We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Great owners that make you feel very special! it's a small restaurant only open 2 nights a week, and you can bring your own wine! The food is excellent, the menu is small and that means the chef masters all the courses perfectly! thanks for a great evening !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrineh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    47
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We went here for dinner to celebrate an awesome couples renewal of there vows, it was just a perfect intimate setting with 16 of us. The staff were most pleasant and PATIENT and helpul, which really helps. The food was all very delicious and I was served mine a little earlier (as requested) as I am an extremely slow eater, they were happily accomodating.
I would highly recommend this place!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing ,,Had our wedding dinner here”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is not just my thoughts all our wedding guests raved about the meal the service and our lovely hosts..
We booked out the entire place, 16 guests in total and we were all treated like kings ... what a lovely place to share a special time with friends and family ,,with an ever changing menu ,only whats fresh on the day ,, I find it hard to put into words just how helpful our hosts were how amazing the meal was and at such an affordable price ,, this place is a MUST DO on your holiday.. Did I mention its BYO so grab a great bottle of wine and treat yourself ..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another superb meal”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Have been here before and standard of food is just excellent - the restaurant opens only two nights per week Saturday and Sundy and they take up to 20 people only. The owners who do the cooking say that they love doing this 2 nights a week and if they did every night, then it would be a chore rather than the enjoyable experience they have of cooking and serving good food. The Restaurnat is perched above Blackrock with great views and they do have a small selection of food 5-6 starters 6 mains and 3 dessert choices - but options cover all tastes with Fish Chicken Steak Venison. They really do care about what they do and it is evicent in the food and presentation. Pricing is good and better than many other restaurants and you can bring your own wine - there is a limited selection available on site. You do need reserve in advance as space is limited and it is very popular with locals as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppaHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A few little added touches would improve”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

tempted by some good reviews we thought this place was worth a try. pleasant host and lovely setting. small menu selection and the only entree that appealed - thai beef salad was ruled out by the predominance of meat in the main courses. so we both had steak main - available with two different sauces. these were cooked well enough but at $36 up there in price for the island.
little things can make a big difference - with so much meat on the menu then steak knives would have been expected. With only 8 tables surely a pepper grinder and a little shell with salt would not be hard ? instead we get sugar bowls with cafe style salt and pepper in little packets. At these prices, thats just tacky.
with a bit more imagination with the food and care with overall presentation would have got a better rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotice26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing