We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My ONLY regret ONLY got to eat here one time....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rob's Charcoal Chickens

Rob's Charcoal Chickens
Ranked #13 of 29 Restaurants in Avarua
Price range: US$2 - US$50
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Rob's Charcoal Chicken offers a range of tasty meals, a range of yummy salads and hot dishes. Fresh fruit smoothies and milkshakes all at great value! You'll keep coming back for more!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My ONLY regret ONLY got to eat here one time....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife & I found this wonderful restaurant quite by chance. The Cook Island Buses stop at Cooks Corner and the restaurant is tugged inside the courtyard.

I had the charbroil chicken with a side of salad (with soda) and was in culinary heaven from the first bite. The Place ROCKS! Sadly we are back home and can not just go over for lunch. It would be one of my first stops next time we holiday in Cook Islands.

My ONLY complaint was the business hours. Wish it had been open longer hours and on weekends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Full of Flavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stopped here for lunch and had the peri peri chicken wraps. They were fantastic and so full of flavour! They also have some really tasty drinks. Definitely recommend stopping here for lunch if your in town. Well priced as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KDCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great peri peri chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The peri peri chicken was divine. Quite spicy (hot), just the way I like.
They've got a few nice salads as well. My partner liked the curried paw paw.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YohanDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap tasty filling meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Great place for lunch, the chicken is delicious and the peri peri wrap is delicious if you like spicy. My mother was looking everywhere for cooked taro and came across it here so that was a plus. Ate here twice for lunch and you can see straight into there clean kitchen. The food is cheap and quality and portions are great it's only open during the day. Also their smoothies are yummy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME CHICKEN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had lunch here last week. Was very busy when I went in but you can expect that when the chicken is that good. Ordered half chicken with fries and gravy... Dam GOOD... Have been here once before and ordered the quarter chicken with fries and gravy, BUT I wanted more! I will definitely be dropping in for lunch more regularly from now on

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesthechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rob's Charcoal Chickens also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Rob's Charcoal Chickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing