We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muri Shell Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avarua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muri Shell Bungalows
Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Such gorgeous bungelows, gardens are so lovely and bungelows have everything you need. Felt like home, nice to be able to cook your own meals on bbq and store food in fridge, cut cost alot from eating out. Terry (host) had great knowledge about the cook islands, which was very interesting hearing the history. Terry and Eric were such lovely people to have around, very accomodating. Made some great friends. Also just a small walk from the most beautiful beach, lovely lagoon to swim in. Everything needed - telecom shop, scotted hireage, supermarkets all within walking distance. Would highly recommend. Thank you for such a memorable trip. :)Eammon and Rose Paulger

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eammon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Forget about the resorts, this is the best place for Value, Service, Local knowledge, location and friendliness in Rarotonga. Terry Lambert, Louisa Stace and the team made it such a memorable stay and I would recommend this place to anyone on holiday or in "kick back" mode either on your own or with family and friends. The rooms are very clean, stocked up with your necessities and any requirements for a self-contained unit. Terry and Louisa made me feel so welcomed from the time that I arrived (after 1am with a really cute and personal welcome note on my bungalow door!) to the time I departed. Muri Village is so vibrant and you have the best beach on the island with a less than 30 seconds stroll down the pathway from your bungalow down to Muri beach. If you need a taxi call Louisa Stace and Areiti Taxis for service with a smile who are situated next door! Te Varanui and the Muri Sailing Club is just down the road for your entertainment. They are really cool! Westpac and ANZ money machines, shops and stores are just down the road. I'm looking at returning to Rarotonga next year and booking some bungalows for family members. I travelled alone while attending the Vaea Family Reunion in Muri but I won't be returning alone - that's for sure! Don't delay, book today. Many thanks to Terry Lambert and Family and Louisa Stace.

Room Tip: For fitness , try aqua jogging to Koromiri Island and back when it's low tide. Fitness Centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosa19662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent two weeks at the Muri Shell Bungalow on Rarotonga in Sept 2013. Everything about our stay was excellent. Tina (the owner) arranged our airport transportation. A van was waiting for us as promised. When we arrived at the bungalow, we were met by Terry and his dog Yapsalot. He showed us around the property and gave us a quick overview of the town and island.

Muri Beach is a great place to stay. The beach is a short 3 minute walk from the bungalow. There are better places to snorkel on the island, but I think this is the best place to stay. There are plenty of restaurants that you can walk to in 10 minutes or less. You can rent almost any kind of water equipment on the beach (kayak, stand up paddleboard, kite surfer, sailboat, snorkel equipment, etc...). The beach is clean and uncrowded (compared to what I'm used to). There are several scooter and car rental agencies to choose from.

There is a brewery (Matutu) about 2 miles from Muri Beach. The beer was surprisingly good.

Yapsalot (Terry's dog) was a regular visitor to our porch. She's a happy, playful and affectionate dog. The easiest way to describe her is a cross between a German shepherd and a Vietnamese pot bellied pig.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smagnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were warmly welcomed at 6 in the morning by Terry who was so friendly and made us feel right at home. The bungalow was spacious and clean and met all of our needs - perfect location and the beach just down the driveway. We really felt at home here, and Terry and Eric, and Yappy the dog-(who was our favorite porch companion) will always remain a fond memory for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I booked tickets to Rarotonga for our 15th anniversary and had the great pleasure of spending a week at Muri Shell. Terry was incredibly helpful and the bungalows were in a perfect location with easy access to the beach, bus and local restaurants.

The fact that there is free Wifi fed my wife's Facebook addiction (ok, and mine too). We still talk about our time in Raro, and one day will get back there and maybe bring the kids along (or not :))

If you are coming from Australia or NZ, consider bringing food, particularly meat, with you as it is generally imported, anyway, so is very expensive. Get the local fruits and veges, tho - they are fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJF00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna, Sodermanlands Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Best place to stay. Only a few minutes walk down to Muri beach. The owner Terry takes good care of you and help you with everything. I have stayed here two times now and will be back. So lovely to eat breakfast in the beautiful garden. Everything you need for stay in the Paradise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We loved it and will be back for sure. The property is looked after with great care and a personal touch. It is situated very close to the beautiful Muri lagoon and provides everything one needs in Raro.

Terry, the owner, is a legend, he knows so much about history, the island and its people. All his stories and snippets were interesting and we would sometimes listen in amazement.

Meitaki
Andy and family

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 655andyk655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aremango Guesthouse
Aremango Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 18 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Shell Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Shell Bungalows

Property: Muri Shell Bungalows
Address: Muri Beach | Box 245, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 fully self contained studio bungalows and 1 one-bedroom flat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muri Shell Bungalows Hotel Avarua
Muri Shell Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing