We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Nice hotel located in the old renovated building in the old city center. Good clean room and very friendly staff. Unfortunately anybody speaks English and breakfast is not included. It's possible to get the breakfast in the hotel across the street with very nice veiw from the roof terasse on the city. Payment by credit card is possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    240
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
267
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Affordable meaning cheap hotel. These great review are all based on price alone. Tiny room crowded but clean – old school faucet – hot and cold from different faucets and shower was difficult to manuver– no AC or screens on windows if concerned about mosquitos; overhead fan worked good. Bed was comfortable but sinking a little. The hotel is old. The elevator is charming but that's where it ends. I guess we should have pushed harder for the top floor room.
Friendly front desk but absoletly no English so not that helpful unless you speak some spanish. They will give you a photo copy mad that is difficult to read. We got a much better one from the concierge at the Raddison just a couple blocks away.
Hotel has a good location on pedestrian walkway and one block from the Independence plaza. Very close to restaurants and bars.
Do not eat at Fun fun Tango, go only for the drinks, if you are not in the main room you will not be able to see the show.
We visited for a weekend from Buenos Aires. If I were going to do it again I would not have stayed the weekend in Montevideo but would have chosen another location. Monevideo has seen better days.

Room Tip: I hear that you want to push for the top floor. We did not get it but ran into someone else that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As a young professional who isn't in love with hostels but can't shell out tons of money for hotel stays, this awesome and awesomely clean hotel conveniently located in downtown Montevideo was the perfect fit for my recent two night stay. The place is extremely clean and has a welcoming and helpful staff who are always present and ready with bus advice and a homemade map when you check-in. Palacio has all the basics: comfy bedding, cable TV, your own bathroom, and unique vintage furnishings. The price is a great deal, so adjust your expectations appropriately in terms of any luxurious perks or special services, and you'll be fine. If you are looking for a solid hotel that affords you privacy, security, location, and basic comforts you came to the right place. As others have noted, urban noise at night can be an issue. I only had a problem for one of the nights of my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthroviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Good location.
Negative: There's a night club directly across the street from the Hotel that closes around dawn. Loud, boisterous, drunken locals carry on throughout the nite. Get a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Get as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Not sure who is ranking this as the best hotel in Montevideo. I don't mean to disrespect the Palacio, the staff there, like most Uruguayans, are very sweet people. But I want to add a little balance in the reviews and give you a realistic view of what this is. The great ratings are probably due to the price, which is great. Our room had a large balcony, those balcony rooms are on the 5th and 6th floors, you will need to ask for them when you get there. It was never noisy on the top levels, except for the continual sound of the ancient lift, and maid service was done every day. But this is an old hotel, funky, we would say in the US. Our room, a bigger one, was very cramped, the bed old and a bit saggy. Impossible to get to the closet without standing on the bed, that kind of small. There was a wonderful old claw foot bathtub, and once we figured out the fickle water taps, we tried to take a bath. Not enough hot water for a deep one, but still it felt good after a long trip. But when we pulled the plug, the whole bathroom flooded. We found out that you weren't really supposed to use the great tub, or if you did, you needed to slip something under the plug so the water ran out just so. The staff very quickly cleaned up the mess, to their credit. The staff does not speak English, no problem for me, but if it is for you, you might think about that. They really are lovely people, the hotel is located right smack in the center of Ciudad Vieja, so it is not terrible, and for the price - great, because, be warned, Uruguay is expensive. But to say this is the number 1 hotel in Montevideo is to base it against other cheap hotels - it may be the best thing for the money, that easily be could be true. But if you think you are staying in the best hotel in Montevideo for real, the Palacio will make you think Uruguay is a third world country, which it is certainly not. Stay here if you are really trying to travel on a budget, but if you are on a long awaited vacation and like a modicum of modern convenience in your city hotels - do more research.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the 5th or 6th floor with balconies, get away from the street noise and add some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jmanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima Region, Peru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

So, Uruguay turned out to be an expensive country, even though we live in Santiago (which is expensive for Latinamerica standards), and this hotel has the lowest prices in town.
We arrived at this old tiny well located hotel in mid day Sept 2012. We were received by a very nice and polite old men who showed us our room. As it was on a second floor, we asked if there was another empty room, as we didn't want to catch the noise early from our window. We finally got one in the fourth floor and it was perfect! First of all, the rooms are not that big but they are OK if you are looking for location, price and cleanliness. You must expect also to find a very old fashioned room (the place is old itself) and that smell that reminds you of your grandparent's furniture.
The bathroom was very big and neat, so were the bed and the place. If you are looking for a big TV in the bedroom you should look somewhere else...the TV mas pretty small, however you got to watch a lot of foreign channels with great signal.
The price doesn't include breakfast but you have nice places around to eat.
We were very pleased at Hotel Palacio for our last stop in Uruguay. Thanks for the hospitality and the nicest people around!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room in a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pieri_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I am winding up a 2 week stay here and have really enjoyed it. There is a personal touch that is not available at almost all the hotels I have stayed at before this trip...all over the world, It is funky so if you are looking for luxury, this ain't the place. But it is clean, the beds are fine, everything works and it is conveniently located. Buses from Plaza de Independencia are amazingly plentiful to go about anywhere. They run frequently and efficiently( don't linger getting on or off).

There is a bit of noise at night particularly on lower floors but it didn't bother me.

I have no reservations about staying at Palacio and fully intend to do so again.

Room Tip: The best views are on the 6th floor but there are only two rooms on that floor. Both have large balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#60 of 87 in Montevideo
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#34 of 87 in Montevideo
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing