We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of The Islander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Islander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Under new management/owners and what a difference! Fantastic friendly service, great food.
Excellent pool for a swim and the lighting is beautiful-get there before 6pm! Lucky enough to have a delightful sunset too. Thank You, we will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RaroWildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Managing Director at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your recent dining experience with us.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel has indeed had a change of ownership & management and will undergo extensive renovations and the rooms will be upgraded to feature standard 4-star amenities including: air conditioning, IDD telephone, new king beds, new lounge furniture, satellite sky tv on LED flat screens, in-room safe, smart LED mood lighting, refreshed bathroom & amenities & complimentary toiletries.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team and that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant. We are pleased to advise that we have just launched a fantastic value for money happy hour offer with 'buy 1 get 1 free' from 4-6pm, daily.

Things are only going to get better from this day forward and we do hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Rohan Ellis
Managing Director
The Islander Hotel, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for The Islander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We checked in at 9am the morning before our plane left after being at sea for 2 weeks. The front desk person was not very friendly or welcoming. We were looking for a place to shower and rest before our midnight plane. The room was basic, had a fridge, no AC but it was not too hot. There was some mildew on the pictures in the room, tiles missing out of the bathroom floor and the towels were old and thin. We ate in the restaurant, I had the pancakes which were really great. The restaurant staff was very prompt and friendly. We had drinks during happy hour which were by one get one free and watched a lovely sunset outdoors also. This place met our basic needs but if I had booked this as a hotel to stay long term, I would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljmzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Managing Director at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel will undergo extensive renovations and the rooms will be upgraded to feature standard 4-star amenities including: air conditioning, IDD telephone, new king beds, new lounge furniture, satellite sky tv on LED flat screens, in-room safe, smart LED mood lighting, refreshed bathroom & amenities & complimentary toiletries.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team and that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant as well as our fantastic value happy hour offer of the 'buy 1 get 1 free' from 4-6pm, daily.

Things are only going to get better from this day forward and we do hope you give us another try on your next visit to Rarotonga.

Kia Manuia,

Rohan Ellis
Managing Director
The Islander Hotel, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After reading other reviews, I realise we were lucky. we arrived unbooked for a Sunday night meal with friends. We were with ex pats that lived in Rarotonga and were known to the Management! The staff were friendly, the meal was good and we were there about 8pm. Understandably my first choice of meal was unavailable. The choice I was given was tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryrose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Managing Director at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your April 2014 dining experience.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel has had a change of ownership & management and will undergo extensive renovations and the rooms will be upgraded to feature standard 4-star amenities including: air conditioning, IDD telephone, new king beds, new lounge furniture, satellite sky tv on LED flat screens, in-room safe, smart LED mood lighting, refreshed bathroom & amenities & complimentary toiletries.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team and that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant. Please note that we have introduced a new fantastic value for money happy hour offer of 'buy 1 get 1 free' from 4-6pm, daily.

Things are only going to get better from this day forward and we do hope you give us another try on your next visit to Rarotonga.

Kia Manuia,

Rohan Ellis
Managing Director
The Islander Hotel, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was so disappointed with out stay at Aquarius Rarotonga. We were looking for somewhere to stay close to the airport until our flight out at 1am. Feeling unwell we decided to just go with this place. All we wanted was a bed and a TV to relax for a while. We were given room 1 right next to the dining room. This room was incredibly noisy we could hear a contant noise from the kitchen with someone cleaning cutlery (I am sure they were cleaning the cutlery for the whole of the cook Islands). Could also hear the noise from the rugby and music too. Bedding had holes in the sheets and pillows white towels were grey and old. Bathroom was not the cleanest, shower came out in a trickle and was cold no matter what you did. Leg was falling off the dining chair. TV did not work and when we asked for assistance we were told someone would come and look in 15 minutes. 1 hour later when asking again we were told that $175 per night didn't necessarily come with TV use. (SKY TV box was rusty so the TV just didn't work). No milk or coffee in room and just one mug between two. I generally don't mind too much about rooms in the cook Islands I have been before and realise they will not be of the highest quality but this place was more expensive than some much nice places we have stayed here in the cooks. It is such a good location for late flights but please do not waste your money! We love the cook Islands but this place was the pits!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hildy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Managing Director at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Kia Orana,

We're sorry to read about your stay.

We have just purchased the hotel and are busy with renovations and staff training and rebranding to hopefully deliver a strong 3.5 - 4 star hotel - restaurant - bar product & service.

We hope you give us another try in the near future.

Kia Manuia,

Rohan Ellis
Managing Director
The Islander Hotel, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We needed a place to stay for an overnight stop close to the airport. This was perfect! We had to be at the airport early in the morning. It is a quick 5 minute walk to the airport. Had supper in the restaurant at the hotel and it was a very nice meal. The room was very clean and quiet. Would definitely recommend, especially if you have just come in from the airport or have to leave early in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Managing Director at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your March 2014 stay.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel has had a change of ownership & management and will undergo extensive renovations and the rooms will be upgraded to feature standard 4-star amenities including: air conditioning, IDD telephone, new king beds, new lounge furniture, satellite sky tv on LED flat screens, in-room safe, smart LED mood lighting, refreshed bathroom & amenities & complimentary toiletries.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team and that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant. We are pleased to advise that we have just launched a fantastic value for money happy hour offer with 'buy 1 get 1 free' from 4-6pm, daily.

Things are only going to get better from this day forward and we do hope you give us another try on your next visit to Rarotonga.

Kia Manuia,

Rohan Ellis
Managing Director
The Islander Hotel, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have eaten several meals at this restaurant and found it very handy as it is across the road from the Airport. The staff showed us around the revamped accommodation which appeared comfortable. The rates are reasonable. The view out to sea and the swimming pool beside the dining tables help to make this place very convenient and pleasant to visit. Meals and service are both very good.

Room Tip: We have not stayed here but the accommodation appears to be very comfortable........not five star bu...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lita-Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Managing Director at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your February 2014 stay.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel has had a change of ownership & management and will undergo extensive renovations and the rooms will be upgraded to feature standard 4-star amenities including: air conditioning, IDD telephone, new king beds, new lounge furniture, satellite sky tv on LED flat screens, in-room safe, smart LED mood lighting, refreshed bathroom & amenities & complimentary toiletries.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team and that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant. We are pleased to advise that we have just launched a fantastic value for money happy hour offer with 'buy 1 get 1 free' from 4-6pm, daily.

Things are only going to get better from this day forward and we do hope you give us another try on your next visit to Rarotonga.

Kia Manuia,

Rohan Ellis
Managing Director
The Islander Hotel, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Reception staff were very offhand when we arrived; it seemed like we were a nuisance and interrupting their day. Shown to the room; very basic & not helped that we were greeted by two very large cockroaches! No radio, TV or clock. One (old) towel each on the bed; a packet with soap in the bathroom; a bar fridge with two cups and one saucer; basic tea and coffee supplies. The place is very tired and would struggle to get 2 star rating in NZ. Overnight it was extremely noisy with people, staff and children up and down the corridor talking loudly so very little sleep. The bed was a 'king' but in fact was two non-matching singles pushed together; one with a definite lean towards the floor. We were surprised to find breakfast available in the morning as this had not been mentioned when we booked in. It was perfectly adequate with toast & spreads and a selection of fruit. On the plus side the views from the windows and around are fantastic and a good number of loungers and hammocks are available. The pool available from 0800 - 1800 was a welcome cool off time. This place has heaps of potential not being realised.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor and have lovely sea views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Managing Director at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your Nov 2013 stay.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel has had a change of ownership & management and will undergo extensive renovations and the rooms will be upgraded to feature standard 4-star amenities including: air conditioning, IDD telephone, new king beds, new lounge furniture, satellite sky tv on LED flat screens, in-room safe, smart LED mood lighting, refreshed bathroom & amenities & complimentary toiletries.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team and that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant as well as our fantastic value happy hour offer of the 'buy 1 get 1 free' from 4-6pm, daily.

Things are only going to get better from this day forward and we do hope you give us another try on your next visit to Rarotonga.

Kia Manuia,

Rohan Ellis
Managing Director
The Islander Hotel, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
5.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.5 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
558 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: | Main Road, Panama Beachfront, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: £100 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing