We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall: Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aremango Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Avarua B&B and Inns
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overall: Good”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

- Friendly staff: Brendon
- Clean
- In the centre of Muri
- Enough space and kitchen equipment
- Small hostel
- Stayed 2 nights
- I will be here again

Go to the beach and to the fruits of Rarotonga to snorkel!!

Go to the Saturday market in Averua, be there around 9am (it closes at 12)
Go to the Sunday market and enjoy the atmosphere and the food!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
79
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Myself and my partner have just come back from Rarotonga and booked the Aremango Guest Cottage in Muri Lagoon for our time there.

The location is fantastic being only 50m walk to the Muri Lagoon and surrounded by loads of shops and amenities.

The cottage was clean well laid out and welcoming and the manager Brendon was awesome being both approachable and helpful we really enjoyed our stay there.

On the downside, we stayed there for 9 nights and the didn't have a cleaner visit us once (we made our own trips to the laundry cupboard for clean sheets and towels) and the kitchen lacked any proper cooking equipment (not a big deal as main kitchen was 2 sec walk).

I would definitely recommend staying there either as a couple and take the cottage or as a backpacker in one of the dorms as it is amazing for both price,location and facilities offered. However I would suggest throwing all the out of date food out of the cottage (some stuff was from 2012 in the fridge and cupboards) and maybe have the cleaner visit it at least once or twice for a ten day stay or at least have cleaning stuff available for use.

That said we had a great time so thank you to Brendon and the Aremango Guest House team :)
Stevë & Lauren

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveedevonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at the Aremango Guesthouse for a week in Feb 2014 and the outside temperature climbed to 31 or 32 degrees each day.With no air-conditioning the rooms do get hot. However for value for money the place can't be beaten in my view. The rooms are spacious, there is a TV room with a decent sized modern TV, the kitchen has everything you need and the location is very good-close to numerous shops and cafes and the beach is about a 50 metre walk down the driveway.
If a lack of air conditioning is going to make or break your holiday maybe stay somewhere else.
However you do adjust to the heat and the way I look at it is ... if Nelson Mandela could survive on Robin Island in South Africa without air-conditioning for 25 years I can survive in Rarotonga without air-conditioning as well!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This place has such potential but sadly I cannot recommend it as the rooms were like a sauna. It was very difficult to sleep and I would say it was lucky to drop below 35c at night in the room and 45c during the day. They should charge an extra $5 a night and provide air con, then I would consider staying again. Apart from the fight to secure toilet paper, the cleanliness was debate able and the bathrooms were overheating with no ventilation. Small window in each was boarded up from the outside!
It's unfortunate because its in a great location in Muri Lagoon with amazing snorkeling at your doorstep, a well stocked shop next door and all that Muri has to offer within a 5min walk. The actual building is very nice with good facilities but very difficult to enjoy with the extreme heat inside. Nice garden too, well equipped kitchen although you were not able to change the gas jets on the stove so you had to watch over your cooking so it didn't burn. Mix up with my reservation which was unable to be fixed but people in the larger courtyard rooms also complained of extreme heat in their rooms.
Floor and bench spaces in common areas could do with a good clean, and add air con and ill consider staying again, otherwise better to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Procidani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We needed a base of operations between our hotel checkout at 10 am and our midnight flight. Aremango was a good choice for us, as it was reasonably priced. We found it to be clean and friendly, with more than adequate facilities, a good-sized bedroom, and a kitchen where we could refrigerate our lunch while we took off on a snorkeling expedition. We missed having AC -- we enjoyed it at the resort hotel where we spent the previous five nights -- but managed an afternoon nap despite the island's tropical climate. It was nice to be able to shower and change before setting out on our red-eye flight, and Aremango turned out to be the right choice for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Aremango guesthouse is the last left backpacker accommodation on Muri beach, but it's beautiful! There are 10 rooms with comfy beds and some of them have an outside area with an outdoor shower. The kitchen is really big and ridiculously well equipped (espresso machine!), 2 fridge with space for each room and a beautiful patio for the paradise meals. It's 3 minute walk from the beach, if you turn left you'll walk to the clear water of the lagoon and if you turn right and walk for 15 minutes you'll get to the Fruits of Rarotonga- the best snorkeling in Raro. Brendon, who manages the place is lovely and very helpful. You can use the phone to call local businesses. I highly recommend staying there!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank superkaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Aremango's. It was pretty easy to get there from the airport as the Manager arranged the shuttle in advance. I was welcomed by the owner, who was super nice and gave me a good introduction into what to do and where to go. As a long time traveller he exactly knows about the travellers' essentials and was also happy to take us out to different sites on the island (snorkelling spot, cross island hike, market, xmas dinner...). Thank you so much for showing us your little peace of Paradise!

The double room was very spacious and with two fans the lack of an air con wasn't too bad. It was absolutely clean upon arrival, wasn't cleaned during the stay though. Some of the rooms have an own outdoor shower, but there is also a common outdoor shower in the garden. The shared facilities were absolutely clean as well, only the bathrooms seemed to be a little old. There is nothing missing in the kitchen, very well equipped and coffee and tea provided. The sitting area in the garden is extremely nice to meet other travellers.

On your last day you can pay a day fee to use the facilities after check out which is pretty convenient and allows you to spend one more beach day.

The guesthouse is situated only a very short stroll from stunning Muri Beach (you feel like climbing into a post card) and Muri town.

It was a perfect stay as I came from travels with sleeping in hostels - for all people being used to 5 stars hotels: please remember it is a guesthouse and you don't pay much. For the money I've payed it was awesome (4 out of 5 because of the missing aircon and old bathroom facilities).

Would definetly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
542 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
207 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aremango Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aremango Guesthouse

Property: Aremango Guesthouse
Address: Muri Beach | P.O box 3115, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Muri Lagoon in Rarotonga, Aremango Guesthouse welcomes travelers, explorers and sun searches from all over the world, offering affordable comfort, warm friendly service and peaceful relaxation on our little island of paradise. The guesthouse surrounded with coconut palms, banana and mango trees, is seconds to the beach down a garden path and is in an ideal location for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aremango Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aremango Guesthouse Hotel Avarua
Aremango Guesthouse Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing