We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in the centre of town”
Review of Central Motel

Central Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Basic, clean, spic and span. That's the best description for Central Motel. Has aircon, hot and cold water, a fridge, tea/coffee facilities but no stove. Big selection of eating places within walking distance though. Friendly owner who also arranges airport pick ups and drops. Great for a quick business trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights before heading off to one of the outer islands. Although this motel is not on the beach it is very central to the shops and restaurants in town and not having to rent a car/scooter was a real bonus. The rooms are basic and clean and the atmosphere is friendly. WIFI was helpful as it gave us the chance to catch up on emails.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RoamingRonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Rooms simple but this is reflected in the price which has to be at least half the others on the island. Service great as the proprietor collected and took us to the airport( and he is quite a character as well!!) in the middle of the night

Room Tip: Rooms sparse but this is reflected in the price which has to be at least half the others on the isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Searching for somewhere to chill out before an early-morning flight to Auckland, I was unnerved by the mixed reviews of Central Motel. However, Malcolm could not have been more helpful, and the rate he quoted for an air-conditioned room, together with his efficient transfer service, was less than half that of the competition.
In the event, our room was spacious, spotless and comfortable, we were able to rest and shower before our flight, and Malcolm even organised an island safari with the inimitable 'Useless' and an ocean-front able at Trader Jack's. Altogether, top-notch service at a rock-bottom price.
Yes, the central location can be noisy and, no, it might not work for a week, but for an
overnight or short stay it sure did it for me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank linkscres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I stayed for 1 night, with a late checkout until midnight for an early morn flight. I choose this property for convenience to Avarua facilities, and the fact that a late checkout until midnight was available and affordable. This motel is best suited to the very independent traveller/business people who know their way around the island well, and who seek out a comfortable bed to rest, and space within the room to spread out. No frills are available here, and I wasn't looking for any either! There were few guests during the time I stayed and this suited my preferences very well. Parking immediately outside the motel was handy. Beware the road can become extremely noisy once the surrounding bars close. I would stay here again, inspite of the minor nuances described. Why? I got a very good deal from the onsite host for my length of stay. All up, Central Motel is a good find for the budget concious and overnighters market on Raro. Proximity to the airport reduces the cost of a transfer.. Telecom's internet bureau via the short-cuts across the road: as I didnt have a lap-top. Trader Jacks for bistro meals and ocean views.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frangipani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Convenient. Walk to all shopping, bus station, choice of good dining. Small family store just up the road for milk, bread, and the morning paper. walk to bnana bar or Salsa bar for breakfast. Secure parking for your scooter. What else do you want?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwashathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

NOt the place you would want to spend the whole holiday. I am sure there would be better for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuggJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
4.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
64 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Motel

Address: Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: £62 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Central Motel as it name implies, is in the centre of our main town Avarua. It is ideal for visiting consultants, business people, company representatives and tourists who like to be in town and still only a short bus,scooter,bike or car ride to fabulous beaches.We have 14 rooms and a small conference room. Our rooms have IDD phones, T.V's, fridges, toasters, kettles, mini bars, tea/coffee making facilities, fans and en-suite.There is a Spa pool to cool off in after meetings or just to cool off!We also have our own WiFi facilities for guests.The Central Motel is only 10 minutes from the airport and is within easy walking distance of most government offices/agencies, shops, restaurants, café, banks and museum and libraries. We can arrange car/scooter hire, tours and outer Island flights and tours. We have airport transfers and all our guests are met personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Motel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing