We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing & well equipped”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan dinning Formal Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Open plan dinning
Formal Dining
Entertainment Area ++
Entertainment Area ++
Uninterrupted Views
Unbelievable Outlook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Avarua, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Viki-Lee...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful home but sadly that's where it ended”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
11
people found this review helpful

We booked for 1 weeks stay in July 2017. Our flight arrived at 1.30am so at 2am we arrived at our accommodation (with a 1 year old and someone with a broken leg) to find that it was occupied with tenants already. Thankfully the owner Paul was there and gave us somewhere to stay for the night and corrected the error. But we had to wait for an hour while they cleaned the other house for us so we weren't able to settle in for the night till after 3am. We were able to move into unit 4 at 2pm the following day. Our main reason for visiting Raro was for my husband's grandmother's unveiling so we had a few family members on the island staying in resorts. On our first night we had a couple of family members over for a bbq and beers. We had phone calls and verbal abuse yelled at us by the property manager and other tenants so I drove everyone home apparently it was the laughing that was to loud. On our second to last night we had a early afternoon bbq with family and I told everyone that they couldnt drink there so they went out to a local bar at 7pm with a sober driver doing trip to ensure everyone got there safely. They left there cars at the unit for the night and returned early in the morning to pick it them up. We then had the property manager come over and complain about excessive people over for early dinner. Kids noise from between 7pm and 8pm. Cars left on the property and she tried to charge us for extra people that didnt even stay all because there were 2 extra cars left behind. Rose the property manager was nice the first day when there was a massive stuff up with our accommodation but after that we found her to be rude and followed us and watched us whenever we went outside. She only ever approached me not the other 3 adults that's were staying there aswell. She was rude when we asked for a new gas bottle for the bbq. (Shared bbq so dont rely on the bbq to cook on everynight) was difficult to get clothes line space to hang clothes as the property manager used 90% of the lines for linen.(it takes 2 days to dry your clothing under the house. The stairs are very slippery in the wet (no safety non slip strips on the stairs). I walked down the back stairs and had a massive slip and fall and hurt my back badly and sprained my finger. But the house is beautiful and the view is amazing but not recommended for older people with mobility issues (slippery stairs) people with children (excessive children noise between 7pm and 8pm) If you plan on having friends over for a bbq it is not recommended (excessive people) And I suggest you don't let people park there cars there if you decide to go out as you will be charged for extra people. After paying just under $3000nzd for 1 week we felt like we were let down. No fresh sheets the whole time we were there (she said she'll do fresh linen on the 3rd day). 1 teatowel for the week. Paul was easy to deal with and fast at responding to emails. Sadly we will not stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrislp9
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Very relaxing & well equipped”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property is as advertised but I was pleasantly surprised that it's feels bigger & looked nicer than from what I remembered in the photos.

The view over the lagoon is very pleasant to look at & is peaceful. The property is modern, tidy & well equipped plus it's in a good location being close to shops & the main town. The landlord & manager were very friendly & easy to deal with.

We enjoyed our time there is it's a great holiday house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklO775...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic outlook, handy location.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Was very pleasantly surprised when we got up the first morning (we arrived after dark) to discover just how close to the beach we were, and how well the house was laid out. The kitchen was very well equipped, in fact the entire house was well equipped, there were a couple of sea kayaks under the house, a hot/cold outdoor shower to rinse the sand off, there was a wifi router in the house (required signing up to CI Telecom internet deal (~$10nzd for 100mb, $25nzd for 500mb as of May 2015)
Rose was very friendly too.
You can walk to the house from the airport if you wanted to save on the $15 per person shuttle cost (regular taxi should have been cheaper but if you can't fit in a regular sized car, expect a shuttle) but I'd only consider doing so if arriving on the early 7/8am flight and could easily carry your luggage - it's about a 1.8km walk.

The house is ~200m from a 24x7 service station that had fair prices and sold a wide variety of groceries - very handy when your first day on the island is a sunday and nothing else is open!

If you are a light sleeper, I'd strongly recommend you take ear plugs due to the close proximity to the road, airport & the local roosters. Though roosters will be a problem wherever you stay, unless you stay in a resort (and even then I could not guarantee you'll escape them!) and to be honest there weren't many around this house - though they do seem to freely roam the island!

I down rated "how easy to book this property" due to issues experienced with the Trip Advisor App, communication with Paul was prompt and good so the rating has no reflect on his service.
We had a little trouble finding the house - the instructions said nothing about cottage 4 being on the other side of the road to the first three cottages - should have been clear from the beach front photos, but at 9pm at night in pitch black you don't always think straight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the deck eating breakfast while looking out at the pacific ocean
Liked least: Proximity to the road & airport
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClienteGC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage with an amazing views”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 6 days in Nikao Cottage unit 4 and everything was excellent. The cottage is very clean and the rooms are fantastic. The landlord and the manager were very helpfull. We loved our early morning breackfast enjoying the amazing beach views.
Very close to the airport and the main town.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
406Jill
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a week in this home and had a fantastic time. The views are nothing short of stunning and the home is very new, modern and well appointed. We had fresh caught tuna, so we took advantage of the great kitchen and grill and cooked in most nights. We enjoyed taking the kayaks out for fishing near the reef. There is a convenience store within walking distance. You need to take the bus or rent a car/scooter to get to town. We loved our week exploring Raro and all its different sides. The property manager is very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this house for adults who love a great, relaxing and private view. I wish I was still sitting on that porch!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paddlinga...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than the photos”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

wonderful modern beach house, with breath-taking views, modern facilities and an awesome living space. Convenient location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing