We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Asian food in Rarotonga”
Review of Bamboo Jacks

Bamboo Jacks
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Avarua
Price range: US$15 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Authentic Asian cuisine served in a spacious modern restaurant. Enjoy your dining experience seated in our comfortable booths or indoor & outdoor dining within an exotic asian garden. Bamboo Jacks has a VIP room for dinner, buffet, meetings, hens or bucks nights seating up to 20 guests. This is an excellent space for conferences as there is wifi, computer compatible 42 inch LCD screen & white board. We offer a take away and catering service and ensure quality.
Tustin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yummy Asian food in Rarotonga”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was surprised to find an Asian food that serve vegetarian dishes. We ordered 3 dishes: pad thai, fried rice, and stir fried tofu. The taste was excellent. The only improvement I recommend is portion size. The portion of each dish is small for the price. I am not sure whether it was due to the lacking of vegetable and tofu. We were satisfied with taste but was not happy with the portion size.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbieKTustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    92
    28
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai Asian fusion”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here, great service, delicious curry puffs, dumplings and wontons. Reasonably priced, friendly staff and tasty cocktails :-)

Helpful?
Thank KielySmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“We kept going back!!!!...best Asian food in Rarotonga”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great food!...the cooks are actually from Asia....so the curry we had was the best Indonesian beef curry I have had ....the service was friendly and very capable...a very happy place ...also a very modern spotless kitchen...newly built restaurant with spotless toilets also...lovely outdoor atmosphere....also indoor tables ...I loved the maintenance of the old colonial feeling of the indoor building ceilings and windows....our waitress remembered our drinks from the days earlier...we felt welcomed and the food was so good we returned again and again....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A revelation”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a great find. Owned by Trader Jack this is a reasonably new Asian restaurant. Excellent staff, great food with the cleanest of environments we were tempted back several times. The waitress just set off the whole experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Conway10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stopped here for lunch on our way home , while waiting for our connection to Sydney.
Fabulous service from cheery ladies.
The crayfish was great, & so was the wine ... only place in Cook Islands that had my favorite. !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Jacks also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Bamboo Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing