We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot overlooking the Lagoon, and great drinks prices!”
Review of Hula Bar

Hula Bar
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Description: The HULA BAR is Rarotonga's iconic all-day everyday happy hour bar featuring international-brand beers, spirits, wines, and soft drinks priced at NZD3.50 each. Located on the waters edge, this watering hole offers absolute beachfront views of the Pacific Ocean - ideal for whale watching from Jun-Oct; cafe style food is available from 11am to 10pm daily. At 9pm, the party starts with a live band & dj through to 11.30pm.
Restaurant details
Description: The HULA BAR is Rarotonga's iconic all-day everyday happy hour bar featuring international-brand beers, spirits, wines, and soft drinks priced at NZD3.50 each. Located on the waters edge, this watering hole offers absolute beachfront views of the Pacific Ocean - ideal for whale watching from Jun-Oct; cafe style food is available from 11am to 10pm daily. At 9pm, the party starts with a live band & dj through to 11.30pm.
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Nice clean, open area, under shade and out in the open, with plenty of breezes, music going, overlooking the Lagoon. AND the prices are superb! With the large hotel restaurant just next door (with a large menu), you can certainly eat, drink and be merry here. As the hotel (and the Hula Bar) are across the road from the airport, it's also good for last drinks after you've put your luggage through (and waiting for your flight in much cooler and nicer surrounds).

Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at Hula Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your drinks and meals with us before departure. We hope to see you again.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016

All day happy hour, with $3.50 drinks got us in the door. We went back to that outdoor bar a few times, and also ate at the adjoining restaurant.

A great place to refresh when you are on your way to somewhere.

Thank mrsBuckls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at Hula Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to made it to the outdoor bar on several occasions.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Located directly opposite the airport this was a perfect location for dinner before catching our late night plane departing at 10pm. We had the buffet during the cultural show which was a fantastic spread of Island fare and it tasted delicious

Thank Enid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at Hula Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your island night buffet featuring Rarotonga delicacies with live music by Natua and Katrina; followed by a dynamic cultural show. We hope you had a safe flight home.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

At $3.50 for a beer we thought it was pretty good.
Sit outside under an umbrella or in the Islander Hotel........either way the views are lovely, service great and all very friendly.

Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at Hula Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. Our Hula Bar is hugely popular with our local people and visitors who have caught on about the best value drinks in town. The new Hula Bar has just opened with beer on tap, 8 barman stations ready for busy nights. $3.50 international branded drinks all day, all night, Mon to Sun.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

we did not like the atmosphere. Seems like they cater to the masses, beer and burger loving crowd. Not our cup of tea.

Thank GS3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at Hula Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. The Hula Bar is designed for local Cook Islanders, and visitors are welcome to join in on the fun as well. There are many other 'quieter' places to have a drink around the island. I hope you had a great time in the Cook Islands.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hula Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Hula Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing