We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Rock Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Rock Villas
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at Black Rock Villas. We are a family of 5 with 3 three teenage sons and we had plenty of space. The villas are light and roomy with very comfortable beds. The pool was excellent and we used it every day - close to the barbeque which we used for 3 meals. Just across the road from the lagoon where there was some great snorkelling. We enjoyed Lucy the three legged dog who is gentle welcoming presence. Andy and Michelle were friendly, helpful and nothing seemed to be a bother. Fantastic time had by all! Thanks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AKDLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wonderful location and great villa! just off the beach with some of the best snorkeling in Raro. the best part was the friendly owners who provided us with heaps of great local knowledge to make our stay wonderful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 443traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My recent stay at Black Rock Villas was perfect in all ways. The villa is spacious, light, well-presented, very clean, private, quiet, and ideal as a home base for work or holiday stay in Rarotonga. Their pool is amazing and only steps away from the villa. The hosts, Michelle and Andy, are friendly, professional and provided prompt contact and follow up to my pre-arrival online contact, and after my stay. The villa is above the road, which provides a nice outlook, and the location is handy to main town and beaches. Michelle and Andy thank you so much for a perfect location, facility and stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank K1w12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch at Black Rock was certainly a highlight. There is both a tapas and full menu for lunch...using seasonal produce..best dining experience on the island...presented by a very talented chef. Add local musicians and great hosts and you have the best the Cook Islands can offer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cwardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I can't recommend Black Rock Villas highly enough. As a family of 5, with 3 teenagers, it isn't easy to find places to stay that can cater for us all without having to get several units. Black Rock Villas was perfect for our family, with the pool right there and a wonderful snorkeling, and great facilities. Michelle and Andy we thank you for your wonderful, friendly and personal hosting ability. A great holiday in an amazing location. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from spending a week at Black Rock Villas. Our time there was great - the villa was excellent, clean, practical and private, and Andy & Michelle went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. If you want a lively beach side resort, this is not the place for you; but if you are are looking for somewhere peaceful where you can relax quietly, yet be close to town and beaches, then I can't imagine you will beat Black Rock Villas. This, for us, was the essence of the Cook Islands. Paradise, many thanks Andy & Michelle!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have escaped to Rarotonga annually for over 20 years and for the last 7 years have used Black Rock Villas as our base. In some ways I am reluctant to say too much about this gem because it might jeopardise our chances of getting the units when we want them. However that would be disrespectful to the hosts Michelle and Andy who have a great facility and offer great service.
The self contained units are less than 5 mins walk to the beach, but who needs to leave the property when you have your own magnificent infinity swimming pool with elevated views out to sea, in front of your unit.
It all works for us and is easy walking distance to the golf course ....important if the 19th becomes a problem

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank D'Arcy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.0 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Villas

Property: Black Rock Villas
Address: P.O. Box 3067, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious,private,modern villas overlooking the lagoon,next to the Golf Course,on the sunny side of the Island.Both villas have 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms,T.V.DVD and a complimentary DVD selection.Fully equipped kitchen,dishwasher and a private garden with outside oven and BBQ.We are opposite the famous Black Rock,with its natural deep swimming hole.The ever changing magnificent sunsets and large infinity pool,along with the on-site licensed cafe makes Blackrock Villas a perfect place for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Black Rock Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing