We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money”
Review of Bluewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluewater Lodge
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We got a double room for one night.the staff is friendly,the lady at the reception really helpful and professional. It was quite empty so very quiet.the bathroom really clean,shower is ok, the bed really clean and super soft comfortable.the room is very small and dark but you have all what you need(aircon).the restaurant and the cook are great, everything fresh and cheap.you can get cocktails too.the pool is very small and not so clean.position is fine if you want to be closed to the city of nadi,airport and denarau but you prefer a peaceful spot by the sea.the only pity is the breakfast because is really poor (artificial orange juice,a couple of toasts with a cheap jam and 1 slice of ananas,coffe).we entered the kitchen and help ourselves for breakfast taking what the others guests had because the boy who was in charge of it slept deep (8.30!!) on the floor and nobody was around.I mean: if you need a taxi or a bill or something it's better to arrange all the previous evening.It's a pity because the other people of the staff were very professional.definitely we go back there when we go back in town because for the money it's worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zyrylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

I was traveling with two others in 2010, making our way to Vorovoro, Fiji to stay with Tribe Wanted (www.tribewanted.com). We needed somewhere to stay for a couple days before and after our stay with the tribe on Vorovoro, and this seemed to have the best reviews. Sure enough, the reviews could not be more accurate. Through six months of traveling, this was unquestionably the most welcoming hostel I stayed at, and probably the best food in that time span as well! It's a bit off the beaten path but certainly worth it, and easy to get a taxi to take you anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I had called the previous day, "yes, yes", an Australian voice told me, "we have a single room". I believed the girl and tried to check in next day after a long bus ride. There was nobody at the reception, a girl who seems not to be talking showed up and just nodded. Then a young fellow who treid to speak to other people, eventually he wanted to give me a dorm room with no ensuite .... I fled.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed in a room with 4 beds and had a very nice stay. Here are some details:

STAFF/SERVICE: Fantastic. The hostel was nearly empty so we had the full attention of the staff, especially “Pa,” who even took the time to show me the Lovo and how Fijians use it to cook traditional meals. Try to have exact change as breaking larger bills were somewhat of an issue. *Tip – Book on HostelWorld to save a few bucks per night.

AMENITIES:
-Free breakfast that is served to you. We had coffee/tea, fruit and toast. There may have been more but we were in a rush to catch our Awesome Adventures bus to Port Denaru.
-Swimming pool looked nice but we didn’t have time to use it
-Laundry lines and clothespins are free to use
-Very nice menu for dinner. We only tried the calamari ($8 FJD). Small portion but delicious…could be the best I’ve had. Beer was about $4-5 FJD and large bottled water was $2-3. They also offered a drink menu and jugs of rum/coke for $15.
-Small library of books and guidebooks
-Wifi was very spotty but we were able to make some last facebook posts before heading out with no wifi for the next several days

ROOM/BATHROOM:
-Room was clean and the AC worked very well! Foot lockers provided, which is good for small bags and valuables (bring your own lock). Could use some more outlets and don’t forget your power converters.
-Bathrooms/showers were clean and everything worked well. Don’t be freaked out by a few bugs…it’s an island!

COMMON AREAS: The bar, dining area and pool are all in the same area and very clean and relaxing. No kitchen area for personal use since they offer full bar/restaurant services.

LOCATION: Half a block from the beach and Smuggler’s Cove, a more hopping hostel with full restaurant service (lack of social atmosphere is the only reason Bluewater got 4 instead of 5 stars). We ran on the beach but I would never do it again without sneakers…lots of broken beer bottles to dodge. The ocean was fine but definitely not tropical. We felt very secure in the hostel and they lock it down at night. An airport pickup can be arranged. Cost is $12 for the vehicle (not per person) but don’t be surprised when the driver charges another few bucks for “luggage delivery fee.” Make sure you ask the staff at the welcome desk at the airport to call the hostel for you and send the driver.

For more details about our trip, including pictures, check out our blog post here (copy and paste into your browser): http://thecarpediemcouple.com/2012/11/22/talk-about-remote/

Cheers,
Mike (one half of The Carpe Diem Couple)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCarpeDiemCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed here only 1 night and didn't have high expectations as it was just a quick stopover before flying out from Nadi. We just wanted a clean place with a toilet just to freshen up. Even though it's a budget hotel, there should still be some basic standards. We stayed in a double room with an ensuite. Our room was reasonably clean, but we had no towels and we had to ask for towels and when we got them they were still a bit damp. It was dried in a rush and given to us. The attached toilet and bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly as the shower gel & shampoo had not been replenished (the used bottles were still there) and there were a couple of removable stains on the toilet.
The location of this place is very good as it is close to the airport, near the beach and has other resorts nearby. I do have to say despite the above issues, the people at this resort were very friendly.
We will probably try another budget hotel the next time we are in Nadi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preetsdamantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Was absolutely delighted to have been recommended Blue Water Lodge by a friend. The Lodge and pool is clean, the staff here are extremely helpful, the food is fantastic and the location ideal. It is in the main area of Nadi amongst the other popular resorts, but in my opinion the best in the area, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights and i could not fault the place. Its a tucked away backpackers, mainly used for the stop off before heading to the islands.
Its only small but around the corner is Smugglers, the young party backpackers.
The food is to die for. $20fjd gets you 2 courses. This is the best food i had.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The pool is nice and clean. Dorms are not over crowded. there is 2 showers and one toilet.
You dont get your bed serviced but i didnt think that was a problem. I had no problem with security, there is a lock up chest under your bed. Most people didn’t even use it.
The aircon works and there is Wifi too.
I loved staying here and I will stay again when I return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Young_and_Free_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1.9 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0 mi away
Beach Escape Villas
Beach Escape Villas
#13 of 25 in Nadi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Lodge

Address: Baravi Road | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: £9 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluewater Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Lodge is a cheap and cheerful tropical property. We warmly welcome alternative travellers seeking a quiet and peaceful Nadi stay, just 2 minutes walk from the beach. Our property offers twin share rooms, ensuite rooms and also dorm beds. There is a lovely pool, a spacious outdoor area, free wifi and a great Fiji travel info desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bluewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Hotel Nadi
Bluewater Lodge Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing