We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$464
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Paradise Inn(Avarua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
440
200
38
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
200
38
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage restaurantbeach frontthe drum beat bardrumbeat barbeachfront roomreef shoeshappy hourbbq nightpalm treescook islandsour honeymoonsmaller poolrestaurants within walking distanceyogurtroad noisethe air conditioningbeach view
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Loved our stay at Sunset Resort. We had a poolside room which was nice and private. The service was great with very friendly staff waiting for us at the airport at 1am. We cooked several nights in our room and found it to be fully equipped. The restaurant was also very good for dinners and the breakfasts were great!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becksm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Sunset Resort in a poolside room. The room was well equipped with a kitchenette although apart from salad lunches we didn't use it much as it's difficult to buy ready made meals in the Cooks. The resort is well located, close to Avarua, and on a pleasant part of the lagoon. The hotel doesn't offer much in the way of recreational facilities but is quiet, has nice gardens and a no children policy. Meals at the restaurant were average but there are plenty of dining options on Rarotonga. I'd we're turn we would get a beach side room as they enjoy lovely views of the sea and sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Sunset Resort was perfect for us two old friends whose kids have grown. It's child-free and not a 'couples' resort, nor is it heaving with people (like the Edgewater). The beautifully landscaped grounds and pools ensure all the units feel private. Ours was a 'poolside' room near the road, and although the pre-dawn rooster chorus and the occasional midnight outbreak of barking was closer, we accepted this as 'just Rarotonga', and preferred our room to the ocean view rooms which everyone passes on the way to the beach and can see right into. The staff couldn't have been lovelier, and the Anchorage restaurant food stacked up very well against other restaurants we tried on the island - or even back here in Wellington. Especially the fish dishes. And the cocktails! My favourite was the 'Tangaroa.' Yum! The only real downside was that the a/c units disrupted sleep with their intermittent gurgling noises, and although the maintenance staff were quick to come to fix things they didn't get this sorted out.
Thanks to Kimi, Sunny, Nora, Lydia and the other Sunset staff for making our holiday memorable - you're the bees knees!

Room Tip: Oceanview suites will be quieter than the poolside ones nearer the road if animal noises aren't your thing. Upstairs suites more private than ground floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hairtodaygonetomorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I are just back from Rarotonga and stayed 8 nights at Sunset Resort. We really enjoyed our stay and had a totally relaxing time, but on reflection felt that Resort was a bit of a misnomer. This property would be better described as an up market motel set in beautiful grounds in a fabulous location. This is a place to relax, read, swim, snorkel, sunbathe. No tennis, golf, evening entertainment, shows, island nights, coffee shop, room service which IMO justifies a "resort" label. Reception closes at 5pm, if you want a movie to watch in your room (only 1 TV channel) you need to plan ahead and order it from the catalogue during the day. The bar closes 9pm, the onsite restaurant ushers you out before 9.30 pm. There is no swimming in the pool after 10pm. (However because of this the resort is very quiet in the evening and you generally get a fabulous night's sleep). Reception will organise activities for you off-site and all include pick up and drop off. An ocean view room is highly recommended, well worth the extra tariff. They are spacious and open onto private terrace; walk across the lawn onto the beach. Plenty of seats, loungers, hammocks. We watched the sunset every night with a cocktail from the drumbeat bar. Weather was superb, a steady 25 deg C. Staff are great. Housekeeping is of high standard and they don't coming banging on the door when you are having a super lazy morning which is nice. Housekeeping staff don't work on Sundays, so you have to make your own bed and re-use your towels. You can get fresh towels from reception. Generous continental breakfast was included, lots of fresh fruit. Can upgrade to cooked breakfast for $10. Another plus is breakfast is available until 10am. Rooms have microwave and stove top and coffee plunger with fresh coffee supplied. Recommend you pick up some wine at the duty free on arrival (very expensive on the island), go into the village on day one and get snacks, fruit and lunch-type foods from the supermarket and then you are all set up to self-cater for lunch and pre-dinner drinks/snacks. At busy times better to pre-book a rental car (lots of scooters available), no cars available when we tried to get one on the island. With transport you can visit other resorts for dinner, go to their shows, etc. The local bus service is not useful for this purpose in the evenings. Then you get best of both worlds - a nice quiet place to stay and access to other resorts for activities when you want them. Food at the Anchorage, the on site restaurant is good with friendly service, but the two adjacent restaurants we didn't rate very highly. Again at busy times you need to book in for dinner. Not being aware of this we ended up dinner-less one night as all restaurants were fully booked - there was no flexibility even at the on-site restaurant which was surprising as we were in-house guests! Wouldn't even provide something we could take back to our room. Be aware that food portions are enormous - much like the USA. Although we were told the resort was full, we were not aware of many people about, the most I saw on the beach were 5 or 6 at any one time, so it is very, very peaceful. Snorkelling in the lagoon is good, all gear supplied free by the hotel. Water is very warm and relatively shallow. Take some bread out to feed the fish and you will see a huge variety even without the snorkel, they just swim around your legs! We would recommend this property to anyone wanting a very quiet, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms recommended
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kingswood_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Kia Orana, many thanks for your recent comments on trip advisor. It is heartening to read your positive comments about the rooms. We pride ourselves in the knowledge that while a lot of our rooms are studios they are very generous in size and are a cool and airy. We know what you mean about the resort being peaceful even though we are fully occupied. That is the beauty of being in Rarotonga as many of our guests go and explore the island and what it has to offer
We look forward to seeing you again, we love to have repeat visitors. Meitaki Maata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Sunset Resort is an absolute fantastic place to stay. We stayed here for our honeymoon and the staff were always friendly and were are all too willing to help out with questions and tips about the local culture. The Anchorage has some of the best cocktails on Rarotonga the Mighty Rima is a must. The food is as good as anywhere on the island however if you want to eat somewhere else just ask at the reception they will happily suggest a few places and even book you a table if you wish. The facilities are clean and we were very surprised at how well the rooms were furnished. Two pools and access to the beach making relaxation a breeze. The beach is the place to be come sunset. Get a cocktail from the Drum Beat Bar, grab a seat on the beach and watch some of the best sunsets you will ever see. The other bonus about the Sunset is that there are no little kids. This was perfect for us. The only down side is the ants and bugs but that is unavoidable as it is a tropical island and every place I visited on Rarotonga had the same problem. They don't bite, so there is nothing to be worried about. I definitely recommend the Sunset Resort if you're looking for a great place to stay minus the the children.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anto1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews