We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town and clean, but overpriced and neglected by the management”
Review of Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Inn
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Paradise Inn has a lot of potential. It's a beautiful old building, with a wonderful terrace. The common area is very spacious and comfortable. It's also just minutes away from the heart of the capital town of Avarua (not that there is much to do or see there, but still..) and lies right on a pretty beach (which is not good for swimming as the water is very shallow at all times).

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. They might be a bit loud due to the roosters and guests talking loud on the corridor/passage, but one can get used to it.

The problem with the hostel is that the owners/managers do not seem to care too much about it. While the place is clean thanks to their Fijian cleaners, much of the equipment/amenities is in a bad state. The cooking facilities inside the rooms are old and borderline dangerous to use. The mosquito screenings are old and even broken in some places, etc, etc. The managers/owners are almost never there and in any case do not seem at all interested in their guests wellbeing or satisfaction. We heard that the place was for sale, so that perhaps explains their attitude.

The poor state of the facilities and the management's attitude means that the place appeared overpriced to us. While it is arguably among the cheapest places to stay in Rarotonga, charging people over 100$ for a night in a very basic studio is objectively excessive, even if the managers insist that it is cheap by the local standards. For this amount, one could easily get a nice room or even a batch in places like New Zealand or Australia, not to mention cheaper South Pacific islands.

In sum, it's a good, clean and basic option for those that need to be in town. Those who value good service, good beaches for swimming and proper facilities should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Perhaps try to get a room facing the sea - they seemed much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnFowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for one night in this charming two level accommodation as our flight to Aitutaki was the next day. Paradise Inn is located at the north side of the island at the outskirt of Avarua - the capital. I was expecting this to be a minus but unless you are staying in one of the resorts you need some kind of transportation anyway so being close to town might be an advantage.
Queen size bed upstairs, two single beds at ground level plus kitchen, shower and toilet.
No TV. Only hot spot Wi-Fi for Telecom subscribers.
A little bit of reno and TLC could improve this property a lot as it has a great potential. In conclusion, it is a comfortable budget accommodation- good value for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here twice on the days we flew in and out of Rarotonga. Close to the airport, the police station (for your CI driver's licence), the shops and several eateries. Very convenient and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Clean but definitely a little rough around the edges, most of the rooms at Paradise Inn have been created by partitioning what used to be an old dance hall - and the partitions aren't that thick. We could easily hear the conversations in the next room, so if you're looking for privacy, then this ain't your place to stay. As well as this the rooms face into fences on each side, so definitely no sea views (with 1 exception - see room tips) but they are large enough to accommodate 3 to 4 people.

There were no towels in the room when we arrived and had to hunt some down, and the rooms weren’t serviced for the nights we stayed there.
The Kitchenette is good enough for light breakfasts but that's about all, and you'd be struggling to get more than 2 people around the little table we had. The upstairs mezzanine is cute and a reasonable size but if you had mobility problems you probably won't like the narrow spiral staircase you need to climb up to reach it. We had a downpour one night during our stay, and there was a leak in the middle of the room from the skylight.
The lounge / bar area at the back overlooks the ocean and a stretch of rocky beach, and catches the breezes. We noted that other guests used this areas as a bit of a communal kitchen - this place definitely has a bit of an upmarket backpackers feel to it. Other reviews talk about an 'honesty bar' however there was a big lock on the fridge whilst we were there, and needed to ask to buy a beer - which were reasonably priced.

The location is not bad - maybe 7 minutes or so to walk to Trader Jacks and the waterfront area, and there is a handy little grocery store next door who probably make most of their money from the guests!

Staff were friendly, but avoid paying for the overpriced, local Wi-Fi by buying a voucher from the Telecom place down the road in town – cheaper and you can use the voucher at any of their numerous hotspots around the island.

Overall, probably not a bad place to stay for young groups travelling together, and who want to be close to the action in town.

Room Tip: There is a small apartment with a balcony that overlooks the beach and ocean at the very back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The rooms are fairly basic and old school, but that's what island life is all about! When in Raro, you spend little time indoors anyway. They're well-equipped - decent-sized fridge, fan and full cooking facilities in every room, plus you can cook in the main communal lounge/dining area too. The rooms even have wireless internet, but it's slow and costly (like most internet service in Raro). I spent a week there and felt very comfortable and had everything I needed but don't stay if you're expecting five star luxury. This isn't what Paradise Inn is about anyway.

The best features of this place are the huge open-plan lounge/dining area and adjoining loft, which lead out to massive decks on both levels; the lower one with plenty of tables and deck chairs. The lounge is great for relaxing and catching the news, the loft for reading books or taking a quick nap and the decks for soaking in the sun and idyllic views. The decks look down onto a beautiful 'private' beach complete with more deck chairs and coconut trees. It truly is breathtaking!

The owner-operators and staff are all great too and just such personable people to be around, full of warmth and knowledgeable stories. It's making me miss the place dearly as I type this! :)

I should mention that there is a dairy right next to the inn and a second across the road. It's only a 10 - 15 minute walk to the main shopping area too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarce_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is one of those dreamy South Seas establishments where you could imagine Somerset Maugham or Robert Louis Stevenson in residence. The service is casual so you need to look after yourself but the owners are friendly and helpful in any way they can be. The honesty bar is great and the deck overlooking the ocean catches the sea breezes which makes everything cool and nice. The upstairs section has maps on the ceiling so you can take a voyage in your imagination by reclining in your chair. Rooms are clean and cool and the house cat will probably come to visit. It is not the Hilton but you don't pay Hilton prices. If you don't like the sound of roosters crowing at dawn next door, you wont like it but if you are looking for an atmospheric South Seas experience, this is the place for you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WillRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had to stay the last night in Rarotonga since the Flight was delayed for 5 more hours. Paradise inn is fitting our budget for couple hours of rest before coming to the airport at 2 am in the morning. The hotel is spacious and clean to our expectation and reasonable budget. two big advantages: Its location is right in Avarua town and only 2 km or 10 minutes driving to the Airport.

It is not an Ideal place to stay for long and family if you have more money to spend but it is a good temporary place near the town and airport especially for single and on tight budget. No where you can find cheaper 3 star hotel on this island.

We also paid $ 10 Wifi for 100 mB of data to check email for couple hours before coming home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
1.7 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
63 reviews
1 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4 mi away
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#32 of 80 in Rarotonga
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn

Address: PO Box 674, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Avarua
Price Range: £62 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Inn, Rarotonga is the perfect place for travelers looking for value for money. We have 16 serviced units nestled in a peaceful location between the mountains and the sea, yet only a few minutes walk to downtown Avarua. The terrace, bar and lounge have breathtaking lagoon and ocean views and are yours for relaxing, whale watching, meeting people or enjoying a meal al fresco. A beach before the reef offers our visitors the prospect of sunbathing, a stroll along the beach, low tide reef walking and spotting starfish, coral and the small colourful reef fish that populate the lagoon. As the sun sets, enjoy a sundowner on the terrace with a drink from the last "Honesty Bar" in the South Pacific where cocktails and tall tales are the order of the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Avarua
Paradise Inn Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing