We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Resort”
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Sunset Resort is everything it says it is. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great and our room which was the two bedroom beachfront was just perfect for four middle aged ladies. I found the breakfast a bit ordinary. The food in the restaurant overall was fresh and very tasty as well as not too expensive.

Room Tip: our two bedroom beachfront unit was very private and we had our own private entrance to the unit as...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedlam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Kia Orana Bedlam1

It is lovely to read that you and your group of ladies enjoyed your stay with us .We do offer only a tropical breakfast option as part of our standard room rate but our guests are able to also purchase a full cooked breakfast at a very reasonable rate if they require a larger breakfast. I have made a note of your comment regarding the breakfast and I will be sure to hand this onto the management of our restaurant as we always welcome feedback on how we can improve our guests experience .
We look forward to seeing you again soon .

Regards the Management and Staff of the Sunset Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Such a great resort for our first time in Rarotonga. We went as a family (6 adults) for my parents 60th birthday celebration. The resort was perfect. 2 couples stayed in garden rooms, and 1 couple in a beachfront room.
The rooms were very similar, and are very comfortable with all having small kitchenettes which made eating in possible.
The air conditioner was very appreciated!
The beachfront room faced the sunset, and had a small verandah with deck chairs which was great for evening drinks.

The resort is adults only, and so although it was full when we were there, it felt very private.
Both pools are great, and the snorkeling out front is quite good. Masks and snorkels, and beach shoes are provided.

The staff were great, and helped us to arrange a birthday cake at short notice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apple6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Kia Orana

We were very please to have your group stay and celebrate your parents 60th birthday with us. Thank you for your feedback on the resort . We are very fortunate with the staff we have and I will make sure that they are aware of your positive comments .

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My partner and I booked via Expedia and promptly received an email from the resort to ask if we needed transfers from the airport, which were a very reasonable price.

Pros: When we arrived we were greeted at the airport and were taken to Paradise.
The room was large and secure, we had a safe in the room which was great to leave things in while at the beach.
Complimentary masks, snorkels and reef shoes are all provided and are in good clean condition.
Overall the service was amazing, if you needed new beach towels, to stow your bags or to book a scooter- nothing was too much trouble.
Snorkelling directly off the beach was also some of the best we had during our stay.

Cons: Our room (number 26) was one of the cheaper rooms and located nearer the road, but this did not bother us at all. If you are a light sleeper you may request to be further from the road- however dogs barking and roosters crowing are heard everywhere (even at the other resorts friends were staying at).

Thank you, Sunset Resort for a lovely holiday in paradise.

Room Tip: We were in 26 which was poolside upstairs- very big room, would be great for those trying to enterta...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank classical_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Kia Orana and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at The Sunset Resort. We very much appreciate all feedback from our guests, as it is a very important tool for us to use to improve our resort and our services. You mention in your review that Sunset Resort does not stand up to the 4 and 5 star level resorts found around the world. You are most correct. No where have we ever advertised Sunset Resort as a 4-star, never mind a 5-star, resort. In all of our advertisements, websites, listings on Orbitz and other OTAs, and our training with travel agents, we present Sunset Resort as a 3 to 3 1/2 star resort, providing a relaxed, casual, beachfront holiday. It is truly not fair to compare our Resort and services to a 4 or 5 star resort found elsewhere.

We would like to address a few of the items you mentioned in your review, including:

- We did receive your confirmation from Orbitz, and assigned you to one of our Poolside/Garden Studios. As we do not have absolute control over the content provided on Orbitz, we have to use the guidelines that they provide to us for our resort listing. You will note on our website that our rooms as described as Poolside/Garden Studios, meaning they are either poolside or in the tropical gardens of the resort. We do not have two separate room categories (Poolside or Garden), but rather one, which we describe as Poolside/Garden. Most of our guests who stay in the room you occupied very much appreciate that room due to its close proximity to the beach (much closer to the beach than the other Poolside/Garden Studios at the resort).
- The Sunset Resort is a full service resort. It is difficult to compare our property with other resorts in Hawaii or Bali, some of which have many hundreds of rooms. With only 35 Suites and Studios, Sunset Resort is a small, intimate resort located on a beautiful beach. Our Front Desk is serviced during the day, and if guests need anything at all, there is a phone number to reach our Duty Manager when our Reception is not open.
- We are meeting with our Housekeeping Manager and staff to see what may have happened with the mixup on not servicing your room for one day during your stay. For this, we sincerely apologize. If you had brought this to our attention, we would have immediately rectified the situation.
- Thanks for your kind words about our staff. Please remember that the lifestyle and pace of life in Rarotonga is very slow compared to the USA. We are extremely proud of our laid-back island lifestyle, and for the most part, that is why so many people visit us, and return to Sunset Resort year after year, if to experience our slower pace of life for just a short amount of time. Unfortunately, some of our guests may mistake our laid-back lifestyle for poor service, which is very far from the reality. Everything happens just a little slower in Rarotonga, and isn’t that why you chose to visit our beautiful little island?
- Our Studios and Suites are fully air-conditioned and come complete with everything you need to enjoy your stay. Please note that our mattresses are actually zip-apart King size beds, which is quite common in hotels and resorts, as it allows us to accommodate couples and guests requesting separate beds.
- Unfortunately, life in the tropics means we have to deal with some of our small, local wildlife. This includes ants, which can magically find their way into many enclosed spaces. We do treat the resort regularly for ants and mosquitos, but they do exist on our island. We ask our guests to keep their food tightly wrapped, and in their refrigerators.
- A Tropical Buffet Breakfast is included in the nightly rate at Sunset Resort. This breakfast is served at Anchorage Resort, a free-standing and independent restaurant located directly next to the Resort. As you can expect, we do have to provide vouchers to the restaurant to prove that the diners enjoying breakfast are in fact staying at the resort. Other people who are not staying at Sunset Resort can and do enjoy meals at Anchorage. The voucher system is in place to ensure that our guests get the free tropical breakfast daily.
- Internet access in the islands is very expensive, and unfortunately we are unable to provide it free of charge. You will be pleased to know that we have recently increased the amount of internet usage while reducing the cost to guests.

In summary, we are truly sorry that Sunset Resort was not a good fit for you. It is quite apparent that your standards are much more suited to the 4 and 5 star level of resorts. As stated above, Sunset Resort is not a 4 or 5 star resort, and we are very much priced according to our level. We are just a little surprised to find that you expected 5-star accommodation and service at our price level.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. We do hope that you returned home with positive memories of your time in Rarotonga. Meitaki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed my week in paradise. Resort clean, very comfy bed, and staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant provided tasty food but very long wait for meals (I appreciate being on "island time" but over 2 hours is a bit excessive)! However...I'd happily return if I get the opportunity.

Room Tip: The best rooms face the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngaire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Kia Orana Ngaire

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your positive comments on the resort, our rooms and our staff. I was disappointed to read that you had to wait two hours for a meal in our restaurant, this is extremely unusual and I will make sure that I hand this feedback onto Tony our restaurant manager. We have been receiving some great reviews on our new management, staff and menu at the restaurant , so I know he will take your comment on board .

Travel Safe and we hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great resort! We had road side unit for the weekend, but found traffic was pretty noisy. When asked if we could change to quieter unit they were very accommodating. Beach is one of best on island. Great snorkelling, spoilt for choice with nearby restaurants. Would recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have returned from this beautiful place today with my husband. We both had a wonderful holiday which started the moment we met Kim at the airport. She was friendly, informative and very helpful.In fact all of the staff from reception, housekeeping and gardening were very polite and so friendly! The breakfast team were full of smiles and great to chat to as were the bar staff at The Drum Beat Bar. The resort was undergoing some work whilst we were there but we were well informed by the amazing manager's Tim and Colleen and it certainly had no impact on our enjoyment during the time we spent there. It is perfect for couples who want to relax and and enjoy being away from it all. See you next year!

Room Tip: We had a poolside room nearer to the bar which was away from the road and we found it quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Kia Orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review . We value all feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Ki Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the resort for 6 days. We found the facilities were very good. The staff were super friendly. The units were clean and presentable and the bed was very comfortable to sleep in. The only critique I can give other than it was great value for money is that the continental breakfast is a little boring. It is the same selection every day. I think they could tweek it up a bit for some variation, especially if your there for more than a few days.

Room Tip: We were in the beachfront rooms where there are no kids under 12. It was really great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Kia Orana

Thank your for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken a note of your comments regarding the complimentary continental breakfast and will make sure that I hand this feedback onto our new restaurant managers. We have been getting some great reviews on their menu so I am sure they will be interested in our comments .
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
3.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: £151 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing