We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sunset cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicbird Sailing - CLOSED

Tropicbird Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail with us and experience our friendly and informative introduction to Rarotonga as we chart our way around the outer reef, using the Pacific tradewinds on our classic sailing vessel, a stable 36 foot trimaran. Great views of the island - fantastic photo opportunities! Snorkel from one of our sheltered mooring points. Sea life includes huge varieties of fish, turtles and migratory humpback whales that visit Rarotonga from July to October on their route through the Cook Islands. You will be looked after by our friendly local crew who will endeavour to make your time aboard as memorable as possible! Daily Discovery lunchtime cruise and Cocktail Sundowner cruises available. Reasonably priced and great fun! Private charter available for special events; Hen parties, birthday celebrations, wedding parties etc. We can cater (cold buffets)or BYO.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great sunset cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We took the whole family out on this sunset cruise to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Great time, beautiful photo opportunties, and excellent value. Snorkelling included as well!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinPassfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Five Stars Isn't Enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had the best day with Captain Patrick! He was personable, knowledgeable, competent, and friendly. Made science on the ocean fun (the wine, snackies, and lunch didn't hurt, either)! I would absolutely recommend this boating tour for anyone who wants to get out on the water, have some fun, and even learn a little along the way. The food was excellent--none of those pre-packaged store platters for us. Mrs. Patrick is an amazing baker, too! The sailing vessel was immaculate, as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Evening Cruise, delicious food and good company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

A group of friends and my husband and I went out on the cocktail evening cruise whilst recently in Raro. Had a fantastic time, the boat had heaps of room for all of us to be comfortable on the deck area, (which was great for those of us that aren't seafaring!), fabulous food and the sunset was incredible. We had some good snorkeling and were lucky enough to see a Humpback Whale meandering down the coast.

We have been to Raro so many times over the years yet this is the first time that I have ever seen the island from the water - (getting seasick regularly tends to put me off!), but had no problems feeling dodgy, possibly because the boat is so stable and there is plenty of deck room.

Thanks heaps Beth, we will be back soon to do it again

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kaiwaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Spent a lovely day sailing with Tropicbird. Very relaxing and friendly. Great views of the island and we were lucky enough to see a whale breaching despite the windy weather and "bumpy" water! Unfortunately we couldn't do any snorkelling due to the weather conditions but we did have a nice lunch (quiche, salad, wine) sitting on the trimaran when we returned to the harbour.
You can catch the bus from anywhere on the island and ask the driver to let you off at the harbour. Definately recommend the trip.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truely wonderful trip - whales, sunset, cocktails and terrific crew - what more is there to say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a lovely sundown trip aboard the Tropicbird. Beth and Numu were delightful company and more than willing to share their knowledge of the local marine environment and of course the humpback whales. We were so fortunate to spot a couple of humpback whales and observe them closely as they surfaced on three separate occasions. After the excitement of the whales nature turned on a wonderful sunset which reflected beautifully on the scattered clouds above the island. A magic evening which will definitely be a repeat trip on our next visit to the Cook Islands.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan255346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicbird Sailing also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing