We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Paradise”
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Kia Orana,
Have just returned from my usual 10 days at the Sunset. I cannot agree with some of the comments made. I found the Sunset to be all anyone could wish for. From the friendly staff, Kaiei Kimi and Mary to Manu and all the cleaning staff, who do all they could to make your stay memorable. My air conditioning unit worked well as did all other kitchen equipment. I still recomend the Sunset to anyone who wants a relaxing 7 day minium holiday. Pappa John.

Room Tip: If i told you my favourite every one would want it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjnz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

I recently stayed here to attend a family wedding held at the resort. The warm welcome from Kimi at the airport set the tone for a very relaxing five days. Our very clean room was upstairs overlooking the pool with a good sized private patio. I like the idea of a kitchenette but it was completely redundant as the Anchorage Resturant & Bar was a short 30 second walk away. Sunny and the staff did an awesome job and made everyone in our group welcomed.

The location is fabulous. Strolling alone the beach watching the lagoon is quite intoxicating.

The wedding was awesome and I congratulate all the staff for their wonderful effort in making it a memorable day.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kiwishells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is not a 4 star resort and doesnt try to be. Its quiet, simple and located right on the beach. Rooms are very nice and comfortable. Staff was great. Would highly recommend the Sunset Resort! The Saturday Farmers Market is a must-visit.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms come with a kitchenette, but reserve a room that has one. Food on the island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great location to relax and enjoy. Our room -no 3 was in the perfect spot with concertina doors, screens and louvers that opened onto a patio and deck and allowed the breeze and view at all times.
Beyond the deck was a lawn and tropical garden where we had the ring side seats for the wedding that took place in front of the lagoon. Also a great spot to view the magnificent sunsets.
Staff were friendly and food was delicious.
The round the island bus arrived at the front at twenty to /past the hour.
A huge variety of restaurants within walking distance offered meals at reasonable prices.
Cooking facilities in the room included 2 gas rings and a microwave but as breakfast was included in our deal, we did not use the kitchen.A full sized fridge meant we could store drinks.
Suggest you boil water and store it in the fridge even though it is supposed to be safe to drink from the tap.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 5 are in the best spot for quiet, breeze and views and the pool is at the back door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenflan-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding and spent 7 nights at your beautiful resort.  We had an amazing day and stay as did our family and friends.  A huge thanks to Lynette who from the moment we met made sure everything went smoothly.  Her attention to detail and her generally caring nature put us at ease immediately.  Not only did she make sure I was all taken care of and set up the beach front for our ceremony and reception, she also made sure the boys were all sorted as well!  Sunny and his team did an amazing job with the wedding buffet and every meal we had the Anchorage was of a high quality - good food and very generous sized meals.  We also found the staff friendly and helpful.  We would have no hesitation in recommending your resort as a place to stay and to anyone wanting to get married they should definatly have Lynette as their wedding planner!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Kia Orana Candice, thank you for your comments just posted on T/A. It is great to hear all went well with your wedding. Tim and I were off Island as on the same day as yours our daughter was married in Sydney. We were kept informed however by Lynette via email and she was delighted with how your special day went and it was everything you envisaged. May we take this opportunity to wish yourself and your husband the very best for the future as you start your married life together. Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just had a wonderful holiday at the Sunset Resort and it was just what we needed! Complete rest and relaxation! Both the management and the staff could not do enough for us and we felt very well looked after and catered for. We had a beachfront room which was just lovely - spacious and airy with super comfortable king bed, sitting area, bathroom and kitchenette. It had a lovely big sliding window looking out to the lawn in front and then on to the beach with its waving palms. There were sliding insect screens over the window as well as louvred blinds. At night we had the window fully open with plenty of fresh air, no creepy crawlies and plenty of privacy.
Even though the resort with its 35 rooms was fully occupied while we were there we would not have known it. There were two lovely pools plus the beach with its loungers and hammocks so plenty of room for everyone. We really appreciated the fact that there were no children under 12 and also the management’s request for no swimming after 10.00pm so that fellow holiday makers could remain undisturbed. In fact there is a quiet policy at the resort to which all guests are requested to adhere.
There is a lovely informal and friendly atmosphere at the resort with guests being introduced to each other by the management, especially during happy hour at the Drum Bar. Makes for a very relaxing environment.
If you want a complete break with loads of R & R this is a great place to stay. Thank you very much Tim and Colleen and your wonderful team. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are fantastic but also think the upstairs rooms around the big pool would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 253AlAn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Just had a great five days at the sunset resort where I was best man for a wedding party, I have to say the staff and resort where excellent as was the the food and facilities .
They where very patient with our group I have to say who where pretty raucous at the best of times and in celebration mode.
It would have been nice to meet or even see the managers but I saw not a sign of them the whole time.
Big ups to Sonny and the restaurant crew.
Also the wedding planner lynnette was fantastic and worth every penny.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Kia Orana Adam, thank you for taking the time to post your recent comments on Trip Advisor. It is great to read you had a wonderful time at the Sunset Resort and that the wedding went well. I agree Lynette is an amazing wedding co-ordinator who has the bride and grooms best interests at heart when it comes to their special day. Tim and I were off Island at the time of this wedding as we were attending our own daughters wedding in Sydney. We were in contact with Lynette over email though and she kept us informed about how everything was going. I will pass on your positive feedback to Sonny and the team at the Anchorage, I know they do a great job. Meitaki Maata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
561 reviews
4.3 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: £154 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing