We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aremango Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Avarua B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in paradise”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A very nice spot near the beach with clean rooms on arrival (they weren't service during our 6 days stay, but we are not too fuzzy) common areas are great and we feel like home straight away, we were a group of 8 staying together and we had to standard rooms and two courtyard rooms with shower (beautiful after a day on the beach) there is a shop right next door and the beach is near by but we rented scooters so we went all around the island. The only downside was that we didn't see anyone working there for our whole stay except when they came to charge us for the room not leaving this much option to ask for advises where to go or what to do, luckily we met a guest Mason that is very regular on the island and he gave us a lot of tips. If you want a nice place to relax, feel like you are in your back yard and meet new people definitely this is a place for you, highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms with private courtyard and showers are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina E Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
79
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This place was recommended by my travel agent and we were pleasantly surprised having never stayed in a guesthouse before. Our room was plain but very clean, we had a garden room with an outdoor shower & hammock which I would recommend to anyone wanting a little privacy. The kitchen and bathroom facilities were kept clean and we never had to wait for a shower. The hosts went out of there way to be helpful. Our stay was just for four days before moving on to another island in Rarotonga. I would definately book here again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are a little more expensive but worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny310-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Aremango Guesthouse for a week and love the experience of share kitchen, share food, share stories with other travelers. Take advantage of the snorking and kayak rentals, there are worth it. Hosts got an A+

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here some days in July and August. The location is very good as it is just some meters to beautiful Muri Beach. The store next door is a little bit expensive but to come to bigger supermarkets you'll need to take the bus or rent a scooter.

They have free bicycles and snorkling equipment. Shared kitchen is big and great to meet people. Great garden with hammocks and fresh fruits. The beds are really cosy and garden rooms have a shower in the garden.

We would come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse for a week in a room with private court yard containing hammock and shower which was great after the sea swim. Brendon was very accommodating and had a good knowledge of the area. Yes, your room is not made while you're there, but we didn't care about it. As long as we had clean public amenities we were happy. Shame that the fruits in the garden weren't ready yet. We could have eaten some lovely passion fruits and paw-paw by now, but luckily there were hips of bananas and coconuts! Will recommend it for anyone looking for low cost accommodation and still great comfort.

Room Tip: room with private court yard you will not be deceived. If you can't it's ok there is still h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

It has the feel of a backpapers but with a few extras that you wouldnt expect at this price. Our room was one of the garden rooms with an outdoor shower, which was a really nice feature. The room was large and reasonably comfortable. And we liked the owners' laid back style.
Our only disappointment was that the privacy of being closed in (needed for the outdoor shower!) meant it felt like you could be anywhere and we didnt really get the sense of being near Muri Lagoon, though the beach is very close.
Other than that, we were impressed and would recommend if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calumsbigtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Aremango Guesthouse. It was clean and I really liked the garden shower. I loved bathing in the moonlight! It was an unthinkable experience! All of the travelers I met we're kind and fun to hang around. The manager, Brendan was very nice. As I like to leave my cultural ways behind me, when I travel to another country and accept the laws of the new land, which I am entering. I become a new me and enjoy the accommodations to the fullest. Additionally, I had great time riding the bikes, kayaking and use of the snorkeling gear included with my rate. It was nice being located close to the beach and shops within walking distance. was definitely worth it as my first time to the Cook Islands. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The shower room is a nice way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReNee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
551 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
212 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aremango Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aremango Guesthouse

Property: Aremango Guesthouse
Address: Muri Beach | P.O box 3115, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Muri Lagoon in Rarotonga, Aremango Guesthouse welcomes travelers, explorers and sun searches from all over the world, offering affordable comfort, warm friendly service and peaceful relaxation on our little island of paradise. The guesthouse surrounded with coconut palms, banana and mango trees, is seconds to the beach down a garden path and is in an ideal location for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aremango Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aremango Guesthouse Hotel Avarua
Aremango Guesthouse Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing