We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in Muri Beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avarua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muri Shell Bungalows
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved our stay here at the villa. The location was amazing- with the bungalows located between 2 of the bigger resorts on muri beach (next door to the pacific resort). Excellent value for money and although the bungalow is not beach front, it is only a short 3-5 minute stroll down the laneway to the best part of Muri Beach. The bungalow was clean and comfortable with good kitchen supplies for self catering (and cooking our deep sea fish we caught!). We would definitely recommend to stay here.

Our only recommendation would be to change the vertical blinds on the sliding glass doors (maybe to a curtain) as we felt quite "exposed" at night time to the neighbours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrKMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Such gorgeous bungelows, gardens are so lovely and bungelows have everything you need. Felt like home, nice to be able to cook your own meals on bbq and store food in fridge, cut cost alot from eating out. Terry (host) had great knowledge about the cook islands, which was very interesting hearing the history. Terry and Eric were such lovely people to have around, very accomodating. Made some great friends. Also just a small walk from the most beautiful beach, lovely lagoon to swim in. Everything needed - telecom shop, scotted hireage, supermarkets all within walking distance. Would highly recommend. Thank you for such a memorable trip. :)Eammon and Rose Paulger

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eammon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Forget about the resorts, this is the best place for Value, Service, Local knowledge, location and friendliness in Rarotonga. Terry Lambert, Louisa Stace and the team made it such a memorable stay and I would recommend this place to anyone on holiday or in "kick back" mode either on your own or with family and friends. The rooms are very clean, stocked up with your necessities and any requirements for a self-contained unit. Terry and Louisa made me feel so welcomed from the time that I arrived (after 1am with a really cute and personal welcome note on my bungalow door!) to the time I departed. Muri Village is so vibrant and you have the best beach on the island with a less than 30 seconds stroll down the pathway from your bungalow down to Muri beach. If you need a taxi call Louisa Stace and Areiti Taxis for service with a smile who are situated next door! Te Varanui and the Muri Sailing Club is just down the road for your entertainment. They are really cool! Westpac and ANZ money machines, shops and stores are just down the road. I'm looking at returning to Rarotonga next year and booking some bungalows for family members. I travelled alone while attending the Vaea Family Reunion in Muri but I won't be returning alone - that's for sure! Don't delay, book today. Many thanks to Terry Lambert and Family and Louisa Stace.

Room Tip: For fitness , try aqua jogging to Koromiri Island and back when it's low tide. Fitness Centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosa19662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent two weeks at the Muri Shell Bungalow on Rarotonga in Sept 2013. Everything about our stay was excellent. Tina (the owner) arranged our airport transportation. A van was waiting for us as promised. When we arrived at the bungalow, we were met by Terry and his dog Yapsalot. He showed us around the property and gave us a quick overview of the town and island.

Muri Beach is a great place to stay. The beach is a short 3 minute walk from the bungalow. There are better places to snorkel on the island, but I think this is the best place to stay. There are plenty of restaurants that you can walk to in 10 minutes or less. You can rent almost any kind of water equipment on the beach (kayak, stand up paddleboard, kite surfer, sailboat, snorkel equipment, etc...). The beach is clean and uncrowded (compared to what I'm used to). There are several scooter and car rental agencies to choose from.

There is a brewery (Matutu) about 2 miles from Muri Beach. The beer was surprisingly good.

Yapsalot (Terry's dog) was a regular visitor to our porch. She's a happy, playful and affectionate dog. The easiest way to describe her is a cross between a German shepherd and a Vietnamese pot bellied pig.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smagnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were warmly welcomed at 6 in the morning by Terry who was so friendly and made us feel right at home. The bungalow was spacious and clean and met all of our needs - perfect location and the beach just down the driveway. We really felt at home here, and Terry and Eric, and Yappy the dog-(who was our favorite porch companion) will always remain a fond memory for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I booked tickets to Rarotonga for our 15th anniversary and had the great pleasure of spending a week at Muri Shell. Terry was incredibly helpful and the bungalows were in a perfect location with easy access to the beach, bus and local restaurants.

The fact that there is free Wifi fed my wife's Facebook addiction (ok, and mine too). We still talk about our time in Raro, and one day will get back there and maybe bring the kids along (or not :))

If you are coming from Australia or NZ, consider bringing food, particularly meat, with you as it is generally imported, anyway, so is very expensive. Get the local fruits and veges, tho - they are fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJF00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Best place to stay. Only a few minutes walk down to Muri beach. The owner Terry takes good care of you and help you with everything. I have stayed here two times now and will be back. So lovely to eat breakfast in the beautiful garden. Everything you need for stay in the Paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muri Beach Resort
Muri Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Muri
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Ikurangi Eco Retreat
#1 of 2 in Matavera
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Shell Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Shell Bungalows

Address: Muri Beach | Box 245, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Avarua
Price Range: £53 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Fully Self Contained Studio Bungalows And 1 One-bedroom Flat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muri Shell Bungalows Hotel Avarua
Muri Shell Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing