We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palacio
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
My Suites(Montevideo)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Punta Trouville Hotel(Montevideo)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AXSUR Design Hotel(Montevideo)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Boutique Hotel(Montevideo)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
240
250
64
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
250
64
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge balconyamazing balconyold towngreat locationciudad viejahistoric charmtop floorreal characterrecommend hotelcharming hotelwalking streetthe main pedestrian streetpriced hotelbudget hotelroom keyantique furnituresmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As a young professional who isn't in love with hostels but can't shell out tons of money for hotel stays, this awesome and awesomely clean hotel conveniently located in downtown Montevideo was the perfect fit for my recent two night stay. The place is extremely clean and has a welcoming and helpful staff who are always present and ready with bus advice and a homemade map when you check-in. Palacio has all the basics: comfy bedding, cable TV, your own bathroom, and unique vintage furnishings. The price is a great deal, so adjust your expectations appropriately in terms of any luxurious perks or special services, and you'll be fine. If you are looking for a solid hotel that affords you privacy, security, location, and basic comforts you came to the right place. As others have noted, urban noise at night can be an issue. I only had a problem for one of the nights of my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthroviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Good location.
Negative: There's a night club directly across the street from the Hotel that closes around dawn. Loud, boisterous, drunken locals carry on throughout the nite. Get a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Get as far from the street as possible.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Not sure who is ranking this as the best hotel in Montevideo. I don't mean to disrespect the Palacio, the staff there, like most Uruguayans, are very sweet people. But I want to add a little balance in the reviews and give you a realistic view of what this is. The great ratings are probably due to the price, which is great. Our room had a large balcony, those balcony rooms are on the 5th and 6th floors, you will need to ask for them when you get there. It was never noisy on the top levels, except for the continual sound of the ancient lift, and maid service was done every day. But this is an old hotel, funky, we would say in the US. Our room, a bigger one, was very cramped, the bed old and a bit saggy. Impossible to get to the closet without standing on the bed, that kind of small. There was a wonderful old claw foot bathtub, and once we figured out the fickle water taps, we tried to take a bath. Not enough hot water for a deep one, but still it felt good after a long trip. But when we pulled the plug, the whole bathroom flooded. We found out that you weren't really supposed to use the great tub, or if you did, you needed to slip something under the plug so the water ran out just so. The staff very quickly cleaned up the mess, to their credit. The staff does not speak English, no problem for me, but if it is for you, you might think about that. They really are lovely people, the hotel is located right smack in the center of Ciudad Vieja, so it is not terrible, and for the price - great, because, be warned, Uruguay is expensive. But to say this is the number 1 hotel in Montevideo is to base it against other cheap hotels - it may be the best thing for the money, that easily be could be true. But if you think you are staying in the best hotel in Montevideo for real, the Palacio will make you think Uruguay is a third world country, which it is certainly not. Stay here if you are really trying to travel on a budget, but if you are on a long awaited vacation and like a modicum of modern convenience in your city hotels - do more research.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the 5th or 6th floor with balconies, get away from the street noise and add some space to your room that way.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jmanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

So, Uruguay turned out to be an expensive country, even though we live in Santiago (which is expensive for Latinamerica standards), and this hotel has the lowest prices in town.
We arrived at this old tiny well located hotel in mid day Sept 2012. We were received by a very nice and polite old men who showed us our room. As it was on a second floor, we asked if there was another empty room, as we didn't want to catch the noise early from our window. We finally got one in the fourth floor and it was perfect! First of all, the rooms are not that big but they are OK if you are looking for location, price and cleanliness. You must expect also to find a very old fashioned room (the place is old itself) and that smell that reminds you of your grandparent's furniture.
The bathroom was very big and neat, so were the bed and the place. If you are looking for a big TV in the bedroom you should look somewhere else...the TV mas pretty small, however you got to watch a lot of foreign channels with great signal.
The price doesn't include breakfast but you have nice places around to eat.
We were very pleased at Hotel Palacio for our last stop in Uruguay. Thanks for the hospitality and the nicest people around!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room in a high floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pieri_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I am winding up a 2 week stay here and have really enjoyed it. There is a personal touch that is not available at almost all the hotels I have stayed at before this trip...all over the world, It is funky so if you are looking for luxury, this ain't the place. But it is clean, the beds are fine, everything works and it is conveniently located. Buses from Plaza de Independencia are amazingly plentiful to go about anywhere. They run frequently and efficiently( don't linger getting on or off).

There is a bit of noise at night particularly on lower floors but it didn't bother me.

I have no reservations about staying at Palacio and fully intend to do so again.

Room Tip: The best views are on the 6th floor but there are only two rooms on that floor. Both have large balconies and since there aren't a lot of tall buildings you can see a lot.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews