We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travellers Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Nadi
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Wailoaloa Beach (aka Newtown) is a hidden gem in the Nadi tourist market. I first came here in 1999, when there were a handful of places to stay, aiming at backpackers/budget travellers, including three beach-front properties, whose bars and restaurants were the centre of the social life.
Now, there are tarmac roads to the beach, the local shop is three times the size and there are 7 or 8 hotels along the beach-front, all with bars and restaurants. The area remains a backpacker haven but there are some newer properties offering more luxurious features. Traveller's Beach has expanded somewhat and now boasts a small swimming pool with (very) small spa-pool. Our "budget" en-suite double, in the extension across the road - actually, a double bed plus single, with fan, fridge, kettle and sink - was clean, spacious and well-ventilated, well worth the FJ$60 (about £20, US$30). The back door opened on to a grassy area, with laundry sinks and clothes-line. I had also booked an air-con room, for my cousin from the UK, for his first night in Fiji. When the receptionist showed me the room, it wasn't quite ready (not unreasonable at 11am) - had been cleaned, but needed towels, etc. By the time we returned from the airport at 2pm, he had been upgraded to a beach-front room at no extra charge. He was delighted with the room, and indeed with the hotel. After 4 weeks of similar-quality accommodation in Oz and NZ, he thought the FJ$70 room price was a bargain. (Incidentally, unless you are a total water-baby, the beachfront room is not worth the extra - next to the pool, so noisy in the morning, and smaller than the other rooms). The staff were exceedingly helpful. This place is not just for the backpackers!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChriscoSuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2010

When we arrived we found the beds to be dusty and full of cobwebs,like nobody had used them in a while. they didn't even bother to clean it up! there were huge ants every where, and the beds were infested with bugs! at night we had no electricity so we had to bath in darkness! there were no fans, it was so hot! we left the night we arrived. went to a place down the road. much better with a/c. when we went get our receipt the manger, Tilly, yelled at us for leaving early! What a cow!. anyway... i DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TillyIsACow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

paid in advance for 4 nights but could not tolerate the place anymore than 2, did not bother to ask for refund because the place was that bad couldnt wait to get out of there. When we arrived the ladies were still "cleaning?" the room, they left and left us behind to fight the bugs, and huge they were!!! The staff could not have been less helpful, and did not even to ask why we were checking out 2 days early. If you are thinking of staying here DONT!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen030959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We stayed with Travellers Beach Resort on Feb 26, and we are very disappointed with their service. When we arrived on the airport in the morning on that date, we couldnot find any courtesy phone to call them to pick us up(whcih said it is free pick up on your website). We asked the person at the information kiosk and they said there is no such phone and suttle bus and suggested that we should take a cab to go instead at a cost of FJD$20. I insisted to take a meter taxi to that staff and finally we got on the meter taxi . Right after the taxi driver started his car, he then told us the suttle bus was just outside the door!!! What kind of information is given to travellers, are they only interested in ripping off the travellers money. Finally we arrived to Travellers by paying FJD$6.00 and the receptionist said the hotel will refund us the taxi fee.

We checked in for room #7 and #8 both beach front. My friends wereing staying at room #8. After half an hour later, while one of my friend was taking shower, she found a big spider inside the bathroom and it was big about 2 inches in diameter, the huge hairy one. She quickly srceamed out the bathroom and it went under the bed. The hotel staff sent a maintenience guy to catch the spider but they couldn't find it and they decided to spray the room. The receptionist said to my friend that we should return to their room after a few hours after the spray. My friend refused to go back to the same room in risking of the poison spider and the spray. They changed my friends to Room #6 (garden face) and said it will be charged $70/n instead and we agreed. But later on, the receptionist approached us and said their Manager want my friend to go back to the same room and said this kind of spider is not dangerous and the spray is not harmfull. We were very angry for their suggestion as all they were attempting is to ignore the refund of the difference in the room charges. We refused to go back to the same room and they even wanted us to stay for a few hours for the manager to come back and talk to us. We came here to enjoy our holiday but not to waste our time for this stupid matter and we went out to town.

This was not finished, when the night came and we were all sleeping in our room, the electricity went out. Again, my friend's room, #6, electricity went out and even worst is that their air-cond broke down too. They sent the maintenience guy to fix it four times, but no luck, it was dead and it was almost 12:am in the morning . They slept in this hot stuffy room all night (over 30C) and was sweating to death.

The next morning, they promised to have the breakfast by 7:am as we had to go on a criuse and leaving by 7:30am.
Since my friends could not sleep and they went out at 7 but nobody was around. Not until then, the staff arrived at work and our breakfast was served at 7:30 instead.

We have travelled to many different parts of the world, and I am asured that this is the worst experience that we ever had.
We have requested fiji-hotels.com.fiji for the refund as we booked this terrible resort on their website but until now they haven't reply to us yet and we wiil strongly not recommend this hotel to any others travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckycookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We paid approx $80 per night for motel accomodation.
To my way of thinking this was strictly 1 star motel accommodation... looks nice on the photo's and is close to the beach, but is very basic.
Meals were very average as well.
Accommodation included free transfers from the airport but not from the resort back to the airport.
On the day of departure, the manageress at the resort arranged for a taxi back to the airport, and I later found out from the driver that she takes a commission for doing so ....... but an additional 80% is a bit much to my way of thinking.

Would only recommend as basic backpacker accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brydonjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We wanted somewhere as a base to travel in fiji and this was perfect for us. It was cheap and you could store your stuff whilst travelling around the islands. We stayed here for 2 weeks and it was vey basic but we just wanted something cheap on the beach and this was it. Wouldnt recommend to families or someone looking for luxury but great for backpackers that just want something cheap beside water. we saw 2008 in on the beach with a bonfire and it was spectacular watching everyone take in the new year you could see all the binfires on the islands and one island had fireworks. There wass ome torrential rain while we were there so i recommend lots of reading material but all in all cheap, firnedly and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo908jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 394alessiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 25 in Nadi
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1.1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0 mi away
Bamboo Hostel
Bamboo Hostel
#1 of 28 in Nadi
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Address: 19 Newtown Beach, Wailoaloa Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Nadi
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Beach Resort is a fun and tropical place for budget backpackers and alternative travellers to stay in Nadi. Located on the best strip of Wailoaloa Beach, we offer a fun-loving beach experience with simple clean rooms, delicious meals, and lot of adventure options to enjoy Fiji!Travellers Beach Resort offers pure friendly island-style hospitality. This is a place with traditional island charm and a tropical fun-loving Fiji way of life. It is the oldest and most established property in Nadi Bay overlooking the majestic Mamanuca Islands with the stunning Sleeping Giant Range as a backdrop. We offer a wide range of accommodation with, Ocean wing rooms, Beach front rooms, Ocean view rooms, Mountain view rooms, Family rooms and backpacker dorms. Our restaurant and bar offers excellent affordable meals, Sunset cocktails, icy cold beers and a full bar selection. The poolside dining area offer picture perfect views and incredible sunsets. We have live music, entertainment, a pool challenges and traditional kava ceremonies nightly. There is a large screen TV in the bar area for latest sports, news and movies. This is a place to soak in the island atmosphere and meet the locals. There is also plenty of hammocks and beach loungers to enjoy the tropical sunshine :)Travellers Beach Resort is the closest beach location to the Nadi International Airport. The 'Newtown Beach' neighbourhood is Fiji's best budget traveller base. There is a cluster of cafes, restaurants and other budget resorts around us. Local buses run by few times a day for trips to town and around. Awesome Adventures, Fiji Experience, The North Fiji Backpacker Project and all the main trip operators offer a free pick up from our office. Taxi rides to the airport or town take 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Resort Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing