We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
My Suites(Montevideo)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Don Boutique Hotel(Montevideo)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ermitage Hotel(Montevideo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
245
251
64
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
251
64
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge balconyamazing balconygreat locationold cityciudad viejahistoric charmbudget hoteltop floorrecommend hotelcharming hotelthe main pedestrian streetpriced hotelwalking streetstaff are extremely helpfulantique furnituresmall fridgeexcellent option
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and could not have been happier.

Great value rooms in a fantastic location right next to the old city. The room we had (66) had a great balcony, fridge, great bathroom, fan, air-con and cable TV. The staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are like something from the old world. The hotel is immaculately clean and you feel like you have stepped back in time. Bags of charm and character.

Highly recommended - stay here if you are in Montevideo!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Everyone who works at the Hotel Palacio is extremely helpful. Location is excellent. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast isn't served, but there are many options within two minutes of the front door. For those not wanting to spend the money for a taxi to or from the airport, ask for information about public transport connections. Hotel Palacio offers budget travelers a terrific base in a city that has a dearth of good, economical accommodation.

Room Tip: Aside from the top floor rooms, which offer travelers a balcony, all rooms are of a similar standard.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glynnhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a quick trip to Montevideo on the Buquebus ferry from Buenos Aires. The staff was very friendly. They take credit cards. I made my reservation on line. And while walking around I compared rates with other hotels nearby. And at $42 a night I felt I had gotten a good deal at Hotel Palacio. A whole lot better than the hotels I stayed in Buenos Aires for the same rate. Dont' miss out on lunch at El Mercado del Puerto for authentic meat on the grill.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just back from 2 days here. We were 3 travelling, and had a double room, with a single room adjoining it, shared bathroom between the two rooms. Large balcony, cable tv, big bathroom. Location is excellent, with lots of eateries within walking distance. People at the hotel were just lovely, with lots of help when required. Would definitely stay again. Noise was a factor as there was an outdoor stage with live band down one of the nearby streets, but guess this doesn't happen all the time. Double room was a bit cramped for the two of us, but the single one was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STELLA08Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was our second stay in this hotel . First trip was in April 2011 and booked the top room with a big balcony overlooking partly the Plaza Indepencia. The staff is very friendly and the room is clean comparing to same $$ hotels in Uruguay.It was the end of our trip and had a rental car which needed to be parked 1 block down the street for $6/night(cheap) . It gave us security that it would still be there the next day. It is simply unsafe to wander in the dark /empty streets at night. The nightlife starts around midnight and if you have a streetside room you will be reminded. The party last till 9 in the morning which gives you the choice of being up all night or joining the party outside the front door . We still liked this hotel for the convenience of its location to shops, bars and restaurants . We will definitely come again .

Room Tip: Get the top floor rooms with a huge balcony and perfect view.Prefer the east side ( not street ) for less noise .
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews