We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Wine needs to change”

Tamarind House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The exclusive, romantic and private restaurant venue on the island with delicious and world-renowned Pacific cuisine. Away from the crowds and the public eye, a fine dining evening with your loved ones or a wedding at Tamarind House is an extra special experience. Whether your requirements are large or small, we are eager to accommodate you with an event that you will long remember. Tamarind House is a versatile venue offering five different areas to suit any occasion. Tamarind House Restaurant on the island of Rarotonga in the Cook Islands is situated on a large oceanfront property, with it's stately beautifully restored historic colonial house, huge verandas and french doors, and a lovely garden shaded by coconut palms and green lawns sweeping down to the ocean. It is just a 3 minute drive from the town centre, and the round the island bus stops just by the entrance. You can enjoy a feeling of nostalgia for a bygone era in the peaceful seclusion of our truly unique tropical setting..
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“House Wine needs to change”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great venue and good food. Sadly diner was let down by budget style house red and white wine. No excuse for this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K1mP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    270
    80
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ISLAND DINING IN STYLE”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This would have to be the best fine dining restaurant in Rarotonga. Beautiful food, excellent service, not to mention a top dining environment in an old world colonial establishment overlooking the northeast coastline of Rarotonga, not far from Avarua. We had tried to get in there on previous occasions but were always shut over the Dec/Jan holiday period. We were over there in March for friends' honeymoon and the eight of us all thoroughly enjoyed a beautiful meal in a beautiful location. This is a must Sue Carruthers is responsible for many of the recipes for dishes served and has written a couple of recipe books comprising local seafood, fruit and vegetable ingredients. We have travelled to Rarotonga many times but this establishment would have to be the best for fine dining. Sue Carruthers also has input to the Rickshaw Restaurant at Muri Beach which is on the southern coastline of Rarotonga Island where we also dined. This was a cheaper restaurant but also served lovely food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous outlook with lovely food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon, restaurant and outlook is lovely as were the staff. Menu wasn't that extensive but nice enough, we shared the special Brie and mushroom filo and pork dumpling/wontons both were really nice. Wasn't as expensive as I thought it was going to be, fairly similar to most other restaurants on the island.

Helpful?
Thank Mishka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“top choice in Rarotonga”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Tamarind House has a beautiful location directly on the beach. Nice atmosphere, friendly service, and most importantly very tasty food. Open for lunch (only a couple of days) and for dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jurgen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on Raro”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

In the ten days we spent on Raro we went to Tamarind House for lunch twice and for dinner once. We thought that the food was great and we loved the setting and the faded colonial feel of the building. A great memory of the Cook Islands. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLFP_WSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind House Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Tamarind House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing