We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natalei Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Viti Levu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Natalei Eco Lodge
Suva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relax trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our trip was to reward my daughter for her excellent FSLC marks. We arrived very late on friday nite and was surprised to see the ladies wait for us to have dinner. The local breakfast of pancakes, pudding and coconut was amazing. Even the BBQ lunch was hefty. We noted that there was a lot of passion put in for the preparation of the food. The children thoroughly enjoyed the sea trip to moon reef to check out the dolphins. The accomodation was fitting and clean. The staff's generous smiles and service are its greatest assets. Vili is commendable for his friendliness and flexibility in the hotel's promotion. All the best this year.

Nabola family

Room Tip: All the bure are facing the sea where the breeze is coming from so they are all well ventilated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vito N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suva City, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Well, It was great at the Natalei Eco Resort.... The first time that I got to visit the place was 2 years ago and it was great!! The food was awesome and the life out there is just relaxing!! If u are looking to run away from the life of technology and just wanna relax with family and friends Natalei is the place to be..... I went again last year and we went dolphin watching and it was great!! It was the first time that I actually got to see real life dolphin....... The trip was pretty fantastic with the friendly Kitchen Staff and the kind villagers always there to start up a conversation when you are feeling lonely!! It is indeed a great place to relax!!

There are no swimming pool or fitness centre..... But they do have a great BEACH for beach party and Bon Fire and Natural Exercise like Kayaks and a great Hike up to the Waterfall!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackMoimoi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

My 3 friends and I spent 3 nights at Natalei. The food was great. We applaud the locally-run resort for trying on the accomodations, but it failed miserably.

The bures that had electricity were supplied by indoor-grade extention cords that were hung dangerously close to the ground. No power-point outlets in the bures, and not enough light to ready by.

No snorkeling anywhere near the resort due to the nearby river.

I really want to support local businesses, but do yourself a favor and go to Ovalau, Naigani, Volivoli or Nananu-i-Ra instead. The manager, "Jay", just doesn't 'get it' yet.

Justine

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jidina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We contacted Vili at (679) 949 7460 to make a reservation just one day before we were to arrive. He advised us on transportation (local bus or taxi options- about 3 hours from Suva). A woman met us at the bus stop and guided us through the village to the lodge (women will want to have modest dress on hand to cover up for the walk through the village).

Natalei Eco-Lodge is a locally run, community based tourism project, situated in a perfect location. It is just outside the village, right on a black sand beach, with nice views of the hills behind. There are several bures. We were the only ones there at the time, so they put us in the newly built bure all the way at the end. It was huge! It could have probably slept 8-10 and had an en-suite toilet and shower (cold water).

Upon our arrival, we were given a short tour of the premises and briefed on meal times and activities. When we made our reservation we let them know that I was a vegetarian. We were expecting the meal that would be provided for both of us to be vegetarian, but they generously provided both meat and veggie options at each meal. The meals were large enough to feed a whole family!

The daily rate is very reasonable and includes 3 meals and all activities (kayaks, snorkel equipment, guided hikes). We did the hike up to Tova Peak, which was quite strenuous at times, but provided an amazing view from the top, and stopped at a small waterfall for a swim on the way back. We also did the Moon Reef snorkel/Dolphin Watch boat tour (an extra fee), which was truly fantastic. After a short (~20min) ride from the lodge, our boat was surrounded by about 50 spinner dolphins! We watched them for a while and then moved on to snorkeling at Moon Reef. This is one of the healthiest reefs in Fiji with incredible coral diversity. We saw lobsters, squid, giant clams, clownfish, and other beautiful reef fish. Wished we could have stayed all day! But, we had to make it back for another delicious meal and to make our way back to Suva. The lodge also provides the opportunity for days trips to do the snorkel&dolphin tour. We actually were able to get a ride back to Suva with a day tripper, which was very convenient.

All in all, it was a super spot with lots to do and great service. Perfect for those who want to get a sense of Fiji (it is surrounded by the village), get out and enjoy the natural world, just relax, or have some combination of all these. We've been to several spots around the country, and think Natalei is a real gem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank rdacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viti Levu
0.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
0.0 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tokatoka Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natalei Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natalei Eco Lodge

Property: Natalei Eco Lodge
Address: Nataleira Village, Dawasamu, Tailevu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Viti Levu
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Natalei Eco Lodge Fiji/Viti Levu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing