We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room rates too high”
Review of The Islander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Islander Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Room rates too high”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We recently stayed a night before and after flights to and from Aitutaki. We have stayed here in the past, when room rates were around the $100 a night but this time we paid $160 and for what is essentially 2 star+ accommodation. The rooms are basic. No air conditioning, curtains barely cover the windows. Toilet not flushing properly. Shower head broken. One cup and one glass in a room with 2 king beds.No Tv. Louvre windows into the hall, which can be noisy. This time the bathroom wasn't clean either. Uncomfortable beds.
It is 2 min walk to the airport and we were offered a ride across the road when it was drizzling, which we appreciated.
On a Positive note, the Cocktails are great and I had the best Tuna I have had on all our trips to the Cooks. Just seared and no more. Nice outlook from the bar/ restaurant out to the lagoon.
It is convenient to the airport but we will consider another option next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    61
    57
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
87
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I had eight hours to kill in Raro waiting for my flight back to New Zealand. I was hot and check in didn't open til 11.30pm.
I walked across the road to the Aquarius where a lovely lady called Dawn welcomed me. Nothing was a problem. I could leave my luggage there, use the pool, have a drink at the bar and eat at the restaurant. Nobody minded that I would be there for 8 hours. Also, the prices were very reasonable and the food was good quality. This place was fantastic. Thanks heaps Dawn for making such a tedious wait so enjoyable.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the resort, I just ate at the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Having read through the reviews on Tripadvisor we had a clear idea of what to expect for this hotel. It provided a convenient place to rest for the night before heading across to Aitutaki. Our room’s ceiling fan wasn’t working and the person at the front desk wasn’t very helpful with this, but the desk fan that was used in place of the ceiling fan was actually more useful at keeping us decently cool through the night. We had breakfast here the next morning which was tasty and good value. The restaurant has nice views in front of the pool and out further to the reef. On our way back from Aitutaki we had lunch at the restaurant which was also a pleasant experience. Overall we’d recommend the Aquarius for a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b_and_d_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Not the greatest place for a holiday since the location is far from ideal BUT very convenient if you need to stay near the airport because of a late arrival and early departure like we did.
I would stay here again in these circumstances.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank greentravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back to NZ from Aitutaki. I was a little hesitant as from the outside it doesn't look much but found it very clean, large rooms and surprisingly quiet. Really couldn't fault it and enjoyed being close to the airport which made life a lot simpler.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morgandNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Spent a night here en-route to Aitutaki.
What a lovely place to stay,clean,right opposite the airport,very handy.
Had one of the best meals on our trip here,fantastic.
Staff were brilliant and it has the best coffee on the island.
Mine host Terry is fantastic,a great guy to sit and chat to.
We had a most pleasant eveing here.
Thanks guys for a great stay and Terry, you are fabulous,thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Handy spot to wait for your red eye flight.... Particularly if u are going to Atutaki. Nice pool area, bar, restaurant. Food is very good. Public loos could do with a good clean. Really it's all about the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Property: The Islander Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing