We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$30
PricelineUS$30
CheapTicketsUS$30
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
281
272
68
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
281
272
68
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great location antique furniture small balcony facing the street elevator plaza floor city fernando uruguay architecture mvd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Situated in old city area, adjacent to walking street, excellent!! Our 6th floor room had large balcony overlooking the city and sea on both sides. Lovely spot for a drink in setting sun. Room clean , not large but adequate. Bathroom fine. Although the lift is old fashioned it is clean and quick ,never had to wait. No breakfast,but coffee continuously available. Staff very friendly and helpful. Altogether an outstanding hotel,especially for the price. I can afford a 5 star hotel but prefer a place like this.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnlW4859TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel has a perfect location, all walking distance from the old city and markets. The staff was nice and friendly. The room was clean and with a big bathroom. If i go back to Montevideo, i will stay there once again.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This hotel has one of the best locations in town. ! block from Plaza San Martin, 2 blocks from the Canadian Embassy 3 blocks from Palacio Salvia, 1 block from the original city hall and a short walk from the Port of Montevideo. The original elevator is worth the price of admission alone in this hotel. The two best rooms are 66 & 68, the only ones on the top floor. Huge bathrooms and enormous balconies. Be careful of which you book however as one faces east and the other west. The west balcony could be pretty warm on a sunny day but has the better view. The staff have a limited supply of English but are very friendly and as helpful as they can be. This is by no stretch of the imagination a new hotel. It is clean and lovingly cared for and very excellent value. We would certainly stay there again. A word of caution when visiting Montevideo. If you are there on a Sunday make sure you know where you are going to eat as the whole city has a "closed" sign that day. The hotel has several Trip Advisor awards and it deserves them.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dbirkmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

A wonderful heaven in the Montevideo city center. After 24h traveling from Foz Iguacu by bus via Concordia and Salto to Montevideo we were impressed by the highly appreciated welcoming. Spotless tiny rooms, the friendly owners and personnel and the style of the good old Montevideo times make the house a charming heaven. And the price is reasonable. No breakfast, but Cafe Brasileiro is an excellent option nearby.

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank JoergS232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

A great little hotel. Alejandro and his colleagues were extremely polite and friendly. They were more than happy to give their time and help for any question we had and any question they thought we might have.

It's an old hotel, so it's a little worn around the edges in places, but that makes it so much more interesting than your boring clinical modern hotel. The antique working lift is worth the money alone.

The mattress however was new and we wished we could take it home. Worth getting one of the rooms with a balcony if you can. Recommend the place highly to anyone staying a few nights in the town.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler200001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews