We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airport Motel - Tiare Village
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After a three-week holiday in NZ, we thoroughly enjoyed 5 days at Tiare Village. Adrienne, the manager, was very helpful, friendly and kind. She picked us up at the airport (even though our flight was a bit delayed), and provided us with very helpful advice and suggestions for our stay. She drove us downtown in the morning where we were able to rent a motor scooter, which proved to be an excellent choice for independent transportation on the island. Adrienne also helped us make several other arrangements, including getting us to the airport for our flight home. She went beyond the call of duty in helping us retrieve a lost item (we had left in another location on the island) in the last few hours before our flight because she had the necessary personal contacts!

We had one of the poolside units, which included an adequate kitchenette and its own full bathroom. Compared to many other backpackers in which we've stayed, this was wonderfully palatial, clean and airy! The pool was clean and refreshing, and the well-kept grounds lovely, with many different palms and other trees as well as flowering bushes.

As other reviewers have noted, Roratonga is well-populated with wild chickens, and the roosters, while gorgeous to look at, do crow! Aside from that (easily remedied with some ear plugs), the setting is wonderful – feels “off the beaten track” and away from traffic. Even though it is near the airport, we were not aware of plane traffic. The Whale and Marine Museum is a short walk, and downtown Avarua with its many shops and restaurants is not much further. If you are there on a Saturday, don't miss the Saturday Market! Much for sale, and live performances too!

We would highly recommend Tiare Village to anyone who wants clean, quiet, low-key accommodations for a lovely stay on Roratonga.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sshodges13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Adrienne has a great set up at Tiare Village. I stayed there close to 3 weeks and wasn't disappointed! Perfect if you're looking for a independent casual stay that's reasonable but doesn't have that young hostel feel. Really enjoyed my stay and would definitely book again at Tiare Village. Thanks again Adrienne!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Lovely garden surrounds. Good size,extremely clean and tidy poolside unit. Adequately equipped kitchen. Great water pressure in shower. Extremely comfortable bed. Only negative is, coathanger space could be deemed insufficient by guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiarevillage, Manager at Airport Motel - Tiare Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Kia Orana Margaret,
Thank you for your review. Coathanger space, that is an interesting point I will pass this on to Don for his consideration.
See you next year
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Tiare Village is a little jewel in a tropical garden - conveniently located close to Rarotonga Airport and within a reasonable walk of the town centre, it is a warm, funky, comfortable place with a relaxed casual atmosphere. I stayed in a single-room unit which was really good value for money and more than adequate for my needs. The whole place is managed by Adrienne who is as friendly, helpful and efficient as legend would have it. If my experience is typical then no wonder that Tiare Village is so popular and wins so many awards. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 153B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed in a shared dorm room. Maria ran the place while Adrienne was on holiday, and had a hard time coping (even though there were hardly any guests as she was turning people away so she wouldn’t have to do so much). Alot of her time was spent sitting around smoking, and moaning to guests about how she wasn’t getting enough sleep (from having to pick guests up during the night); how she was not being paid for doing this job; all the things she’d like to change about the place (turn it into a café/gallery), and/or how she was going to have the place closed down. I certainly wasn’t looking to have my “hand held” or anything, but as a first-time visitor to Raro and travelling alone, I did have some occasional questions. I don’t care how cheap a place is – as a customer I should NOT be made to feel like I am being bothersome for being proactive and making simple, standard requests (you’ll notice in positive reviews, what people value most is the friendliness and helpfulness of their host – you don’t need to stay at a resort to get this!). My holiday was intended to be half relaxing at my chosen accommodation (and meeting new people there), and half getting out and about. Both were made difficult here and I felt like I was “walking on eggshells” as Maria had decided to take all her frustrations out on me on my second day here (I accidentally locked myself out of the dorm room – heaven forbid!). I was very shocked and upset to be treated this way, and don’t feel anything I did justified such a reaction. I’ve stayed at many backpackers throughout NZ and Australia and NEVER come across an attitude like this before. What a huge favour she did asking me to leave later (I’d asked to leave after the first bout of rudeness but she’d apologized and insisted I stayed). All I did this time was finally pluck up the courage to ask her to book a tour for me (and a new friend staying there) but as expected, it was too much trouble for her and I was verbally abused again and ordered to leave. She did me a huge favour - I went to a dorm room at Rarotonga Backpackers and what a difference - I was welcomed by a friendly host who was happy to give advice/book tours; a vibrant atmosphere and fun people to hang out with (always someone around); a great location right on the beach; a cooler dorm room with no mosquitoes; way less noise from roosters and dogs here in comparison (no they’re not so noisy all over the island!); free filtered water (Tiare’s is not safe to drink) and local calls available free of charge. So stay here at your own risk, because judging by some other reviews, if Adrienne (or in my case Maria) decides for any reason they dislike you, you’re in for a very unpleasant time. I now look forward to the usual defensive reply at any negative reviews…

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank purplesmurf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiarevillage, Manager at Airport Motel - Tiare Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Kia Orana Andrea
Tiare Village pride ourselves in the ability to provide a clean, hospitable, informative and relaxing environment. As a Backpacker Accommodator for almost 12 years for Tiare Village I have had the privilege to meet and enjoy the company of literally hundreds of “incredible people from all over the world”. Many originally booked for 2 days and ended up staying for a month.. The weddings held here because this is where the couple met. Or those guests returning after 10 years with their partners, or the guests returning because their parents advised this is where they stayed 20 years ago.. Or the regular yearly returnee guests.. Or the English headmaster turned Author and wrote a book on his travels naming “Tiare Village” and his return stays here with us over the years, or the artist that painted his view of the village.. and so many many others.. BUT alas, there are the very very few (I am pleased to say) that one just cannot seem to do enough for and it ends in a review such as this.
I have chosen not to reply to your accusations as this is of your opinion. However, your opinion is not the same of the other guests staying at Tiare Village at the time you were here.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you are looking to have your hand held and 24/7 support, go and pay resort prices!

I had a fantastic stay with Maria. I stayed in a double dorm which was basic, clean and comfortable and offered unbelievable value for money. I was out and about every day walking, hiking, swimming, snorkelling and sunbathing and Tiare was a great base set back from the hullabaloo in a peaceful garden plot to return to.

I felt Tiare offered me the perfect blend of low cost, good cooking, washing, bathroom, sleeping facilities and will definitely look to return on my next visit
Thanks Maria & Bob the Tour Guide :-p

Room Tip: If you have a little extra money go stay poolside :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKaty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We loved our stay at Tiare Village. We were greeted by Adrienne at the airport with a welcoming friendly smile. Our pool unit was clean and private. We were given an extra unit free of charge!!. Thank you to Adrienne for being a very approachable and helpful host, we met some great people staying here as well which was one of the bonuses of being at a place like Tiare Village. We were very sad to leave and will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.5 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avarua
214 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.8 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Central Motel
Central Motel
#4 of 5 in Avarua
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#6 of 7 in Avarua
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Motel - Tiare Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motel - Tiare Village

Address: PO Box 719 | Atupa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Avarua
Price Range: £16 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AIRPORT MOTEL-Tiare Village is nestled in the secluded wooded hills of Rarotonga, approx 2.5 kilometres from AVARUA, the main town on the inland road, north side of the island. We are conveniently situated 1.5 kilometres from the airport, shopping centre, banks, market, nightlife, the Cross Island Walk and the beach in Nikao. We have a reputation with travellers and tourists alike, as being a friendly, clean and comfortable establishment. Fresh fruit (pawpaw, passion fruit, coconut, bread fruit, bananas, mangos, avocados, guavas and chillies) can be picked fresh from the trees in our garden when in season. We like to introduce each of our new guests hopefully to make one feel more comfortable. It can be lonely travelling on your own. You can chose to join the other guests Or you can read a book and admire the peaceful tropical surroundings and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Airport Motel - Tiare Village Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing