We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Paradise”
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Paradise”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have reviewed the " Sunset" many times and again was lucky enough to be able to spend 10 days there last Sept. October. From the moment Kimi meets you at the airport till she says goodbye we were looked after very well. The Anchorage Restaurant on site serves well priced meals but if you do want a change turn to the left at top of drive way and there is the Kikau Hut, to the right Albertos, both well worth a visit.The bus stops outside the driveway,either side of the road. I must also mention the Drumbeat bar where every night apart from Sunday, "happy" hour can be spent meeting other interesting guests. All in all I personally want for nothing better and hope to visit again in 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjnz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Kia Orana JJnz44

We appreciate all reviews on our resort but it is even more special when it is a returning guest who has stayed with us "many" times before . Thank you for adding in some suggestions for other travellers on where to dine close by.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2014 . Please make sure that our staff have your email address for our regular news letter so that you can be kept updated on what is happening on the Island and at our resort .

Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    183
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
73
411
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

One weeks holiday where we were pampered. Views magnificent, gardens manicured, beautiful flora & fauna. The staff quietly & efficiently got on with their jobs. We only had breakfasts at the restaurant but they had gluten free options. I loved the peace & quiet of having no children in either of the pools. Safety was considered with reef shoes provided & clear signs. I would highly recommend this resort to all as a real tropical haven. The Managers Tim & Col are perfect hosts as they are resourceful, welcoming and big hearted . For me they are the icing on the cake. Well done team at Sunset Resort 10/10.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieSzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely resort earlier this month. We chose to stay here as it had a no under 12 years policy and the trip adviser comments all remarked on how clean the rooms were. We were not disappointed. This was our 2nd trip to Rarotonga and last time we stayed was at a much larger resort. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem.. All was well until the day when we were due to fly back to New Zealand. Unfortunately I become very sick and ended up at the hospital and unable to fly as planned. Tim, the Manager took us to the hospital and organised an extra nights accommodation which helped make a stressful situation easy. Thankyou Colleen and Tim, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postieKay327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Kia Orana PostieKay327

Firstly we would like to say that we hope you are feeling much better . The Sunset Resort is very fortunate to have a wonderful management team and staff . We are really pleased to know that we were able to ease what would have been a stressful situation for you .
Wishing you a safe and happy festive season and we look forward to you staying with us again soon .

Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On the beach and not to far from town. Meals were great, experienced and island night whilst staying there which was real fun. The two pools are well situated and with no children around is totally relaxing. Rooms have everything you need, but we had one with an adjoining door between which you could hear noise from other room through. Otherwise great place to stay would go back. Some guests did expereience mix up with rooms though.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of pool or garden but ones with adjoining door are a trifle noisy with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for six days. We were greeted at the airport by Kimie and I expereinced the quickest check in ever...FANTASTIC. Kimie was great taking us to our room and showing us around pointing out the little things like ice cubes in the freezer. She was lovely. The room was a two bedroom suite (both air conditioned) poolside. The beds were huge and very comfortable. The rooms are serviced daily except Sunday and were always left clean and tidy. All the staff on the resort were so friendly and nothing was a bother to them. The food was good the cocktails even better! They have themed nights during the week at the restaurant which were just awesome. Do make sure you go to the Drumbeat bar for happy hour 5-7pm. The drinks are delicious. The beach views are amazing and a stone throws walk from the two freshwater swimming pools on the resort. Lots of places to lounge around and relax. It was nice to meet the managers Tim and Colleen they were great to have a friendly chat with.

Found the information book in our room needed updating. We discovered some of the information was incorrect for example advertising of places open on a Sunday was simply not the case we travelled into Avarua to find they were closed.

We enjoyed our stay at the Sunset and I for one will definitely be staying here again when I return next year.

Room Tip: Opt for a beachside room. You might be able to upgrade while there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniliquin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in a beach front unit in August,absolutely Beautiful.Staff are outstanding,couldn't be more helpful,a credit to the owners/management,a big"Thank-you".The Resort is maintained everday.There were no complaints from us,we just loved it.Highly recommend this beautiful Resort,it was hard to believe this place was booked out,it was so peaceful and relaxing.we didn't use the pools much,the Ocean was too beautiful to resist,it really is as beautiful as the pictures.Hubby did a free scuba dive lesson in the main pool.The design and set out of the Resort makes it feel much bigger than it is.It was great to have a kitchen,we cooked fresh mahi mahi(beautiful).We Dinned in the Restaurant(dinner and a dance)and had room service,both were just as good as the other.Breakfast was great,The Eggs Benedict was to die for,the Papaw was the sweetest I have ever had.We would absolutely stay here again.The Resort has a bus stop right at the front door.No need to hire a car,there are other restaurants within walking distance,you can hire a car directly across the road from the resort(we hired a car for 1 day,just to get suppliess,food and grog)and caught the bus the rest of the time,it goes around the island.Congatulations Sunset,and,Thank-you.

Room Tip: The Ocean front units really are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Kia Orana
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We often have guests say that they didn't realise that we were at 100 % occupancy when they stay . The resort is laid out well and allows guest to feel that they have some space to them selves . I am really pleased to read your comments regarding the food at the Anchorage . I will make sure that I pass these positive comments on to the restaurant management . We are really fortunate with our staff and we feel that they do represent that open ,friendly nature of the pacific.

Travel safe back to Australia and we hope to have you return to stay with us again soon

Regards

Management and Staff of the Sunset Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Recently stayed here in an ocean front room.Collected and returned from the airport by a lovely lady “Kimie”, checked in quickly and started our holiday. Reception staff just lovely and attended to our every need, and a big thank you to the housekeeping staff – lovely to see people who enjoy their job! Our room was lovely with comfortable bed and pillows, everything you wanted in the kitchen (if you wanted to cook) and a full size fridge. Air conditioning was much appreciated as it got so hot!The resort supply beach towels, reef shoes, goggle and masks.They have a bar called “The Drum Beat Bar” which serves happy hour from 5-7pm (if I remember correctly) each night, you know when the bar is open as the drums start beating.We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant, which is included in the room rate, consisting of tropical fruits, 4 or 5 different cereals, juices, toast and spreads – very nice. Our room was ocean front so we walked out from our room onto grass and then the white sand most beautiful lagoon full of tropical fish, you don’t even have to snorkel for them just stand in the lagoon and wait for them to swim past. THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS PROPERTY IS THERE ARE NO CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 12! No kids splashing and screaming in the pool or running around the resort. We never saw a kid the whole time we were there. Its not that I don’t like kids its just its nice to holiday without them! As for eating out – we really didn’t find a “must go” place – really hit and miss.The only place I will recommend is a place called Uncle Marc's Nuts – you order a coconut/vanilla milkshake and it comes out in a coconut shell which you can takeaway with you – so cool!!!!!! $8 Thank you staff and management for such a lovely stay on Rarotonga, we will be back your property was the best!

Room Tip: Ocean front is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Property: Sunset Resort
Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing