he still wanted to charge for an early check in , on a Sunday , at about nine in the morning ! Added to which the heating broke down in our room on a freezing cold night . Despite the fact that the machine was broken they did not suggest a room change till the following day ! By which time we had spent a night freezing ! Added to which a piece of the shower control fell off when touched ! The only good thing was the breakfast , if one excludes dry and tasteless scrambled eggs !
Last time I recommended this hotel , never again !

Room Tip: Make sure you do not deal with the Front Desk Manager . Most unpleasant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#19 of 86 in Montevideo
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
#22 of 86 in Montevideo
808 reviews
1.2 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#12 of 86 in Montevideo
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#20 of 86 in Montevideo
1,127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#34 of 86 in Montevideo
689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#13 of 86 in Montevideo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage Hotel

Property: Ermitage Hotel
Address: Juan Benito Blanco 783, Montevideo 11304, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ermitage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Hotel Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing